We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park Avenue to your Saves list
Park Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 Captain Molly Dr., Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The unit we stayed in smelled horrible. My wife actually had to cover her mouth whenever she was in the front room and had to spend most of her time upstairs due to the oders. When we brought this up with management (Dina) we were told it was our fault for not bringing this up earlier. We were very unsatisfied to say the least. Would never come back here again or recommend it to anyone else who wants a clean place and good customer service

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My family (4 adults) stayed in this 2BR/2.5 BA condo (#314; Bronze level) in early March, while skiing at the Park City area ski resorts.

Positive things:
1. Central location of the condo complex: We used the free shuttle (bus stop is 2 minutes walking from the condo) to get to the resorts of Deer Valley, Park City Mountain, and the Canyons. All were within 20 minutes ride. Just accross the street were a supermarket, a drug store, a Sports Authority, a Starbucks, and various restaurants. Park City's historic downdown (Main street) is also on the free shuttle route about 10 minutes away. Due to the location of the condo, we did not have to rent a car for this trip. We found the public shuttle service effective and confortable.

2. Space: The condo is huge. It has two master bedrooms with a separate bathroom for each on the upper floor. The main level has a good-size living room with a gas fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen (we cooked there), a dining room and a half bathroom. The entry foyer is big enough to keep ski equipments. There is a designated free parking spot right in front of the main entry to the condo.

3. Facilities: The heated outdoor swimming pool/whirpool and (indoor) sauna is right at the condo (1 minute walk) right next to the office. It was not crowded and fun.

4. Price: We got this place for under $200/night. The place is perfect for a large family. There are beds for 6 people, but two more would easily fit.

The "okay" things:
1. Cleanliness: It was okay: there was nothing specific to complain about, but I did not feel totally comfortable. I am very picky re totally clean accommodations so I might be a little unfair with this opinion. I admit, that the old everything might be a contributing factor.

2. The place is not updated (Bronze level). All kitchen and bathroom equipments are adequate, functioning, but old. (Actually this is probably why the nightly rate is so affordable.)

3. No washer and dryer in the unit. The complex had a laundry facility in the common area.

4. Service was prompt and effective when we needed it (gas fireplace did not start.)

The negatives:
1. The electric system throughout the condo is very old and unreliable. For example, when we plugged the ski boot heater rods (small equipment) to the outlet next to the TV's outlet the TV shut down. A few outlets were not working at all. Fortunately there were plenty other ones so we easily found a solution. The lamps throughout the condo were wery weak (low wattage) - we thought that stronger bulbs might be too much for the old circuits.

2. Even though there are two full bathrooms, the water heater provided enough hot water to shower only for two people at a time. Others had to wait an hour or so to have warm enough water again.

3. No wireless internet in the condo. Tip: the office is just across the alley way (1 minute walk) where there is wireless access. The dining room and the master bedroom window areas are close enough to the office so occasionally we had wireless within the condo.

4. Air is very dry in the condo (probably due to high the altitude, and the forced air heating), and there are no humidifiers offered with the rooms. Tip: bringing your own humidifiers could improve sleep quality.

Conclusion: Due to the good location of the complex, and the affordable nightly rate of this spacious, adequetly equipped condo, I would recommend it to my family and friends. It is a solid budget choice, despite the negative things I mentioned above.

Room Tip: Units facing the golf course typically have better views. Silver units (more expensive) are a nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

OK so maybe it's my inexperience with Time Shares yet when we arrived late at night for the use of the "studio" that "sleeps 4" the front door practically hit the "murphy bed". We literally had to move the sofa (the other sleep piece) to open the murphy bed. If both had been pulled out for use there would have literally been no floor space.

Plusses- location.

Minuses: space or lack there of, condition was marginal, all around unacceptable.

Left the next morning and found much better accomodations using HomeAway.

Room Tip: call the management company in advance and insist on a specific unit. I didn't do this and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

It's a really roomy comfortable lay out. I especially liked the loft space.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

Really comfortable condo! Interior was practically brand new carpet, paint, tv's, kitchen, and hot tub. We could walk out the back porch onto the 17th hole on the golf course with great views of the mountains. We could also walk to the grocery store and many restaurants ( fell in love with Squatters). We came for the mountain biking but will be back for ski season.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Park Avenue condos. They were very responsive to us and supplied us with a new coffee pot immediately. The Spring skiing was great. You can get to all the great ski resorts around Salt Lake City. We drove up to Alta and Snowbird in 40 minutes easily. No waits or crowds this time of year and snow almost everyday. Wonderful places to eat in Park City and all around. Our unit was older and it does need some TLC (broken drawers in bedroom for instance). But we found the funiture comfortable and the master bed was fine. We would stay on the Captain Molly side where the view would be the open space and pretty. Our view from unit 286-1 was the street and it was a bit noisy downstairs. We had a great exchange rate from RCI so I have no reason to complain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were not disappointed with Park Avenue. While it was an older complex and the rooms were a bit dark, we absolutely loved all of the staff we encountered and the location just can't be beat. Our condo was an updated "gold" level and all the furnishing and kitchen were nicely done. We rented some equipment in Salt Lake and wish we had used Cole-Sport which was right there on the corner by our condo. We could easily walk to the lifts in under 10 minutes and the grocery store was right across the street. Great Place! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue

Address: 1705 Captain Molly Dr., Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location year round for your family vacation or group in Park City, Utah. The Park Avenue Condominiums adjoin to the cross country ski trail (which is the golf course during the summer months) and offer One to Four Bedroom condominiums. The complex is conveniently located just one-half mile (.804 kilometers) from the Park City Mountain Resort. The Park Avenue condominiums are conveniently located on Park City’s free city-wide transportation route and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and grocery stores. Amenities include an on-site check in desk, attached carport parking, outdoor heated pool, common area hot tubs and sauna. Many condominiums offer a private hot tub* and wireless access. Summer monthly rentals (many pet friendly) are available at the Park Avenue Condominiums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Hotel Park City
Park City Avenue
Park Avenue Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.