We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Spring Break Ski Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Park City Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westgate Park City Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3000 The Canyons Resort Drive, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 59 hotels in Park City
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Family Spring Break Ski Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked our rental directly through Westgate. Great property for the location right at the base of the Canyons resort. Rented a one bedroom one bath unit. The unit, although dated, was great for our family. Master bedroom was comfortable with a king bed and a Jacuzzi bath in the bedroom. Bathroom had double sinks, separate toilet room, an oversized shower with a bench and a steam shower which was great after a long day on the mountain. The living room had a pull out couch and a gas fireplace. Kitchen and dining area had a full sized fridge, oven microwave and dishwasher. There was also a small washer and dryer in the unit. The rooms are a bit dated, but the property will be getting a renovation in the near future. Lots of covered on-site parking is available.

Westgate is in the timeshare business, so part of the promotion is to take a tour for which you will be offered two lift tickets, valued at $105 each, spa credits or dining credits. The best part of the tour was that we stopped getting lost in the maze of this property and we found the "hidden" adult only pool and spa area. Since the property is built into the side of the mountain, there are "bridges" to get between buildings and it is a bit confusing. Spa and adult pool are on the 4th floor, family pool and ping pong tables are on the fifth floor, ski rentals are on the 8th, business center on the 2nd, tennis courts outside-- and all in different buildings.

We rented snowboards and ski equipment from Aloha Rentals in Westgate at the Canyons the first day, but when we found out that the rentals were 25% less at Park City, we asked for a price adjustment, which they gave to us at Park City. Bought our discounted lift tickets at the resort desk.

Location of Westgate is amazing. The lifts are just a few steps from the property. There are plenty of little shops and restaurants with fire pits at the base of the mountain, There is also a little snow beach with recliners to catch some sun after a long day on the mountain. Whole Foods and a Walmart are both a 5 minute drive away from the property for stocking up on supplies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our departments and teams to encourage them to keep up the great service they provide.

