We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Black Bear Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Park City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and both times the experiecne wonderful. The location is close (a 3 minute walk) to the slopes.. At mid-mountain, it is easy to get to any slpe withing five minutes, or easy to come back for a afternoon rest. Our condo had a private hottub on the balcony, which really made the place great. The two bedrooms was perfect for a family. There was enough room for everoyne to have space, but not too much. The washer and dryer in the room was great also. I loved the large stone fireplace and even the decor was nice (not too cheesy). I would highly reccomend these condos as a resonably priced place to stay at silver lake. I would definatly return.

Room Tip: the higher floors are better becaue they have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julia28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Located in Silver Lake Village which is "Ground Zero" at Deer Valley, this property offers unprecedented size and comfort for the $. While lacking services of a large hotel, it does offer a charming lobby wirth shuttle service and fully equiped quarters which are spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom units are incredibly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Black Bear for the Christmas week with our two young kids in a 1 bedroom unit. We had previously stayed at Black Bear in February 2012 being upgraded from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom unit. There is plenty of space and the room was well furnished.
The front desk staff was very helpful when I had to needed to send faxes.
The real value of Black Bear is the convenience due to the proximity to the ski slope which also has a convenient ski check right by the lift. The underground parking is also nice and convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are slightly closer to the lift if you are counting steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler222000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are thrilled you had a great time! We are glad you enjoyed the spacious and well-furnished property. In addition, I’m pleased that our front desk staff was helpful to you during your stay. They do a great job, and we appreciate the positive feedback! We look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge.

Thanks,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

bad service so i would not stay here again for the money. staff didnt want to be bothered with anything and work very short hours. cant even get into the building after 10pm. way overpriced. would suggest a hotel for the money./ we got stuck here because of sundance and all the good places were sold out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
First I want to sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We want all of our guests to have a great experience at Black Bear Lodge, and I’m sorry our service did not meet your expectation. I’m very sorry our staff gave the impression that they did not want to be bothered with anything. That is certainly not how we have trained our staff, and not how they typically treat our guests as evidenced by our other positive reviews. While the Front Desk does operate between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. daily, there are multiple entry points to the building after the desk is closed. I apologize that you were not able to easily find them, and appreciate the feedback. While we have not had other guests express this challenge, we will continue to work on our directions to guests so that they are aware of the many entry and exit points beyond the front desk at our property.
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Black Bear this week and sad to be leaving. Everything from check-in to departure was spot on ! The garage made parking easy and swift in the snow and everything very clean and well signed.
Reception staff were notably welcoming and efficient and were expecting my check in and had info packs etc all ready.
The condo was a corner unit on second floor and was really high quality with wonderfulountain views, an immaculate hot tub, lots of internal space and top level fittings - down to appliances and all the equipment.
I found it spotlessly clean
Reading the other older reports on here, it looks like the new Wyndham Vacation Rentals Resort Quest team operate this resort so mich better now than previous team.
You vote with your feet and I'll be coming back !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank synapticsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are so glad you had a fantastic stay! We agree that the many amenities at Black Bear make a vacation an easy and enjoyable experience. I appreciate your kind words regarding both our Front Desk staff, and the condition you found your accommodations. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams work extremely hard to insure our guests have a great experience in our managed units at Black Bear. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge!
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at Black Bear lodge. The condo was spacious, convenient, and tastefully decorated. We are a family of 5 adults. There was more than enough room in a 2B/2B condo with a loft. There was a private hot tub outside on the balcony. The view was amazing! The kitchen was big enough, and stocked well enough for basic cooking.

The staff at the lodge was amazing. They catered to every whim. There is a complimentary car/shuttle to take us anywhere in the local area. We used it several times to food shop, and to various restaurants in the area, each night. The drivers were friendly, and were always offering advice on restaurant suggestions.

It is a short walk to the base of Silver Lake area of Deer Valley, and good restaurants.

I highly recommend the Black Bear. I would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lintefalas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are very pleased that you had a great stay! I’m happy that you found the condo spacious, well decorated, and conveniently located. We agree that the views from decks at Black Bear are amazing! I also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. They really do an amazing job, and I’m especially pleased you mentioned our shuttle service and our drivers. They are excellent, and I’m glad they improved your experience. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge!
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family of 4 traveled to Deer Valley, UT for Spring Break with good friends (family of 5) and shared 2 condos at Black Bear Lodge. We loved the mid mountain location, just across from Silver Lake Village and the lifts. The condos were spacious and well appointed with good quality furnishings and appliances. The children enjoyed the outdoor hot tub on the deck. The adults appreciated the friendly and helpful staff who were gracious and helpful with tips and advice during our visit. And Bruce, the driver, was fabulous and took us to and from our lunch and dinner outings in style! Would recommend to anyone who wants a fabulous experience in Deer Valley.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JWLMontgomery_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.2 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#4 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village
1.2 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#7 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing