We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quick trip to Austria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldener Hirsch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Goldener Hirsch Inn to your Saves list
Goldener Hirsch Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7570 Royal Street East, P.O. Box 859, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a quick trip to Austria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stay at the Goldener Hirsch.., but it wont be our last. We loved it. The building is beautiful with old world Austrian charm. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The dinning room was wonderful. We enjoyed hiking in the beatufil mountians and then relaxing in the hot tub.

Room Tip: you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
73
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The employees are here to serve. Incredibly hospitable. All our wishes were fulfilled. The food is great, both the breakfast buffet and the dinner. Eddy the bartender is charming. the outdoor hot tub the right temp. We felt like family. Best service ever.And a few steps and you are at the wonderful Deer Valley Slopes - which is also incredible. GO if you can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Goldener Hirsch Inn end of February 2013 and our stay was flawless from beginning to end. Transportation from the Salt Lake City Airport was arranged through the concierge. The Inn is mid mountain in Deer Valley, and access to the entire ski area through the Silver Lake lifts is steps away. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they unpacked our skis and the next morning the skis were waiting for us at the front door. We booted up in the room since the property is steps away from the lifts. The restaurant is cozy and the food delicious. The decor reminded us of the hotel wit the same name in Salzburg, Austria. There is an outdoor hot tub and an indoor one on the 4th floor. Turn down service is standard and service is very discreet and quiet. The hotel is quiet and sometimes we thought we had the whole property to ourselves. Cookies and hot chocolate every day in the mezzanine was a nice touch. Transportation to and from Park City in a hotel owned SUV is complimentary and operating until 11 PM! They will drop you off and pick you up where you want. We went for dinner in town and it was very relaxing not to have to drive. I would very highly recommend this property for its relaxed atmosphere, friendly and efficient service, comfort and decor of the rooms and spaces, daily buffet breakfast, and proximity to the lifts. Definitely the place to stay as far I am concerned when visiting Deer Valley.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently returned from my fourth visit to the Goldener Hirsch in the last 15 years. I am convinced that it has gotten better over time. While the physical facility is the same (without showing any wear), the level of service and attention to the needs of its guests is wonderful, without being intrusive. I attribute this in part to the scale of the Inn and the quality of the people working there. And I can honestly say that the dinner was the best meal I had during my stay in the Park City/Deer Valley area, better than another perhaps more famous establishment located nearby on the mountain where I also dined. I would recommend it without reservation and look forward to the opportunity to return in the next year or so. .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Goldener Hirsch for four nights during a long ski weekend. This boutique hotel is tucked away in the Silver Lake Village area of Deer Valley. We liked the fact that it is a hideaway with only a modest sign that alerts one to its presence. The hotel is a 4 to 5 minute walk from the lifts through a pedestrian only area assuming you are carrying skis or a 3 minute walk without skis, unless you are a leisurely walker. There is a ski rack outside the hotel door where you can leave your skis. The staff will take your skis off the rack and store them for you after the lifts close or you can use free storage near the lifts if you prefer not to carry your skis for a period longer than thirty seconds. There are also ski rental shops within steps of the door of the hotel.

Upon arrival, we were met by the manager, who welcomed us to the hotel and from whom I have already received a thank you letter for staying at the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. We would learn that the entire staff was friendly and efficient.

Our room was a deluxe room with a seating area and fireplace. It felt like a suite even though it was not a suite and was a good value by Deer Valley standards. The room was spotless. The only nits I had about the room was that there was a little but of grout under the outside of the shower door that needed to be replaced and there was fuse box in the bathroom the door of which was painted the color of the bathroom wall, but we could still tell it was a fuse box. I realize that I am being picky but this this is the type of hotel where they want to know these things since it is obvious they strive for perfection.

The bed and linens were very comfortable. The furnishings were of alpine design. We could have been in Zermatt, Murren, Innisbrook, Salzburg or Grindelwald.

We enjoyed the small boutique atmosphere of the hotel. Most of the hotels in the area are very larger and just are not our style. The interior of the hotel is blessed with a lot of natural light, thanks to its many windows. Both our room and the public areas were beautifully lit during the sunny days with which we were blessed.

The waitstaff in the morning and evening were great and the various shifts communicated with each other. After I mentioned the the bartender one evening that the style of coffee at breakfast was not my style, the server at breakfast the next morning made me a coffee using expresso. The bartender was very accomplished and made drinks that would be in place in the best lounges New York, Paris, or Rome. He has also created an excellent beer list and list of liqueurs to go along with the hotel's award winning wine list. We had dinner one night at the hotel. The Chef distinguished himself in a trout preparation that combined germanic and mediterranean elements---delicious.

The hotel offers shuttle service to Park City. The drivers were friendly and full of useful information. They strived to make our stay better. The only issue with the service that we encountered was being given less than accurate directions to a restaurant by one of the clerks. However, the rest of the service was so excellent that this Goldener Hirsch still deserves the five star rating.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Goldener is our favorite hotel to stay in while visiting Deer Valley. Its quaint and not overwhelming like other larger hotels. The staff is helpful and friendly. I recommend staying here, you'll never want to leave. The beds and sheets are incredibly soft. Each room has a wood burning fire place. Lovely fire place in dining area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful small hotel. Great location 50 yards from lift. Service is exceptional. Excellent breakfast included. Very convenient shuttle to Main Street in park city. Rooms are well appointed with marble bathrooms. Would avoid rooms on ground floor if possible. Overall exceptional stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Goldener Hirsch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldener Hirsch Inn

Address: 7570 Royal Street East, P.O. Box 859, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Park City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#22 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldener Hirsch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Goldener Hirsch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel Park City
Goldener Hirsch Inn Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldener Hirsch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.