We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two modes, two different experiences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodges at Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added Lodges at Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lodges at Deer Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 Deer Valley Drive East, PO Box 3417, Park City, UT 80460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 59 hotels in Park City
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“two modes, two different experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

So this is one of those places (I think I'm understanding this right) where the units are actually owned by individuals, who use them mostly for vacations, and when they're not there, the management rents the apartments out as hotel rooms. And I've actually been in one of the units in this complex when the owners were living/vacationing there -- it was a family occasion, people were cooking holiday dinners, and it felt like a home. I've also recently been there in hotel room mode (different unit, but the apartments were pretty similar), and it *felt* really different: like a corporate mockup of a home, or a stage set of a home. Everything was there (all the basics: a bed you could sleep well in, a good shower, etc etc, and actually the amenities were pretty nice), but it was kind of disconcerting overall.

So the recommendation: if you're bringing the family and your stuff for a couple weeks, and
you're going to settle in and cook after you're done with your hiking or skiing, it's great, and
I recommend it. If you're just using it as hotel space, rather than living space, there's nothing
exactly wrong with it, but it feels kind of off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, General Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay and for rating us so highly in the areas of service and cleanliness, true fundamentals of hospitality.

I can see by your comments relating to the Lodges decor that your expectations were not “exactly” met. Your honesty was well received and sincerely appreciated. I have learned over the years that matters pertaining to architecture, style and design reflect individual tastes. I hope you can take comfort knowing that while design trends can shift over time, the model for comfort at the Lodges will remain constant.
Thank you again for your most thoughtful feedback. It is invaluable towards our continuing effort to improve the guest experience at the Lodges. I kindly ask that you contact me directly when your plans call for our area in the future. I would be delighted to meet you and personally welcome you back to the Lodges at Deer Valley. Until then, we will remain at your service.


Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
The Lodges at Deer Valley
office 435.615.2602
2900 Deer Valley Drive East/PO Box 3417
Park City, UT 84060
www.deervalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
17
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Fell in love with Park City and even more in love with The lodges at Deer Valley! Everything about the it was top class. From the check- in at the front desk, to the housekeeping, maintenance staff and .... - all efficient, cautious and extremely friendly. The unit was comfortable and well equipped and the standards very high. Great fitness center and convenience store for that odd bottle of wine or something for the sweet tooth.

Would love to return in winter to experience the full winter hospitality that is so evident.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from The Lodges at Deer Valley with us. Summer is indeed a special time at Deer Valley!

We were proud you recognized and appreciated the many special touches we do to care for our guests. Providing gracious service and a comfortable, well maintained property are true fundamentals of hospitality. We could not be more pleased that we were successful in executing these service values for you.

Thank you again for recommending us so highly, we are honored to have earned your trust and will look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodges in the future (perhaps this winter?). Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
The Lodges at Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In February of 2012, at the end of a wonderful week of staying at the Lodges at Deer Valley with my daughter and her family from England, I asked them all what they would change if we came back in 2013. I think one of the grandsons summed it up for everyone when he said, "I wouldn't change anything, Grandma. It was absolutely perfect!" We did come back in 2013 and since our expectations were so high this time, I was a bit worried that we might be disappointed. But this second time was even better, if that's possible. Walking into the lobby felt like coming home, and so many of the staff seemed almost like old friends (the Lodges seems to keep many of the same employees year after year). We booked both years through the Deer Valley in-house vacation planners, and I can't say enough about them. I'd expected them to be professional and knowledgable and listen well, but they were so much more. Patiently listening to and answering all our questions (and we had many questions, especially the first year), steering us carefully in the right directions, and making suggestions which all turned out to be good ones. I have stayed in many top-rated hotels and resorts, but have never had better or more caring service than at the Lodges. That is clearly a very high priority for the management, and it is one of the main reasons we returned and will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with the Lodges at Deer Valley.

Having been in this this industry for may years I can tell you it is most rewarding when the manner in which we care for our guests transcends the hospitality experience to a feeling described as “coming home”. This is what we strive for, with every guest, every time. I have passed along your kind remarks to our Lodges staff and we are humbled to know that our hearts have touched yours.

