We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Black Bear Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent walking distance to lifts and a short drive to Park City village itself! Bleak Bear lodge has it's own unique "rustic" look and feel that fits in perfect with the mountains. Gas fireplace is the best too! Only a minor complaint with age/condition of furniture in living room that looked slightly worn. Kitchen had all needed items to cook in. Bedrooms and bathrooms were also very large and very well decorated to fit the motive. Also located very close to several restaurants and lounges. Everything is very high end on this section of the mountain.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same as the whole building is a narrow row. Premium views do not seem worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Alex,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Black Bear Lodge. We have taken your feedback regarding the furniture to heart, and will discuss with the property owner about potential updates over the summer. We hope you are able to return to Park City sometime and we hope you choose Black Bear Lodge by Wyndham Vacation Rentals. Thank you again!

Kind regards,
Alicia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    0
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at Black Bear Lodge in December and absolutely loved my two bedroom condo. It had a huge living area with fireplace that I used often, kitchen, comfortable beds, a fun, relaxing, lodge feel and remarkable views of the mountains, especially from the private hot tub on my balcony. The staff was very friendly and attentive when I needed anything from directions to dining recommendations. The location is perfect! So close to the lifts and dining, not to mention in December there are barely any lift lines. The shuttle will take you anywhere which makes for a convenient night out in Park City. I really enjoyed being able to experience Park City but stay in the scenic, upscale, and quieter Deer Valley location. I would definitely recommend Black Bear Lodge for any Deer Valley or Park city trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Black Bear Lodge. I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the wonderful amenities and conveniences the Lodge has to offer. We hope you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at Black Bear Lodge 3/6-3/10/2014, Unit 105. This was a trip for 5 friends and we wanted more than hotel rooms. The location was fantastic! So close to the lifts and ski shops which is what we had been looking for in lodging options.

The Staff was beyond incredible. Accommodating doesn't begin to describe how great they were, especially Jen the concierge. Anything we asked for was taken care of very quickly. We were really happy with the BBL's shuttle to go down into Park City and it's availability. It made our trip really easy since we specifically chose Deer Valley because of its proximity to Park City and we didn't want to rent a car.

My only minor complaints would be with the condition of our particular unit, which albeit was an owner-owned unit, not owned by Wyndham. Little things like broken humidifiers and a stopped up tub drain should have been attended to by the owners. But overall the unity was in excellent condition, very clean and we would definitely go back to this property again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank your for your review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Black Bear Lodge. I also want to say thank you for your specific feedback on the unit and the minor issues you noticed. We can work with the owner on maintenance items like this and make sure they are taken care of so that your next stay is flawless! Thank you again and we hope to see you next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just got home yesterday from a 3-night stay at Black Bear Lodge, unit 308B. The lodge was conveniently within walking distance to Deer Valley. The condo was just as the photos showed and having the fireplace and our own private jacuzzi at night was an added bonus after a long day of skiing. The shuttle service was also excellent. There was always someone to pick us up and take us anywhere we wanted. All you have to do is give them a 15 minute lead way.

I cannot brag enough on how excellent the concierge, Jennifer Ringquist was at Black Bear. She made all of our shuttle, airport transfers, dinner and sleigh ride reservations weeks before we even arrived. She was always very responsive to all of my needs and made our stay enjoyable beyond words.

We will definitely be back next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hear a lot of great things about Jen, and I'll be sure to let her know you had a great stay. We can't thank you enough for your business and we hope you'll visit us again! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently spent 6 days at the Black Bear Lodge Condos during the Presidents' holiday week and had a terrific time. First off, the nightly price for the spacious condo in the Deer Valley Silver Lake mid-mountain resort area were extremely reasonable comparing to other resorts/hotel in the same area. Our condo is a two bedroom condo with a very spacious living room with a pull out sofa bed that we did not used. There were plenty of room for my family of four. The kitchen is very convenient as well and is stocked with pots, pans, dishes, glasses, utensils and other useful kitchen items. On occasions, we find it more economical and stress free to eat in. The resort has a shuttle van that will take you anywhere in the surrounding Park City areas as long as you let them know about 30 minutes in advance. On busy days, like the holiday weekends, its best to reserve it further in advance. Everyone we came in contact with were friendly and accommodating. There is a small heated outdoor pool and hot tub which we did not used. Our condo also has a personal hot tub out on the balcony. The two bedrooms are spacious with two queen beds. There are two full bath also. The location of the lodge cannot be beat. Centrally located within walking distance to the lifts and ski rental shops nearby. There are also several top rated restaurants nearby within walking distance. I have two children in ski school which starts their lesson in the snow park area. To get there in the morning you can take the shuttle down, ski down, or take the chair lift down. There is no restaurant at the lodge so you need to make arrangement to eat out or cook and eat in. The shuttle van took us to a local market nearby for our food supply, to dinner and back, and for a night out strolling along Main Street in Park City. We only had one complaints which is noise level especially if you have a large family staying above. We can head loud walking noises from the people above but thank goodness they retired to bed early like we do and didn't keep us up all night. Overall, we had a terrific time here at the Black Bear Lodge and Condo for their value, location, price, service and convenience. We will certainly come here again should our skiing vacation planning in the future brings us back to this lovely ski resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
First, I'd like to say thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We love to hear feedback, especially in such detail! I'm glad that you got a great value out of our free shuttle service and were able to experience Deer Valley and Park City to the fullest. We are always grateful for our wonderful guests and I thank you for your business. We couldn't do it without you! We hope to see you again next season!

Kind regards,

Alicia S.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I love it when a plan come together. I booked the unit through a VRBO link. The reviews I read were great, and the facility lived up to its billing. We have visited Deer Valley several times and were familiar the area. Because of the reasonable price I was skeptical of what we would find. Our 3rd floor one BR unit was clean, spacious well maintained. The staff was there if you need them but not in your face. I am planning on renting again. And Again.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floors offer "views". It is possible to hear "ski boots" walking fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I'm glad to hear you got a good value with your stay and you got to experience the wonderful views of Deer Valley. We're looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay. We truly appreciate your business.

Thank you!

Alicia S.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are just returning from the perfect ski weekend at Deer Valley. We stayed in a charming two-bedroom ski condo at Black Bear Lodge and were perfectly delighted with the place. It was spacious, comfortable, and clean. We loved the hot tub on the deck and the cozy self-lighting fireplace in the living room. The kitchen was spotless and well-appointed with very nice appliances and everything we needed to have breakfast in the morning. And the location is extremely convenient. We stepped out the door and walked right into Silver Lake Village about a block away. After we enjoyed après at the Stein Erikson, we walked right back to our condo across the street. We also found the staff to be wonderful! Especially the concierge Jennifer, who went out of her way to recommend restaurants to us and help is get oriented to Park City. We are already hoping to book the same unit again next year. Thanks for a lovely getaway!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Rachel,
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm glad to hear you had a great ski vacation in Park City. Jen really knows her stuff when it comes to dining and activities in the area I'm glad she was able to assist you. Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us be part of your memorable ski trip! I hope we will see you again next season, or maybe in the summer! Come see the other side of Park City!

Thank you,

Alicia S.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
7.3 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
1.2 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#11 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.