We are currently renovating, as you mentioned, in the Bear/Elk buildings, common areas, and amenity areas. We believe that these improvements will address some of your concerns, including: expanding the Business Center, updating rooms, and adding new shuttles which offer complimentary transportation to anywhere in Park City. Additionally, all of the signage in the resort is being replaced, which should enable guests to navigate with ease. We are also pleased to escort you at any time. We would love for you to return and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    133
    49
    27
    37
See reviews for
279
152
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort with exceptionally friendly staff. The ski service is excellent. They take your skis to/from the hotel and gondola and dry your boots every night! I stayed in a studio condo, which is perfect for two adults, but gets little tight with 3 or more (not much room when the pull out couch is out). The pools/jacuzzis and yoga room are nice. Getting between the various buildings can be confusing, but the friendly staff is happy to help you find were you want to go. This is a place that is really easy to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to escort you at your request. That is a part of our five-star service that we promote daily! Please note, all of the signage in the resort is being replaced, which should enable guests to navigate around the resort with ease. Thank you for mentioning our Skier Services, yoga facility and the pools/Jacuzzis. We hope to see you enjoying our resort again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Resort at The Canyons Ski Area which is great! Resort has great ski amenities. Would stay again. No need to leave resort if you don't want to. Studio unit too small for 4 adults. Great ski service. Great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the conveniences of our onsite amenities. Please visit us again, possibly in the summer, as there are a plethora of additional activities that are unique to this area during that season. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This ski-in/ski-out resort at the base of the Canyons ski area is a "get-what-you-pay-for" resort. It is not the Ritz-Carlton, nor did we spend that kind of money on our vacation. Actually, I think for the price, Westgate goes above and beyond in its amenities. We rented unit 4411b via VRBO and, although it appears larger in the photos we saw, it was perfect for our needs. We stayed for a little under a week in this "condo" and it was pretty much perfect.
The Westgate is a hotel plus condo development, and condo renters are treated just like hotel guests. Of course, being a development, they try to get you to participate in one of their tours right away to see if you are interested in buying a unit...at first the thought of getting at $150 credit to use toward food would be great for an 1.5 hour tour, but we were so exhausted after traveling that we cancelled. My suggestion to the Westgate is to inform people of this option right away, but don't try to get us to come sign up just as we are about to hop on the elevator with our bell hop. Offer the tour as an OPTION, don't make us feel pressured.
Anyway! Despite the small condo (fine by us based on the price we paid...about $250 a night), we liked the resort well enough. The location is ideal and there are TONS of people around (staff) to help you. Be advised: service comes best with a smile and a tip! Bring about $50 or so in singles so you can leave a tip whenever you can.
The Westgate is a little labyrinth-y: ski boot lockers are on floor 4; spa on floor 4; pool on floor 5 for families while the adult pool is on floor 4; food on floor 7; store on floor 8 and so on. You definitely get a lot of exercise, but there is a method to the madness at Westgate: it's built on the side of a mountain, so to have access to the mountainside, they needed to build each separate entity on different floors. Stop complaining! You get "free" ski storage, boot drying, etc. and lots of family activities.
Words of advice: Utah has weird liquor laws. Ordering a fancier liquor in your drink still only yields you a 1-ounce pour, so order accordingly (our $12 Patron margaritas at Drafts, the Westgate brewpub, which is pretty darn good despite shoddy service, were not worth the tequila upgrade!). On Sundays liquor stores are closed. The on-site market has a great selection of organic brands but not much produce and while some things are priced OK, some are ridiculous ($8 box of Kashi cereal!). Take the shuttle to Redstone or Park City downtown and go to either Whole Foods or Fresh market (respectively) and stock up if you are planning on eating some or all of your meals at your condo. We ate breakfast and lunch in our condo and ate out most evenings.
The "FREE" shuttle service to pretty much anywhere you want to go (except the airport; this can be arranged for a fee--just ask Guest Services) in the area is great. Some our drivers were better than others and I can't say that everyone seemed to love their job, but it was just nice to have transportation into Park City since we didn't have a car. Which you really don't need if you are just planning on skiing the Canyons or PCMR or Deer Valley--you can simply use the shuttle or walk outside to the Canyons!
Our son loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the game room. Lots of kids, which was great, but adults also have their own pool are if you are seeking respite from kiddie world. Our son LOVED the Canyons ski school; we each did an adult ski lesson and a snowboard lesson and it was pretty good.
The fact that the Westgate has your skis ready and waiting for you at the base of the gondola was AWESOME. I loved the on-site yoga--didn't go to the spa, but it looked okay. There are usually two yoga offerings a day: it's called the Kula Yoga Project and Westgate should promote this more! It was such a happy surprise!
The Westgate could use a few updates: there were a few times when we could see the "inner workings" of the hotel operation and it seemed a little...bleak. At one point, a manager said to one of the kitchen staff, as we were walking after dinner, "What are you doing?" and the kitchen worker replied, "Your mother." In front of our 8-year-old son, this was totally uncool, and in general, pretty crude.
Despite that incident, most of the time the staff went out of their way to say hello and be helpful. Two building engineers, Bill and Arturo, were very helpful in our laundry room needs.
Our condo did not have a laundry machine, which would be my only real complaint. The Westgate has free laundry machines and dryers, but at one point the laundry machine was not working, which is frustrating, but in the end not such a big deal. You can either pack more clothes, or be prepared to possibly have to wait for laundry machine to open up...but again, no big deal.
A side note: we bought our lift tickets and ski lessons ahead of time online, but I think you can purchase lift tickets directly through the resort. I found the prices to be better online, but it would be worth checking with the Westgate to see if ticket prices are comparable. Also, the Park City Chamber of Commerce has(had?) a deal where you can show your airline boarding pass and get a free ski ticket if you fly/ski the same day...but of course the month of March was all blacked out for this deal!
If I liked the Canyons ski area better, I would return to the Westgate for sure. Our condo was quiet, overlooked the outdoor pool and faced away from the mountainside, so we had a lovely view. One morning we awoke to hot air balloons in our window and it was super groovy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us.

What a tremendously descriptive and positive review! Thank you so much for that, and for staying with us. We appreciate your accurate and honest feedback of what our resort has to offer. We are addressing the issues you mentioned so that your next stay with us exceeds your expectations! We could not be more pleased that our valued team members, Bill and Arturo, were able to help you and exceed your expectations. They will be very pleased to hear of your satisfaction with their service! Additionally, we are currently undergoing renovations which include all of the signage, which should enable guests to navigate around the resort with ease. Our goal is to always ensure your stay is as convenient as possible. It is good to hear that you experienced the level of comfort that we strive for. We encourage you to return this year to see all of the improvements! Thank you again for the great review; we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The shining beacon of this place is the spa. Its also the only place to get away from the children running around. Britini (massage) Rebecca and Chalise were amazing and they should get raises.

The place is insanely confusing to get around so that is certainly a detractor. Kids everywhere which is great if you have kids or are used to kids.

Drafts is a good spot and great value for money and good staff. The Edge steakhouse has great food and good service.

