We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Black Bear Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get up to 25% all winter!
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Park City
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at Black Bear Lodge over Presidents' weekend 2012, though we rented through a private owner. We knew ahead of time that cleaning/maid service was not included, but we were able to hire one on our own if we wanted. The unit was one of the lofts on the top (4th) floor, unit #430. It had 2 bedrooms plus a loft area with 2 more double beds. Our family of 5 was very comfortable, and the price was around half what we would have paid for 2 rooms at one of the ski in/out hotels on the mountain. The walk to the lifts was a couple of blocks, and at Deer Valley there is a complimentary overnight ski check at the base, so you don't need to carry gear.
The kitchen was very nice, fully stocked with cookware needed, and there was a dishwasher and W/D in the unit (and the detergent was already there). The living/dining area was comfortable and spacious. Keep in mind that unless you have a car, there is no market within walking distance. From what I saw, the staff at Black Bear was courteous and very capable, so I would imagine that renting through the management company at Black Bear should be a good bet (though maybe a little more expensive than going through private owners). Overall, we loved it, and would go back.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible if you are sensitive to people walking around in their ski boots
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very spacious throughout, and well planned bedding to optimize "the more the merrier". You enter your unit through a glass door to a large hallway entry area with a private ski locker and convenient bench. Then you enter the real door to your unit which was huge for a 3 bedroom. I liked that it had a separate full bath instead of half bath in the hall. The kitchen was well equipped instead of the token cooking and eating utensils you often find. Loved the private hot tub, already heated and ready. The fireplace 2 hour timer was a nice touch too. I can't praise the desk staff enough. I was looking for a place to get a bottle of wine (no corner convenience stores in Deer Valley!) and they called a place a few doors up that had a sundry shop. But they even went the extra mile and got their shuttle to take me there. Oh, and don't miss the cookies in the front lobby - yummy! A great location b/c you are across from one of the most expensive places in Deer Valley, Stein Erikson Lodge.

Room Tip: All are good, but unit next to front door doesn't give as much hot tub privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Belinda,

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that you had a great stay at Black Bear Lodge and with ResortQuest. I'm especially happy that your interactions with our staff were positive, and they went the extra mile to help you obtain the bottle of wine. As we have only recently taken over as the new Front Desk Manager of Black Bear Lodge this winter season, insuring that you, and each of our guests, have a great experience is certainly our goal. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the cookies in the lobby! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We could not have asked for better accomodations. The room was spacious well appointed and perfectly located for a fabulous ski weekend. The staff was friendly courteous prompt and truly went the extra mile

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Everyone in our family who used the hot tub got a bacterial infection of the skin. We learned later that this is common in hot tubs that are not properly maintained. Our rooms were also not cleaned consistently. If you notice all the recent reviews they have a common theme of poor service, maintenance and cleanliness. Too bad. Its a great location, but wear your hazmat suits and bring your own cleaning products! I complained to management and never heard a response. There are better , nicer and cheaper places to stay in DV.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here, it was filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
First let me apologize for your experience last April at Black Bear Lodge. It sounds like a very challenging vacation for you and your family. Our company, ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals is the new Front Desk Manager as of June of 2011. While we were not the manager at the time of your stay, I still am sorry for issues that had. You mention in your review that members of your party received an infection from use of the hot tub. For that I apologize. While we did not service your unit during your stay last year, we do service the hot tubs under our rental management multiple times per week to insure their safety. In addition, upon assuming the management of the units at Black Bear, we conducted thorough deep cleans of each unit in our rental pool. For many units this included replacing the grout in many of the bathrooms. Should you return to Deer Valley, we would love the opportunity to earn back your business, and show you the changes we have made at Black Bear Lodge.

Thank you

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This was our first trip to Utah and Deer Valley- we stayed here at the recommendation of friends and overall were very pleased. Our unit was beautifully decorated appointed, had a fantastic view of the slopes and was in easy walking distance of Snow Park Village and the lifts. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, but the overall service was just OK. We stayed 4 nights- the first day the housekeeping staff never came. We called the front desk, they apologized profusely and offered to send up clean towels. The second day was fine. The third day the housekeepers didn't show up until 4:00.
The unit itself was gorgeous! One of the porch doors had a broken lock and one of the bathroom windows also didn't close all the way. I reported this to the front desk and the next day a handyman came and repaired both while we were out. We had our own hot tub, so did not use the pool. We enjoyed the parking garage since we had a rental car. Internet (wifi) was a little spotty in the unit, although it was fine in the lobby.
I ranked sleep quality as less than perfect because the higher altitude at mid-mountain definitely affected our sleep, as we were told it might. We just sleep more lightly- but the unit was quiet.I

Room Tip: Unit 310 is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We did stay in Black Bear and were very disappointed. Nobody clean our rooms, nobody change our towels or taking rubbish away. There was mould everywhere in our bathrooms and my friends even found a suspecious things in their bed! We decided that nobody changed the beds from previous guests.
Swimming pool was always closed. If you want to use it you need to unroll the cover by yourself - not very welcoming.

We travel a lot and never seen such a messy hotel!

When we complained it's not really helped.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize for your experience last March at Black Bear Lodge. It sounds like a very challenging experience for you and your family. Our company, ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals is the new Front Desk Manager as of June of 2011. While we were not the manager at the time of your stay, I still am sorry for issues that had. You mention in your review that there was mold in the bathrooms. One step that we took upon assuming the management was thorough deep cleans of each unit under our management at Black Bear. For many units this included replacing the grout in many of the bathrooms. I also apologize that you did not receive daily housekeeping service during your stay. This is an amenity that we offer during the winter season. Should you return to Deer Valley, we would love the opportunity to earn back your business, and show you the changes we have made at Black Bear Lodge.

Best regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My family stayed at Black Bear Lodge for 5 nights last week. It was perfect! We like to stay in very nice hotels so I'm always concerned when I rent something online. Our unit was beautiful. I know that some of the units are not as updated as others so you need to really look at the pictures online. We enjoyed maid service every day and free transportation to Park City restaurants, grocery store, etc The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a 3 minute walk to the lifts. I did lots of research before our trip and I believe that Black Bear Lodge is the best deal in the Silver Lake area and you can't beat the location! We are definitely going back next year.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 West Royal Street, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#21 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.