We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski In and Ski Out Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's MountainSide

Save Saved
You added Marriott's MountainSide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's MountainSide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Lowell Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Park City
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Ski In and Ski Out Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I spent an extra day in Park City after a recent business trip to Salt Lake. My only plan was to spend the whole day skiing and I could not have picked a better spot than the Marriott Mountainside. I only had one day, so I wanted to be as close to the slopes as possible. The hotel is big but there are multiple exits and all of them right near the Pay Day lift chair.
The room I had came with a small kitchenette. It was nothing spectacular but it was cozy and the bed was really comfortable. Don't forget your bathing suit! The pool and the hot tubs are right off the slopes and really inviting after a day of skiing.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the main strip of shops and restaurants in Park City but there is really nothing worth mentioning to do or eat on the premises. I didn’t mind the walk and I liked that I was set away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
I am a solo traveler but it seemed like this hotel had a lot of activities for kids. It seems like a good place to bring the whole family on a ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    94
    24
    14
    4
See reviews for
132
49
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Did a last minute ski trip with a reduced price at this hotel. Our 1 bedroom villa was large, well equipped, and very clean. Maid service came everyday which we didn't expect for a condo. Had a free valet ski locker with short walk (50 ft) to Park City slopes. Room on 4th floor overlooked bottom of hill would request 5-9 floors if you want a better view. As others noted bowls in room were small and controlling temp was a problem. Too hot so we left window open during day to cool room which worked. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Less than 5 minutes walk to free bus stop to go to Deer Valley or Canyons ski areas. Outdoor hottubs and pools were clean and large.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel was both economical and great for families. We stayed in the off season so it was not crowded at the time. We heard nothing above our room and nothing outside the doors either. It was very peaceful in the room. The beds were very comfortable (firm for those who have back problems), nice down comforters and pillows. We stayed in the Villas right next to the activity area and literally heard nothing. From previous posts by others, I recommend you ask for a room that is not adjoining another room unless you plan to rent both. There have been some previous posts stating it can be loud if you happen to have an adjoining room with obnoxious people. Villas offer a full kitchen, laundry, dining area and more. The view was of the roof, but in the winter would actually be a decent view with the snow covering. We weren't personally bothered by the view as we are from Utah so the view is not new to us, but for those who want to see the mountains, ask for a poolside view. The mountains are beautiful. The fall colors are amazing.

This is a hotel that caters to families, college students and adults who love to have fun. I wouldn't recommend it for those who prefer silence or have a low tolerance for children. You will see and hear children at this hotel, so if you have a low tolerance for children, this isn't your hotel. We did not hear children running the hallways as some previous posters said they had. We heard people when we were outside our room, never in the room. September is a great time to visit for the fall season if you want to avoid the crowds.

Activities are provided throughout the day at "The Mine." Activities are provided for all ages at various times of the day. Our children participated in the Guitar Hero Tournament and made the Tye Die Shirts. There were many more activities for young and old but these were the two we participated in due to a short stay.

Right behind the hotel is the outdoor roller coaster, Alpine slide, zip line, merry-go-round and small coaster for the children. These are not available in the winter for obvious reasons. If you choose to do these activities, it will cost $20 per ticket or you can purchase the all day for $60 per person. It is a bit overpriced if you compare the cost to Disneyland, and your wait time will increase as more people come throughout the day. This would be a hot wait if you went mid summer and I personally would not enjoy the line mid summer. Fall and spring are perfect.

I recommend you go as early as possible to these activities. The lines begin to build about 11 am and the day gets hotter. The zip line was a 45 minute wait at 3 pm minus the 20 minute wait for the tram to take us to the zip line. For the zip line you must sign up for a time slot for each trip on the zip regardless of whether you have the all-day pass. One time slot per signing. You can't sign up for multiple times at once. We did the zip line once because the line for the sign-up is the same line where you purchase tickets for all of the attractions. Silly, if you ask me, not to have a separate line.

There are four zip lines. The zip line is fun, but such a quick ride that the wait time to get back on makes it unreasonable. If you go in the morning you are more likely to avoid this wait and could easily go for two rides. The roller coaster is operated mechanically going up but you are the operator on the speed doing down. You can go as fast or as slow as you like. It is a one or two-man ride per coaster. This was my personal favorite. The scenery was great while going up and down the coaster. The Alpine slide is fun as well, though tall persons beware. It seemed to be a common occurrence for tall people to have more stability issues. This results in you rubbing an elbow on the actual slide and getting a nice, polished burn which they will happily wrap and medicate for you, but you could probably avoid that by wearing elbow pads or not leaning into the turns. Tall people who choose to go fast and lean into their ride are more likely to tip and have this problem or completely fly off the slide. Since you have to pull back on the lever to reduce your speed, letting go of the lever to help your scraping elbow will only make it worse so you end up riding down the slide while burning your elbow. It didn't happen to us, but it did happen to a gentleman we spoke with. It seemed to be a common occurrence as one of the workers told us it is very common in taller people. That being said, this slide is not a scarey slide at all. It's more of a user-error problem. It's very easy to control the speed you are going. Small children can ride with an adult though there were plenty of younger children who did just fine on their own. Thrill seekers are more likely to have the problem with flipping out or elbow rubbing.