The staff at the westgate itself are not the most knowledgeable unless its in their field which is unhelpful if you are walking around lost and run into one and ask them a question.

There are a lot of pitches going on around you for timeshares and full ownership and it's a little awkward to be around, they should make that more low key.

The mountain is an ok mountain but very crowded.

It will be hard to rate the service because some places such as drafts were ok but others were not....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our departments and teams to encourage them to keep up the great service they provide.

Thank you for mentioning that you thoroughly enjoyed the conveniences of our onsite amenities: Drafts, Edge, and Serenity Spa. Our five-star service is of the utmost importance to us. We will continue to work with our team to educate them on how to assist you, or direct you to assistance expeditiously. All of the signage in the resort is currently being replaced, which should enable guests to navigate around the resort with ease. We are also pleased to escort you at any time. Please visit us again, possibly in the summer, as there are a plethora of additional activities that are unique to this area during that season. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Wanting enjoy a local Spa my fiance' and I went to the Westgat Resort because the amenities looked wonderful online. They did not disappoint. The spa desk agent was fantastic as well!

Not having been there before we pulled in to the valet circle at the main entrance where there was nobody there to greet us. Maybe they were busy or did not offer that service. No big deal. I walked in the main entrance and off to the left was a service desk with about six employees congregating and having a good time entertaining each other. I stood beside the desk trying to make eye contact with any of them but to no avail. It was all I had not to snap! finally captured the ear of a desk agent for information regarding the spa such as location and where to park. She was very courteuos but could not articulate directions very well. We made it to the self parking garage only to find we needed a key card to gain entry. Now I was back in the main lobby were my initial frustration began. Fortunately the gentlman at the desk now was a professional and the rest was uneventful. I wish I knew his name to applaud his efforts.

Mangement feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our departments and teams to encourage them to keep up the great service they provide.

It sounds as though we were unable to exceed your expectations, which is always our goal. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as five-star service is a top priority for us. We work diligently at providing that to our guests and have notified the referenced departments of your visit. We are very pleased that you visited our Serenity Spa. All of the signage in the resort is currently being replaced, which should enable guests to navigate around the resort with ease. We are also pleased to escort you at any time. Please give us another opportunity to enhance your experience with us. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. We went through VRBO, and stayed in their small one bedroom. The steam shower was pretty sweet. The pool was very nice. Staff was very kind and respectful. The restaurant "Drafts" had impressive food at impressive prices with nice people. The location is very good (a very short walk through the village to the lift). They attempted to sell time shares to us twice in 5 day; once when we first got there (We told them we'll let them know later if we want the tour, and that gave them no room to push us further-especially since they kept telling us it was a "no pressure tour"), and then once more when we came in after skiing-but that lady was pushy, and I was tired and messy after skiing all day, so it was hard to resist telling her to back off and shut up. I did miss having a dryer in the room for our wet ski stuff. The kitchenette was just fine for a simple breakfast/lunch/snack, but it did lack storage for the food we picked up at New Seasons in Park City, so we had to put stuff on the burners when they were turned off, and on the side tables by the couch. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Westgate, and I would stay there again =-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our departments and teams to encourage them to keep up the great service they provide.

We are pleased to hear that our service was quick and efficient for you, as that is our standard. It is also wonderful to hear that you were able to visit Drafts, as well as enjoy our excellent location! Next time you return, we would love for you to take advantage of our glove and boot drying service! We are currently updating rooms, common areas, pool areas and amenities, and we anticipate the changes enhancing your vacation experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again so you can enjoy our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Park City Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Park City Resort & Spa

Address: 3000 The Canyons Resort Drive, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Family Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#8 Spa Hotel in Park City
#12 Business Hotel in Park City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Park City Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate Park City Resort & Spa offers a memorable vacation for all seasons. A Ski-in/Ski-out resort with ski valet located directly next to the RedLine Gondola for winter fun, and close to all the summer fun activities as well. Westgate Park City Resort & Spa also features the full service Serenity Spa by Westgate, Drafts Sports Bar and Grill for great food and beer overlooking the ski lifts and Wasatch Mountains, Edge Steakhouse for a cutting edge culinary experience, Marketplace that proudly brews Starbucks coffee and has a vast selection of beer, wine, spirits, groceries and sundries, features Utah's largest Indoor/Outdoor pool, and is the only resort to offer free shuttle service to downtown, local shopping and area events. Choose from fully furnished Studio villas to Luxury Four Bedroom Villas, featuring kitchens, whirlpool tubs, steam showers and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Park City Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Park City Resort And Spa
Westgate Park City Hotel Park City
Westgate Hotel Park City
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.