Thank you again for your thoughtful feedback. We are honored you have recommended us so highly and to have earned your trust. I kindly ask that you contact me directly when your plans bring you back to us next year. I would be delighted to meet you and personally welcome your family back to the Lodges. Until then, we will remain at your service.

Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
The Lodges at Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have always stayed at ski-in/ski-out lodging, but barely missid it at all while staying at the Lodges at Deer Valley. Several families and us visited over Spring Break. It was a full house, but you would never have known it! The staff was always helpful and courteous - from the front desk to the concierge to the bell hops and drivers. We never had to wait for anything. The drivers were there at your beaconing to pick you up in a clean new Cadillac and take you not only around Deer Valley, but Park City as well.

We stayed in a 3 BR add on unit that gave us more than enough room. The main unit had a complete updated kitchen, but since the additional rooms were add-ons, they came with wet bars, mini-fridges and microwaves. The children and adults alike enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and hot tub and the exercise room was well equipped.

Free daily breakfast from 7:00-10:00 was a wonderful addition, saving us time and money in the morning. They offered a daily array of fresh fruits, juices, oatmeal bar, eggs (boiled, scrambled, omelet,), breads, muffins, bagels, cereals, and more. In the afternoons, apres ski, hot chocolate and assorted cookies were available in the main lodge. At the desk, one could find refreshing fruit water with rotating flavors daily.

Another convenience was the in-house wine store/convenience store. Utah has a lot of hoops you have to jump through to buy alcohol, but this made it simple and convenient. The kids could also grab a snack or extra chapstick whenever needed.

At checkout time, The Lodges were more than accommodating. They were happy to store our luggage and even cart us around town to our hearts content while waiting to catch that late flight out.

We all fell in love with Deer Valley and will definitely return to The Lodges upon our next visit.

Room Tip: As a family of 5, we actually over-booked the number of rooms needed and could have gotten by with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent visit to the Lodges in such detail. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve the Lodges experience. It was especially rewarding to read that our hospitality partner Cadillac, made such a favorable impression during your stay.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly. We are honored to have earned your trust on this occasion and look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodges in the future. Until then, we will remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
Lodges at Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Lodges provided a wonderful experience throughout the week. It is convenient not only to skiing, but also to other winter sports. The staff makes guests feel special and are warm, courteous, and friendly...24/7 and not just at check-in. This property offers great value; our condo was spacious, spotless, and the cleaning service impeccable; we were very, very comfy and enjoyed every moment. Complimentary shuttle bus/SUV/vans are convenient and a nice touch to the amenities offered. The daiiy apres ski hot chocolate and fresh home-made cookies are a real treat...for both young and old! Underground parking and short walks to the condo were appreciated. We shall return for another ski vacation. You will enjoy your stay here, guaranteed!

Room Tip: Most rooms have splendid views. For parties larger than two, consider either a one or two bedroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep the Lodge's experience in line with our guest's expectations. We were proud you recognized and appreciated the many special touch we do to care for our guests and for recommended us so highly.

Our goal at the Lodges is to deliver the very best in comfort, service and value to every guest, every time. We could not be more pleased that we were successful in executing these hospitality values for you.

Thank you again for your most thoughtful feedback. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodges in the future and until then, remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
Lodges at Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. Very comfortable room. We stayed at one of the hotel rooms rather than a suite, but had a refrigerator and microwave, which gave us flexibility. Starbucks coffee was replenished in-room daily. Bldg 5 has the fitness center (small but well equipped) and pool. We were on the ground floor and had a great view out our patio. Complimentary breakfast, including hot options, onsite small grocery/liquor store. Complimentary transportation around town. Just call and they'll pick you up! Much more convenient than finding parking on Main Street. All the staff were super-friendly and helpful. Front desk staff, bell staff, transportation staff were all wonderful. The hotel has put effort into expanding internet coverage and that worked well (thankful, as I had to get some work done!). Not ski in/out, but skiing and other attractions are very close by.