This is a perfect ski-in hotel. The summer activities are a great one-time thing, but this hotel really stands out for it's accessibility to the slopes. Many of the shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel are more active during the winter months. Some close down during the off season.

Park City has some great skiing, but I was disappointed with the amount of restaurants available anywhere in Park City. Many of them are small, quaint spots for couples or a very small family. You won't find many locations that cater to large groups. We did love Squatter's Pub. The service was excellent. The food was average but the service made up for any lack there. They make great scones and are perfect for larger groups. Squatters was one of the few breakfast places near downtown Park City.

The Park City atmosphere is a bit stuffy. I didn't feel Park City in general was a very friendly atmosphere especially when it comes to families. They seem to cater more to couples and older people. Even then, they definitely need some help with their overall friendliness. It's that feeling you get when you visit a small town and everyone knows you aren't from there. There is no excuse for Park City to have that type of atmosphere. They are not a "small town." They are a tourist town and should be catering to tourists. Someone needs to teach these employees how to smile and converse a bit more. Overall the city needs to step up it's customer service.

We do plan to visit this same hotel for winter skiing. I am hoping the overall Park City atmosphere improves during the winter with the return of the winter employees.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our vacation at the Marriott Mountainside was one of our best vacations and we have traveled a lot owning two timeshares: We were in a studio unit which overlooked the pool and Mountainside Park. The studio had a small sink, dorm-size refrigerator and microwave. We usually stay in a one bedroom when traveling so were pleasantly surprised that we could still eat in several times during the week. The room was very clean and there wassmall granite bar with two stools, a couch and flat screen tv; The bed was very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The resort sponsors a myraid of activities appropriate for all ages; Some activities required a reasonable fee and we participated in some complimentary ones and some with fees. We were extremely happy with all the acitivites that we joined. The resort is about a 15-20 minute walk to Main St. and walked down and back every day though there was complimentary bus service. Park City has great restaurants and activites for everyone whatever the age. We did several hikes and rented bikes ( a little expensive but great trails)one day. To sum this review up, we went in early July and the weather was beautiful, the Marriott Mountainside was fantastic (only downside was that lots of families were there and allowed their children to play in the hallways though it was quiet by 10:00 and we never had to complain to the front desk). We are planning to go back next summer and definitely want to return to the Marriott Mountainside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband, 11 year old son and I spent two nights at the Marriott Mountainside Villas before driving up to a dude ranch in Wyoming for a week. We didn't want to go exploring anywhere else once we saw that the hotel had to offer. Right outside our door there was a chairlift to the Alpine slides and ziplines, as well as the Alpine roller coaster, the bungie jumping area, and a small mini golf. We bought an unlimited all day pass to these activities and had the most fun ever. When it got too hot in the middle of the day, we partook in the many activities (like the balloon throwing and allegator wrestling contests) at the pool. We also enjoyed relaxing in the waterfalls and hot tubs and also took advantage of the huge fitness area. In our room we had a full kitchen so we just cooked a nice dinner at the hotel. My son had so much fun that he didn't want to leave. I wish I could have seen some of the sights in the area, but the hotel provided too much entertainment for us. This was money well spent!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was our first visit to the Marriott Mountainside and the Park City area. Although known to be a ski resort, there was a lot to do in the summer. There are about 10-12 daily activities for young and old which was a plus for our daughter who likes to get involved. Right next door was an outdoor activity area that included an Alpine Slide, Alpine Coaster, rockclimbing, bungee jumping and zipline and rides for smaller children. The all-day pass for an adult is a bit steep but for a child is reasonable. One suggestion would be to offer family packages since there are a lot of families that visit the area. We also went to Timpanogos Cave and enjoyed the hike and view. The shopping at Tangier Outlets was great. All in all, a good time was had by my whole family!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This is by far the best place to stay in Park City.

It is literally steps away from the lifts, there are fantastic amenities, and the hotel as a great atmosphere. The rooms are updated, there is a hot tub/pool area, and the staff is wonderful.

The also have an impressive gym.

I could not think of a better place to spend a ski vacation!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's MountainSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's MountainSide

Address: 1305 Lowell Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#14 Family Hotel in Park City
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's MountainSide 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's MountainSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountainside Hotel Park City
Marriotts Park City
Marriotts Mountainside Hotel
Marriott Park City
Marriott's MountainSide Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's MountainSide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.