We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Park City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Park City Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westgate Park City Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3000 The Canyons Resort Drive, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 hotels in Park City
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas in Park City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have been coming to the Westgate Park City (canyons) since 2003. Started with a 2-bdrm and moved up to a 4-bdrm. Love staying there - Kevin Raggio and Marcus are awesome, always so helpful. There always seems to be an issue when we check in. People are very friendly and the place is beautiful, we just hate the hasstle of checking in!

Room Tip: I marked average on service- check in is poor, but the guest services- especially Kevin Raggio and M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Wow-since 2003 you've been coming here! Thanks for recognizing Kevin & Marcus and their contributions. We hope you had a chance to experience Drafts Sports Bar & Grill or the new Edge Steakhouse. We do apologize about the check in issues. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    131
    45
    28
    39
See reviews for
259
139
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The people who run the Westgate will do or say anything (Including flat out lying) to get you into a high pressure time share presentation. You can't even check in without being escorted to the desk where they try to arrange it. It is obviously a goal if management to get you on a "tour." Once there, they use all sorts of intimidation techniques to keep you there and insult you if you decline.

As far as the hotel, it is a labyrinth. Previous responses from the manager saying that employees are happy to escort you are not true.

The housekeeping is not up to par with a high end resort. Previous responses from the manager saying these issues have been addressed/resolved are not true.

There are many friendly staff members and people who try their best to do well by the customers. The suites are nicely appointed but very compact and the views are lacking.

Obviously we will not return and would advise others to find one of the many alternatives in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our resort and company does not condone any misleading information or lying. Many of our highly discounted vacation packages are discounted with the caveat that our guest go on a resort tour. We sincerely want every one of our guests to have an enjoyable time and to exceed their expectations. We apologize that you were not able to enjoy our award winning resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The layout is overly confusing. Ski valet service is clunky at best. Edge and drafts have great food but slow and unreliable sevice. Rooms are nice but not logical for example very limited hook and hanging spaces and not functional for skier/riders. The indoor outdoor pool game area is great or kids. I wish the staff had been better prepared/trained. Everyone was nice but not necessarily competent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize if the size of the resort and its layout gave you difficulty. We're glad you enjoyed the indooor/outdoor pool. Your thoughts regarding hooks will be sent on and reviewed. Thanks for visiting- we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wow! What can I say, except that one of the nicest resorts that I've ever stayed in. For Sundance while everyone jacks up the rates; the Westgate jacks up their service. One night I was fresh out of cash and the concierge spotted me a 20 and emailed me the following morning to return the favor to someone else. Kris Shotwell and Justin Aiken were unbelievable. This is one of those times in my life that I am truly speechless at how amazing of an experience my colleagues and I had. The rooms were spacious and the staff was gracious. We are definitely making this an annual tradition. Wait also Carl Jones was the man at night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Our staff does enjoy providing the best service we can; your words are too kind. Kris and Justin are special team members, and we're glad they had a positive impact on you. Thanks again for your generous comments-we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited during Sundance. It is without question a "ski lodge" experience; from decor on. We experienced a major hiccup in our stay after the first night. The hotel's response was over and beyond that which I expected, and I have high expectations. If traveling with family, and can afford the suite with fire place, would highly recommend it; having seen both standard and suite rooms. I read reviews complaining about the "maze" experience and required key access for each section of hotel. The latter is for safety, and I did not find the former to be as bad as many complained. Once you arrive, the hotel offers everything you need without leaving the premise. Staff was courteous. We did not ski, but would recommend the location to others without question. The sports bar offers a great burger and beer selection...

