We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Screaming Kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's MountainSide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's MountainSide to your Saves list
Marriott's MountainSide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Lowell Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Holy Screaming Kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I feel terrible for anyone that unknowingly stays at Marriott Mountainside during the summer/fall months with the expectation of a quiet couples getaway, These are the days when large families from Utah head to the Marriott for its large rooms, kitchens, pool, and activities. It's great for the Mountainside that is filling rooms during the off season. It could be not so great for guests who don't know what they are getting into. During this time of year the Mountainside becomes a BAD hotel for business, couples, friends...and heaven forbid...solo.

Mountainside is a large hotel with 9 floors and 364 rooms. The rooms themselves are big, especially when a suite and lock-off are combined . The pool is huge and is adjacent to 5 Jacuzzis. The hotel has a good sized fitness center and game area. Plenty of room room for lots of people right? Wrong!

The number of people per room, all the toddlers in the pool, and guests that invite friends and family members to "come up for the day", simply overwhelms the hotel. I don't think Mountainside can or wants to restrict 'person per room' occupancy. I would be difficult to police the pool and jacuzzi area to verify guest only usage. Wristbands maybe? The reason parking is a problem is because two or three generation families bring two or three vehicles. Only one car per family is allowed anywhere close to the hotel. I don't think this is policy is obeyed.

Unless you fall into the the demographic that enjoys the hotel in the way I just described, I would recommend staying here during the winter months or year round on weekdays only, It really is a great property. I sincerely want travelers from out of state who are not accustomed to guest density under the age of 8 to be aware of this unique situation.

Room Tip: Top floor only or you will here footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    117
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
173
68
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My extended family booked multiple rooms here for a reunion of sorts. The hotel had amenities for young toddlers (riding toys and treehouse) all the way up through teenagers (game room- foosball ping pong). The adults were also included in a range of fun game-like activities (newlywed game, etc.) There were campfire nights with s'mores and singing cowboys by the pool and during your swim a staff member would come by to bring you and your kids a freezie treat to cool off. I was amazed at how much fun this was for all of the families. The pool is spacious and there are several hot tubs so these water features never felt too crowded. The rooms were comfortable with fully stocked kitchen units adjoining a 2-door lockout. This was nice so that we could cook our own meals and not always have to eat out. The appliances and furniture are not dated and the decor is light and airy. The property is ski-in ski out at Park City Mountain Resort so I can only imagine how fun this would be in the winter months. The proximity to the activities base of Park City Mountain Resort is awesome. You can walk right over to the Alpine slide, Alpine Coaster or bungee rides. I will note, that this is not where I would stay for a romantic getaway, but it is IDEAL for a family vacation with children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo, Montana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just got back from staying a week at the Mountainside and am already having vacation remorse! We have three young kids and keeping them happy and occupied was no problem here. They have a great kid playroom and great activities throughout the week and their pool and hot tubs were fantastic. We enjoyed smores by the fire, arts and crafts (tye dyes T-shirts were a hit), lots of swimming, and the beautiful scenery. We loved the location (alpine slide, roller coaster and other games in your backyard). We found the staff very accommodating and quick to fix any problem we had (tub was dirty upon arrival and dishwasher had some issues). I found the rooms spacious and nice. Others have complained about the housekeeping being an extra charge but there is a broom and push vacuum provided. And the week we were there we had no problem with lack of towels. Will be returning often! Thanks for the great vacation!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is our favorite with game room, spa, pool, pool tables, fire pits all on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for a week in a 2-bedroom unit. The layout is typical of Marriott Vacation Club properties as well as Starwood vacation club properties that have the lock-off layout. This is a vacation club property (timeshare) so it does not have the level of staffing or service that you would find at a Marriott resort that is hotel property.

We were here on a weekly trade from another Marriott Vacation club property so maid service was not included and we knew that up front. It was possible to get maid service for a fee though we opted not to. We found the unit to be nicely decorated with contemporary furnishings and very clean, including the bathrooms and showers. The common areas were decorated in Marriott/western decor and very comfortable.

This is resort is very family friendly and was filled with families while we were there. We were a group of 4 adults and found it very comfortable for us as well. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the foot of Main Street or the free bus runs about every 10 minutes from a stop that is about 100 yards from the lobby.

I would definitely stay here again when in Park City. I'm confused by some of the previous negative reviews. This is a very nice vacation club property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As part of Marriott Timeshare we spent a week there in August. The hotel is right next to the Park City Mountain resort. We were able to enjoy hiking on the mid mountain trail, rent bikes and enjoy the large number of hot tubs and of course the pool. We went on a river rafting trip as well as on a Balloon Ride. There is easy access to Historic Main St through free Park City Transport Shuttles. The staff is friendly courteous and listen and suggest alternatives which suit your needs. The rooms were clean, had LCD HD TVs in each room and the views are excellent. The only negative is the noise from the Parkside resort with the Alpine slide and the zip line if you keep your windows open. All in all a wonderful stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise from the Alpine slide then ask for a room overlooking the pool rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Love this resort. The two bedrooms are spacious 1,200 square feet. Wonderful plush Marriott Beds. These beds are so nice I bought one for my house. This resort has so many wonderful activities for the whole family. If you have children they offer the Mine Club with lots of things to keep them busy. The pools and hot tubs were very clean. The whole resort was very clean. Our room was wonderful. The two bedrooms with King Beds were so comfortable. Even the two queen pullout sofa sleepers are comfy. The pull out sofa sleepers are HIGH QUALITY with a three piece board that backs them so there is no bar in the back. They are more like a Murphy bed in quality than a sofa sleeper. All resorts should have this type of pull out sofa sleepers. The room even comes with your own washer and dryer.

