We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Save Saved
You added Black Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just wanted to express our disappointment in the Black Bear Lodge. We have stayed at a lot of other upscale hotels in park city and deer valley and not once have we left early. This was the first time. It actually felt great to leave. My wife and I booked what we thought would be a relaxing getaway for this weekend only to be thoroughly disappointed in our choice. The cons of this weekend greatly outweighed the pros. Our rooms were about 80 degrees even though it was 50 degrees outside at night. Very uncomfortable. We even opened the windows thinking that it would help but it didn't. Our cable went out and we were only able to view 15 local channels which was very frustrating. We also purchased the room solely because it was advertised that there would be a private hot tub. We got there and the hot tub was empty and had parts inside it. I called and asked about it and was told that during the summer there is an extra charge for the hot tub for them to prep it. We weren't informed regarding that whole situation. Very frustrating. We then decided to go use the shared hot tub outside which we found to be pretty much disgusting. I actually cleaned it myself because even after I told the front desk about it, the day after it was still very dirty. When you are paying hundreds of dollars a night you expect to enjoy your stay and have things cleaned and taken care of. The list continues with the maid walking into our rooms while we were sleeping because nobody notified her that we were staying for the weekend. Good thing she didn't walk in on us dressing or anything else. Also we weren't provided a parking pass. The front desk called us on our second day to notify us that they forgot to include it with our check in packet, which leads me to another complaint. I have never had a more difficult time checking into a place than I had with Black Bear Lodge. We got there after work around 6 after the front desk had closed. When we looked at the map on the front door it said to go around the other way to enter after hours. That was locked too. We then went back to the front and had to call several numbers to finally figure out how to get in. Why don't people let you know how to check in if you are getting there late? Come on people. We actually had invited another couple to come stay with us for the weekend because we reserved the two bedroom lodge but they weren't able to make it. In retrospect I'm very glad that they didn't drive all the way up there for an experience like that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. We want each of our guests to have a relaxing time at Black Bear and I’m sorry that you did not feel this way following your trip. In researching your stay, there were many things presented in your review that conflict with information that we have regarding your stay. I will attempt to address each of your issues individually. First, I do apologize that your unit was warm upon your arrival. The end of June can be very warm in Park City. As we communicated to you when you made your reservation, this unit was not equipped with air conditioning. We do however provide multiple fans in each unit for our guests comfort, and delivered additional fans during your stay. Typically, our guests are able to position the fans to bring in some of the cooler night air that you mentioned to make things more pleasant. In addition, we did offer to move you to a unit on a lower floor during your stay which typically provides for a cooler experience. You declined this offer. I do apologize that you had an issue with your cable during your stay. When we inspected your unit prior to your arrival it was receiving the full Comcast Digital Starter menu of 80+ channels. You did not mention this problem during your stay for us to attempt to resolve. Regarding the hot tubs mentioned in your review - we communicated to you during the booking process that the private hot tubs at Black Bear are available during our summer rentals for a fee. You declined at the time of booking to add this service. A customer service representative again reached out to you 4 days prior to your arrival to again inquire if you had changed your mind and would like the spa filled for your arrival. You again declined this service. I’m sorry that you found the common area spa water not to your satisfaction. We take this concern very seriously. Immediately following your visit to the front desk we did communicate with the Homeowners Association who maintains the spa and requested a service. They checked both the water and the cleanliness of the spa. Their inspection of the spa found it to be clean, and balanced. In addition, we had many other guest’s and owners at Black Bear that weekend who utilized the common area spa and pool. We did not receive any similar feedback from any other traveler regarding the common area spa. Concerning the housekeeper that you mentioned entered your unit. If a member of our staff entered your unit without a knock on the door or announcing themselves as they entered I sincerely apologize. I also apologize that there was not a parking pass in your check-in packet, and that you had difficulty checking in after our front desk was closed. We did provide you directions regarding this process with your reservation contract. In addition, there are directions on the front door at Black Bear to assist our guests that arrive after hours. Also, we do have a phone inside of the door next to the lock box that connects guests with a customer service representative to assist them if they are having trouble. You mentioned that you utilized this service. However our records indicate we did not have any calls from this line documented on the evening of your check-in. Regardless, we apologize for the inconvenience. You do mention in the beginning of your review that your disappointment led to you to leave the property early. I’m sorry that you felt this way. Typically when a guest makes this decision they notify us and sometimes request compensation back for the remaining time. We did not receive this request from you, but are happy to accommodate you for a return night at Black Bear at our expense.

