We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very satisfying stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Black Bear Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get up to 25% all winter!
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Park City
illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very satisfying stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at Black Bear lodge. The condo was spacious, convenient, and tastefully decorated. We are a family of 5 adults. There was more than enough room in a 2B/2B condo with a loft. There was a private hot tub outside on the balcony. The view was amazing! The kitchen was big enough, and stocked well enough for basic cooking.

The staff at the lodge was amazing. They catered to every whim. There is a complimentary car/shuttle to take us anywhere in the local area. We used it several times to food shop, and to various restaurants in the area, each night. The drivers were friendly, and were always offering advice on restaurant suggestions.

It is a short walk to the base of Silver Lake area of Deer Valley, and good restaurants.

I highly recommend the Black Bear. I would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are very pleased that you had a great stay! I’m happy that you found the condo spacious, well decorated, and conveniently located. We agree that the views from decks at Black Bear are amazing! I also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. They really do an amazing job, and I’m especially pleased you mentioned our shuttle service and our drivers. They are excellent, and I’m glad they improved your experience. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge!
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family of 4 traveled to Deer Valley, UT for Spring Break with good friends (family of 5) and shared 2 condos at Black Bear Lodge. We loved the mid mountain location, just across from Silver Lake Village and the lifts. The condos were spacious and well appointed with good quality furnishings and appliances. The children enjoyed the outdoor hot tub on the deck. The adults appreciated the friendly and helpful staff who were gracious and helpful with tips and advice during our visit. And Bruce, the driver, was fabulous and took us to and from our lunch and dinner outings in style! Would recommend to anyone who wants a fabulous experience in Deer Valley.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The upper floor units with a private hot tub are very nice after a day of skiing. The furnishings were nice, but not luxurious. Good size units and a good value for the area with indoor parking and wi-fi. Black Bear Lodge was just a 2 minute walk from the ski check at Silver Lake Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a ubnit on the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Black Bear Lodge at Silver Lake, Deer Valley is a lovely romantic lodge setting. It is very much wood built, with huge lounge/kitchen, balcony with jacuzzi tub (bit cold walking out there outdoors mid winter), button turn on huge fire in lounge, big comfy beds and well equipped bathrooms. Stayed in 2 room condo -- main bedroom had main bed and two bunks and jacuzzi bath, second bedroom had big double bed and own bathroom with shower - and access to the balcony and jacuzzi. It is a really charming romantic hotel but not posy posh -- just warm, luxurious, cosy and gorgeous - and great 'cookies' warm and fresh every morning in reception. No restaurant, short walk to ski slopes at Silver Lake. Connects well into the whole Deer Valley ski area which is large, very smart with valet service, lovely lodges and restaurants. Great restaurants eg Goldener Hirsch and Stein Erikson Lodge a very short walk from Black Bear.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at Black Bear Lodge over Presidents' weekend 2012, though we rented through a private owner. We knew ahead of time that cleaning/maid service was not included, but we were able to hire one on our own if we wanted. The unit was one of the lofts on the top (4th) floor, unit #430. It had 2 bedrooms plus a loft area with 2 more double beds. Our family of 5 was very comfortable, and the price was around half what we would have paid for 2 rooms at one of the ski in/out hotels on the mountain. The walk to the lifts was a couple of blocks, and at Deer Valley there is a complimentary overnight ski check at the base, so you don't need to carry gear.
The kitchen was very nice, fully stocked with cookware needed, and there was a dishwasher and W/D in the unit (and the detergent was already there). The living/dining area was comfortable and spacious. Keep in mind that unless you have a car, there is no market within walking distance. From what I saw, the staff at Black Bear was courteous and very capable, so I would imagine that renting through the management company at Black Bear should be a good bet (though maybe a little more expensive than going through private owners). Overall, we loved it, and would go back.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible if you are sensitive to people walking around in their ski boots
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very spacious throughout, and well planned bedding to optimize "the more the merrier". You enter your unit through a glass door to a large hallway entry area with a private ski locker and convenient bench. Then you enter the real door to your unit which was huge for a 3 bedroom. I liked that it had a separate full bath instead of half bath in the hall. The kitchen was well equipped instead of the token cooking and eating utensils you often find. Loved the private hot tub, already heated and ready. The fireplace 2 hour timer was a nice touch too. I can't praise the desk staff enough. I was looking for a place to get a bottle of wine (no corner convenience stores in Deer Valley!) and they called a place a few doors up that had a sundry shop. But they even went the extra mile and got their shuttle to take me there. Oh, and don't miss the cookies in the front lobby - yummy! A great location b/c you are across from one of the most expensive places in Deer Valley, Stein Erikson Lodge.

Room Tip: All are good, but unit next to front door doesn't give as much hot tub privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Belinda,

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that you had a great stay at Black Bear Lodge and with ResortQuest. I'm especially happy that your interactions with our staff were positive, and they went the extra mile to help you obtain the bottle of wine. As we have only recently taken over as the new Front Desk Manager of Black Bear Lodge this winter season, insuring that you, and each of our guests, have a great experience is certainly our goal. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the cookies in the lobby! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We could not have asked for better accomodations. The room was spacious well appointed and perfectly located for a fabulous ski weekend. The staff was friendly courteous prompt and truly went the extra mile

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#20 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.