Room Tip: Bldg 5 ground floor is near the fitness center and pool, very convenient to the lobby and transporta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Lodges with me. Your feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep the Lodge's experience in line with our guest's expectations.

We are delighted by the 100% satisfaction rating you gave us but especially proud that you recognized and appreciated the many special touches we do to care for our guests. I will pass along you kind remarks to our staff and thank them for their efforts in personalizing your stay.

Our goal at Lodges is pretty straight forward - we simply make it our mission to provide the best in comfort, service and value, to every guest, every time. We could not be more pleased that we were successful in accomplishing our service values for you.

Thank you again for your most helpful feedback. My colleagues and I certainly recognize there are many conference and vacation options available for consideration in the Park City area. We are honored that your organization has chosen us to host this event for many years and also for the opportunity to earn your trust. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Deer Valley again in the future and until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
Lodges at Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff, from the front desk to bell stand, and especially the transportation people who will take you anywhere in town (and bring you back) with just a simple phone call. Breakfast was free, running from 7-10 a.m. They had coffee, juices, hot chocolate, milk, hard-boiled eggs, cottage cheese, breads, muffins, good bagels, yogurt, assorted cold cereals and oatmeal, fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs and one other hot egg item every day. It meant we did not have to go out to a restaurant for breakfast, and that was a big help. We stayed in a hotel-style room (they have lock-off condos, but the 1BR was more than we needed and quite a bit pricier), and it included a mini-kitchen (sort of a wet bar w/fridge, sink, microwave). Walk-in closet was great, and it was a relief to find adequate dresser space in the bedroom. Lately, a lot of the hotel rooms we've been in have been missing dresser drawer space. The whole room was newly appointed and in great shape.

Room Tip: If getting just a single hotel room instead of the roomier condo options, be sure to ask for a 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV_emarketing, Manager at Lodges at Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Ms. H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Lodges experience with us, we were humbled by your kind remarks.

I was proud to read where you recognized and appreciated the many touches we do to care for our guests, but especially so for your comments on our staff…the Lodges heart and soul.

Our goal at Lodges is purely fundamental - we simply make it our mission to provide the very best in comfort, service and value, to every guest, every time. We could not be more pleased that were successful in fulfilling these service values for you.

Thank you again for your thought feedback. My colleagues and I certainly recognize there are many vacation options available for consideration in the Park City area; we are delighted you chose us on this occasion and are honored to have earned your trust. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodges in the future and until then, remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
General Manager
The Lodges at Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodges at Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodges at Deer Valley

Also Known As:
Lodges At Deer Valley Hotel
Lodges At Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Hotel At Deer Valley
At Deer Valley Hotel
Lodges At Deer Valley Park City, Utah
Address: 2900 Deer Valley Drive East, PO Box 3417, Park City, UT 80460
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Business Hotel in Park City
#20 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodges at Deer Valley 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the grandeur of the lobby’s three story stone fireplace to the warmth of the beautifully appointed condominium-style residences, Lodges at Deer Valley is a classic statement in rustic elegance and warm hospitality. Conveniently located less than half a mile from the base of Deer Valley Resort, this tranquil mountain setting offers a variety of year-round activities including skiing, snowmobiling, sleigh rides, hiking, biking, fly fishing and much more. Our complimentary shuttle service, provided by Cadillac, offers direct access to the resort and allows you to experience the shopping, dining and nightlife of Historic Main Street, just minutes away. Affordably priced hotel rooms, as well as one, two and three bedroom condominiums feature full kitchens, cozy dining areas and gas fireplaces. Experience our family-friendly services including daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet during the ski season, on-site Deer Valley ski rental shop, lift ticket desk, on-site fitness facility, concierge services, general store and coffee bar. Relax and unwind in our outdoor heated pool and hot tub or simply enjoy warm genuine hospitality in a luxury mountain resort setting. Meeting and convention facilities include 7,300 square feet of flexible meeting space with views of the surrounding mountains and lakes with catering services provided by Deer Valley’s award-winning culinary team. The Lodges is the perfect choice for your family vacation or group gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Amex and Venere so you can book your Lodges at Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodges at Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.