Best Regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
jason.schnaitter@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful property within walking distance of Deer Valley Ski Resort. We had two families and rented two adjoining condos, the single entry door allowed us to leave the doors open yet still have two separate spaces.

Room Tip: The only problem we encountered was using the kitchen "non-stick" pans, they should be rep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and both times the experiecne wonderful. The location is close (a 3 minute walk) to the slopes.. At mid-mountain, it is easy to get to any slpe withing five minutes, or easy to come back for a afternoon rest. Our condo had a private hottub on the balcony, which really made the place great. The two bedrooms was perfect for a family. There was enough room for everoyne to have space, but not too much. The washer and dryer in the room was great also. I loved the large stone fireplace and even the decor was nice (not too cheesy). I would highly reccomend these condos as a resonably priced place to stay at silver lake. I would definatly return.

Room Tip: the higher floors are better becaue they have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Located in Silver Lake Village which is "Ground Zero" at Deer Valley, this property offers unprecedented size and comfort for the $. While lacking services of a large hotel, it does offer a charming lobby wirth shuttle service and fully equiped quarters which are spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom units are incredibly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Black Bear for the Christmas week with our two young kids in a 1 bedroom unit. We had previously stayed at Black Bear in February 2012 being upgraded from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom unit. There is plenty of space and the room was well furnished.
The front desk staff was very helpful when I had to needed to send faxes.
The real value of Black Bear is the convenience due to the proximity to the ski slope which also has a convenient ski check right by the lift. The underground parking is also nice and convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are slightly closer to the lift if you are counting steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are thrilled you had a great time! We are glad you enjoyed the spacious and well-furnished property. In addition, I’m pleased that our front desk staff was helpful to you during your stay. They do a great job, and we appreciate the positive feedback! We look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge.

Thanks,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

bad service so i would not stay here again for the money. staff didnt want to be bothered with anything and work very short hours. cant even get into the building after 10pm. way overpriced. would suggest a hotel for the money./ we got stuck here because of sundance and all the good places were sold out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
First I want to sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We want all of our guests to have a great experience at Black Bear Lodge, and I’m sorry our service did not meet your expectation. I’m very sorry our staff gave the impression that they did not want to be bothered with anything. That is certainly not how we have trained our staff, and not how they typically treat our guests as evidenced by our other positive reviews. While the Front Desk does operate between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. daily, there are multiple entry points to the building after the desk is closed. I apologize that you were not able to easily find them, and appreciate the feedback. While we have not had other guests express this challenge, we will continue to work on our directions to guests so that they are aware of the many entry and exit points beyond the front desk at our property.
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Black Bear this week and sad to be leaving. Everything from check-in to departure was spot on ! The garage made parking easy and swift in the snow and everything very clean and well signed.
Reception staff were notably welcoming and efficient and were expecting my check in and had info packs etc all ready.
The condo was a corner unit on second floor and was really high quality with wonderfulountain views, an immaculate hot tub, lots of internal space and top level fittings - down to appliances and all the equipment.
I found it spotlessly clean
Reading the other older reports on here, it looks like the new Wyndham Vacation Rentals Resort Quest team operate this resort so mich better now than previous team.
You vote with your feet and I'll be coming back !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are so glad you had a fantastic stay! We agree that the many amenities at Black Bear make a vacation an easy and enjoyable experience. I appreciate your kind words regarding both our Front Desk staff, and the condition you found your accommodations. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams work extremely hard to insure our guests have a great experience in our managed units at Black Bear. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge!
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#20 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.