The fully functional kitchen was more than adequate. All we needed to supply was the food. The Concierge was helpful and friendly. The only complaint is the parking is less than adequate. They do have a shuttle for the covered overflow parking lot. It is not a very far walk to the overflow parking. When they built this hotel they were planning on digging deeper to make the parking larger but ran into too many old mine shafts and decided it was best to just have an over flow lot.

This resort is located right next to the Ski Lifts and the Park City Mountain Resort that includes the Alpine Slide, Alpine Coaster, Rock Wall, Trampolines, Miniature Golf, Zip Line and Kiddies Rides. This is a highlight for our family. If you want to get a day pass to the Alpine Slide and Coaster and other attractions except the Zip Rider and Flying Eagle. Stop at any Costco in SLC and you can purchase them at very good discount. Costco has a 2 adult all day combo pass for $104.99. If you bought this at the resort it would cost $70 to $75 per person depending upon regular or holiday season. Costco will save you about $45 for two adults. Check out their website for current pricing for children and off season rates. http://www.parkcitymountain.com/summer/summer-activities/rates

If you are very adventurous then a Visit to the nearby Olympic Park might be for you, it is only about an 8 minute drive from the resort. There you can ride a bobsled and pull 4 Gs even in the summer. This is not for the faint of heart. They even have a ropes course. Much to do at the Olympic Park http://utaholympiclegacy.com/facilities/park/activities

This area has so much to offer. There are a number places where you can ride horses contact the Concierge for suggestions. Hot air balloon rides are quite enjoyable. In the early morning you will often see hot air balloons flying overhead in many parts of Park City.

The nearby lakes are fun for Boating, Jet Skiing, Water Skiing and Fishing. Jordanelle is very close within 10 minutes away. You can rent watercraft or bring your own.

A popular drive in the summer months is the drive to Mirror Lake. Ask the Concierge for directions.

Over all our stay at Mountainside was very memorable. I would highly recommend this resort. The pool and hot tub area also offers a lit fire pit in the evenings for warming yourself or making smores. Lots of grills for cooking outside as well near the pool.

Hope you too have an enjoyable stay on your many journeys through life.

Life is short enjoy the journey

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived at 2:00 pm and tried to check in early but were told our room was not ready and they would call us when our room was available. They called to let us now our room was ready at 3:30 which eneded up being a half hour before our scheduled "check in" time. We traded our Westgate Resort Park City timeshare for Marriott because of scheduling conflicts and our first reaction to checking in was the resort looked nice and the location was great right at the Moutain Resort where there is fun activities for all ages. It went down hill from there. There are resort activites for the kids which was nice but our room which was advertised as an economy room with private sleep quarters for 2 people and room for 4 total was really just an average hotel room with a very small kitchenette. We had a comfortable King size bed with a full pull out sofa and a average size bathroom with a tub/shower. We are used to staying in a 1 bed room condo with a full kitchen so this was a serious down grade. Now for our biggest complaint. Unless you booked this place as a nightly rate hotel room ( not as an owner or a time share exchange) you get no housekeeping services for the entire time you are there. We had our young 4 and 6 year old girls who love to do crafts so we had scraps all over the place and no vacuum or broom in the place. Also you have a very small bar/table which was only big enough for 2 people to sit atand really no other counter space for thekids to do craft on so the floor is where they had to ed up doing their crafts, games, puzzles, etc. You had to call and ask for clean towels (both pool and bath) which was very inconvienient. We were completely shocked that no house keeping was included with our excange so they offered to schedule a "tidy up" service but told us it would be $15 each time you schedule that. No thanks! We already were paying a lot of money to be staying there. Vacation is break from cleaning is it not...apparently not here. Also, when we went to the pool it was a nice size pool and there were 6 or 7 good size hot tubs but there was mold growing around them. I almost made the mistake of leaning back in the hot tub and getting my hair in it! Yuck! The fire pits were nice and the gym is a good addition. Oh yes, they do offer free swim diapers so if you forget them, not a problem.

Overall, if you are booking as a hotel for a few nights it will be great. If you are trading or buying, be prepared to pay a lot of money for things like cleaning your room that is a normal provided service at every other resort we have ever been to. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's MountainSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's MountainSide

Address: 1305 Lowell Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's MountainSide 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's MountainSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountainside Hotel Park City
Marriotts Park City
Marriotts Mountainside Hotel
Marriott Park City
Marriott's MountainSide Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's MountainSide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.