Room Tip: If can afford suite, it is worth the investment.. Big difference between that and standard suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to exceed your expectations, and we're glad we were able to do so. We're also glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the new Drafts Sports Bar & Grill. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A surprise place to stay ....We were actually looking for a place in PARK city ..however .this place had large rooms and a fireplace and a steam shower ...separate large bedroom ...comfy place
A large resort that is sometimes confusing to get about in ...all in all not bad.
Chair lift was 5 min walk from hotel and close to all other restaurants in the area
reasonable price...
Friendly staff ...room decor was ok not my taste but not bad

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of WG Park City Resort & Spa. We glad you enjoyed our many amenities and friendly staff. Please visit again when in Park City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are actually still staying at the property (came for the Sundance Film Festival), and I was immediately struck by the odd layout of this hotel. It is a pretty property in a picturesque setting. Let me just list the pros and cons:

Pros:
1) Very nice staff...everyone is extremely friendly and helpful.
2) The property is several miles from old Park City, but the free shuttle service runs every 15 minutes or so. Parking in old Park City can be a challenge, so this service is a big plus.
3) Nice assortment of restaurants within the complex...Drafts has some great burgers!
4) If you are a skier, this hotel offers great access to the slopes.
5) There is a small market on site, which is convenient for getting snacks, etc.
6) The small kitchen in the room is nice for longer stays so you can cook a meal in.

Cons:
1) The layout of the hotel is very quirky, and the spread out locations of restaurants, mini-mart and amenities can be a bit annoying.
2) It can be a hike to get to your room, including trips up and down several floors to get to your room.
3) You cannot get coffee in a public area prior to 8:00 am...not too helpful for caffeine addicts with early activities. (they did offer coffee in the lobby, but the thermos was empty every time I went to grab a cup. They do have coffeemakers in the rooms, but that isn't useful for a "run and gun" cup.
4) The rooms are dated and could use some freshening (as an example, the 90's era TV's). We stayed in a studio, and it was serviceable but TINY! (350 sq ft)
5) For a 4 star property, they could at least supply 2-ply toilet paper...I have had better amenities in a much lesser property.
6) My biggest complaint...the maid service was iffy at best. As I write this, it is 3:00 pm and the room still hasn't been serviced. This has been the norm since we arrived...yesterday, they finally came in at around 5:00...again, unacceptable for a higher end property.

If you are a family looking for a nice ski vacation location, I would recommend this property. If you are a non-skier looking for a higher end hotel close to town, I would keep on looking. I applaud the service of the staff, but the other Jekyll-Hyde aspects of the property would keep me from staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience they seek when choosing to stay with us.

It is always our goal to exceed your expectations and we are glad to see that this is the case for much of your stay. It is our expected standard to service your rooms promptly and we apologize that this was not the case during your stay. We have forwarded your concerns to the housekeeping department to look into. We are replacing all amenity products in our inventory, including toilet paper. Additionally, we are currently updating our rooms in Bear and Elk to be as desirable as our luxury villas. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you our dedication to excellence; it would be our pleasure to have you as a guest in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Park City Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Park City Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Westgate Park City Hotel Park City
Westgate Park City Resort And Spa
Westgate Park City Resort
Westgate Park City
Westgate Park City Hotel
Westgate Hotel Park City
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa Utah
Address: 3000 The Canyons Resort Drive, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#7 Family Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#16 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Park City Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate Park City Resort & Spa offers a memorable vacation for all seasons. A Ski-in/Ski-out resort with ski valet located directly next to the RedLine Gondola for winter fun, and close to all the summer fun activities as well. Westgate Park City Resort & Spa also features the full service Serenity Spa by Westgate, Drafts Sports Bar and Grill for great food and beer overlooking the ski lifts and Wasatch Mountains, Edge Steakhouse for a cutting edge culinary experience, Marketplace that proudly brews Starbucks coffee and has a vast selection of beer, wine, spirits, groceries and sundries, features Utah's largest Indoor/Outdoor pool, and is the only resort to offer free shuttle service to downtown, local shopping and area events. Choose from fully furnished Studio villas to Luxury Four Bedroom Villas, featuring kitchens, whirlpool tubs, steam showers and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westgate Park City Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.