We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's MountainSide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's MountainSide to your Saves list
Marriott's MountainSide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Lowell Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Park City
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location for skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went there with my two boys in December 2013. We didn't have a car. Ski on ski off access to Park City Mountain Resort was great. The base area has a number of restaurants plus a number of ski rental facilities. It was easy to catch a free bus to Main Street, Deer Valley, and Canyons. It wsn't easy to get to a grocery store without a car. There is a small convenience store near by.

Rooms were small but no issues. We had a studio. Service was great. Ski check in was nice. Outdoor jaccuzzi was wonderful. They seem to have a lot of activities for non-skiers as well. We didn't use any of them since we skied every day we were there. Overall, we had great fun.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    100
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
142
55
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were in town for Sundance and by the time we started booking hotels all "good" ones were sold out. So we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (or "villa" as they call it) for $999 a night at the Marriott. I knew it is a Marriott, but because it is a "mountain resort" I had slightly higher expectations for the common areas and level of finishes in the room. The room is perfectly functional and spacious, but is very very dated. The hotel is huge, as in very long ugly corridors to get to your "villa", and it smells like cheap cleaning supplies everywhere, overwhelmingly so. The lighting in the rooms and bathrooms are very bad from cheap fixtures. But again, the rooms were very clean and appropriate for someone that may pay much less (in a non-Sundance week) and may be less picky in level of finishes. One sore spot for me was the horrible quality of toiletries, total absence of shower caps (for someone with long hair that was a problem), lack of body lotion, q-tips etc - you know the super basic bathroom thingy.

The lack of restaurant was a major let down. I know if you really read the website description they will state that fact, but I just assumed that a major property such as this would have a restaurant, or serve room service or have a bar. It doesn't help that the restaurants around the property are pretty bad, and the convenience store at the lobby is very limited. We enjoyed the restaurants in Main Street, but during Sundance a trip for dinner could take 45 min in traffic and reservations are absolutely a must. The furniture in common areas look like they were bought in bulk about 20 years ago in a cheap wholesale.

The personnel however was good and try to make the most of the property. Lots of scheduled activities and the kids that work at the Wii room are very nice. As for recreation, the pool is kept way too cold (hot tubs were nice - only my kids went swimming as we attended meetings for the film festival). The air quality inside of the hotel is not good, it seems that some day they will have to open all windows and doors and just let really fresh air come in.

So, we were not Marriott's typical travelers and ended up here just by default. We would have payed twice as much gladly to stay in Main Street. However the "buck for the money", even if you are a skier was not there. Oh, and the lobby stinks of cheap cleaning products also. All in all, the hotel is perfectly fine if you are a Marriott customer or travel on a more tight budget. But even then, I would call it a resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a detailed review of Marriott’s MountainSide. Our team is disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay for the Sundance Festival. Full-service restaurants are generally not available at Marriott Vacation Club resorts as many of our owners utilize the kitchen inside their villas.

We would recommend one of our full-service Marriott hotels on your future visit to the Festival as this may better fit your family’s needs. Thank you again for your review and providing us your feedback about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been coming here for 17 years in January. The location for skiers is superb as it is next to the main chairlift, Payday. It has efficiency and 2 bedroom units that are spacious and well furnished as well as a big swimming pool and multiple outdoor hot tubs that look at the ski slopes. The staff is always courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: We like to get a high floor with a pool and ski slope view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are so happy to hear from such a loyal guest of Marriott’s MountainSide! Our team appreciates your kind words for our associates and hope you can return to see us soon. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great place to stay
Marriott mountainside is a fun place to stay. There are a lot of things to do and it is very safe. There is a small place where you can watch movies and there is a little room where kids can play and have fun. There is a pool and a jacuzzi for grown ups. There is a little path that will take you to the snow. They have good service and very nice rooms. It is clean and comfortable and fun for the whole family. The hotel is also very pretty and organized. There are a lot of places to rent skis and if you like chocolate apples there is an apple store very close where they have lots of different types of apples.

Room Tip: chose big rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Mattiott Mountainside in 3 years. The location is perfect- easy access to the slopes, lifts, ski school & village. The amenities are just what you'd want- free ski valet, fitness center, kids activity center, free movie theatre, free parking & shuttle, and convenience market. The entire staff (front desk & activity reps) went out of their way to make us and our 2 kids happy, even during their busiest season! Our studio villa with pullout couch and slopeside views was great- updated decor and always very clean. The small kitchenette was ideal for storing our breakfast and snack foods. We are already planning our next holiday stay and hope to be able to "score" a 1 or 2 bedroom unit for December 2014. Thank you Marriott for running such a FINE property!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just came back from the Mountain Side Christmas Week. We had a terrific experience from the slope view rooms 7609/11 attentive front desk and ski valet. Perfect location for an active family short walk to a ton of ski rental companies and places to eat. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: 7609 and 7611 slope veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are happy your family had a wonderful Christmas week with us! It is truly a pleasure to read your kind words for our associates and the local ski valet. It is our hope you can visit us again at Marriott’s MountainSide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at Marriott Mountainside from Dec 15-Dec 22 2013. Family of 4 (two college boys, mon and dad) 1 bedroom. The property is wrapped around the ski lifts and Park City Mountain village. Just walk out the back and you are surrounded by 6 large spa/hot tubs, large fire pits and the ski area. The staff was Marriott exceptional. Events each day sponsored by Marriott were amazing. We have been to numerous ski resorts but this rates as the best total experience we have had.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's MountainSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's MountainSide

Address: 1305 Lowell Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#11 Family Hotel in Park City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's MountainSide 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's MountainSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountainside Hotel Park City
Marriotts Park City
Marriotts Mountainside Hotel
Marriott Park City
Marriott's MountainSide Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's MountainSide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.