We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Few amenities nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateaux Deer Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chateaux Deer Valley to your Saves list
The Chateaux Deer Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dine & Stay
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Park City
los angeles, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, Few amenities nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overall, this is an excellent hotel. There are two downsides to this hotel:
1) There are no reasonably priced restaurants nearby, nor cafe's to grab a latte. If you're a latte person, good luck. The Stein Erickson lodge is where they send everyone, or the Royal Street Cafe. Both are GREAT places to eat, but pricey and not a place you could just grab breakfast and go. Basically, buy some food and snacks for your room. And, you'll have to drive to town to get a latte. In fact, my husband and I are thinking we should just setup a cafe kiosk here:)
2) The TV sucks. They offer basic cable, CBS, ABC, NBC, and then channels and channels of infomercials. Then, there are a ton of channels that are only for those with a 3D TV (who has one of those?) So, basically, you have the bar minimum of television viewing. And, although it's gorgeous out, sometimes you want to relax and watch TV at night. Also, the TV's themselves are very old. Not flat screens. If this hotel wants to be considered a high-end place, they need to at least get a full cable package, and upgrade the TV's to flat screens.

Other than that, we enjoyed the stay-our room also included a washer/dryer-bonus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    52
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
89
101
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just got back from our stay at The Chateaux. The staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating. The room was beautifully decorated. The amenities were great. The food at the restaurant was delicious. The Tour de Utah was going on and came right by the hotel. Great to see!! Overall, we had a wonderful time:)!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location of The Chateaux at Silver Lake and the property itself (including its guest rooms) is beautiful. But what sets this place apart is the people. Without exception, I found the staff at The Chateaux to be warm, helpful, and professional. I'd like to single out Dax, who worked the front desk most of the days my company was there. My colleagues are a high-energy and demanding bunch, and Dax and his colleagues were calm and efficient when dealing with the last-minute "emergencies" (mostly of our own making) that cropped up. I've attended a lot of my company's sales conferences (44 so far) and can honestly say that the staff at The Chateaux is among the very best I've encountered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very cozy, nicely appointed rooms. Service was great, but know that you cannot get anything to eat at this property except dinner Thur-Sun in the off season. Amazing food and service across the street, just not very convenient. This is the right property if want a good experience - if you want the best ever, though, head across the street to the Stein Erickson, which I did after my first night at the Chateaux (unfortunately, the SE was fully booked my first night in Park City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent post and kind words about our "great service" and "very cozy, nicely appointed rooms," very much appreciated and glad that you had a good visit.

Please accept our apologies for having limited food service options during your stay with us. As you mention, our in house restaurant, Cena, is open for dinner Thursday - Sunday nights during the summer, and for lunch Friday-Sunday.

Thank you again for your comments and would love the opportunity to host you again to turn your good experience into a great one.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
The Chateaux at Silver Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Am currently staying at this hotel. The beds in our room (321) are HORRIBLE!! Told the Front Desk about one of the beds, that dips on one side. They said they would have Maintenance look into it. Came back to the room later this afternoon, nothing had changed. No note from Maintenance saying they had been in the room, nothing!... The other bed is a "taco bed". Folds up on the outsides and you slip into the middle. Then, you start to look at the other broken items in the room and think, "They just don't care." Too bad because the hotel is in a beautiful location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post and apologize that your recent visit with us was "just ok."

We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction, attention to detail and exceeding expectations, and to fall short of that with your visit is disheartening for our entire team.

I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss in detail the items you mention as "broken" in the unit so that we may address immediately for our future guests.

I can be reached at ggendron@the-chateaux.com or 435-658-9500.

Hopefully someday your plans will allow for a return visit to Deer Valley / Park City allowing us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend here after buying a travelzoo voucher that included a night at the hotel and dinner. We really enjoyed our stay. Service was truly top notch. They allowed us to check in early and check out late, and they also allowed us to use the pool for a few more hours after we had to check out. The pool was small but nice with decent chairs and towels and a pretty mountain view. Our room itself was gorgeous. They room they gave us had a beautiful four poster bed, a fireplace and a large jetted tub. Very relaxing. Also our deal included dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent. We weren't sure what to expect since we used a travelzoo voucher, but they truly did not try to nickel and dime us. We both left very satisfied. I know most people probably visit this hotel in the winter, but we went in the middle of summer and had a really nice, relaxing weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Great service, well appointed rooms, awesome location. However, because we were there off season (May) all the restaurants at the hotel were closed. Oh but walk across the street to Stein Ericksons hotel restaurant and you will get treated with the best food and service. Dont forget old town eateries. What great selection of the best variety gourmet restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chateaux Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateaux Deer Valley

Address: 7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Park City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#5 Spa Hotel in Park City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#6 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chateaux Deer Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateaux Deer Valley's elegant Deer Valley hotel and condos are located in the heart of Deer Valley Resort's mid-mountain Silver Lake Village. The Chateaux offers quality amenities, as well as a variety of finely appointed and spacious room types including hotel rooms, studios, and multi-bedroom suites. Simply walk out the door of The Chateaux and you are just a few steps away from the beautiful slopes of Deer Valley Resort, with three mid-mountain chair lifts and all the resort services at Silver Lake Lodge. Or take a short complimentary shuttle ride to Park City's Historic Main Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Chateaux Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chateaux At Silver Lake Hotel Park City
The Chateaux Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateaux Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.