We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow mobiling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Recreation of Utah

Rocky Mountain Recreation of Utah
Park City, UT 84068
+1 435-645-7256
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recreational- Offering both Summer and Winter activities. Horseback Riding, Fly-fishing, Wagon Rides w/Dinner, Snowmobiling, Dog Sledding, Snow Shoeing and Sleigh Rides w/Dinner.
Decatur, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snow mobiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

An absolute must when visiting Utah. What a great time! An absolutely phenomenal view at 10000 ft of surrounding mountains. Clear blue sky and completely mesmerizing tranquility!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Summer activities at Rocky Mountain Recreation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Family and I tried out a horse trail ride, wagon ride and ranch dinner at RMR (these activities located at the Stillman Ranch just outside of Oakley) on a recent evening. Ranch is pretty small in comparison to a similiar excursion-ranch we visited in CO. But the trail guide was friendly, knowledgable and efficient. Had our horses ready to go in advance and provided a safe experience even for the inexperienced rider in the group. Trail was "ok" - not too terribly steep with pleasant views of valley. Rode a good 80-90 minutes during our scheduled 2-hour excursion - which is very good in comparison to other trail rides we've done. Arrived back just in time for the wagon ride/ranch dinner event. This half of the evening was a bit disappointing. First, the meal was held inside of the small ranch house. Our evening was a bit rainy but this is apparantly where all dinners are held as all the tables, chairs, cutlery, condiments, etc were all in there. Also - food was all precooked and just carried in prior to dinner time. Previous ranch dinner we tried was held outside around a bonfire with all meat cooked fresh while we watched. Stillman doesn't do it this way - so be warned. There was a nice gentleman with a guitar who provided dinner music but there were no activities to get guests mixing. That was disappointing too. Finally it was time for our wagon ride. Wagon is open air - so bring a jacket and/or rain cape. Wagon driver was friendly and interesting but wagon trail was boring - basically just around the Stillman property. The wagon ride took only about 20-25 minutes and we didn't see any interesting views or wildlife. After the ride we returned to the ranch house for coffee and dessert. The whole wagon ride/ranch dinner excursion only lasted about 90 minutes - a pretty short evening for those that had driven in from Salt Lake City. We were there longer due to the trail ride we did first. All in all, this was not as good as a similiar excursion we've done - although the ranch staff gets very high marks for friendliness and efficiency.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful trails and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We were out for the Sundance Film Fest and decided last minute to squeeze in a snow-mobile tour. We called a bunch of places and this place seemed to be better than others. We didn't have a car and they picked us up on Main Street. It was a guided snow-mobile trip along beautiful trails, stunning views... there was fresh snow-fall so everything looked beautiful! Though nervous at first, my friend and I each drove our own vehicle. Our guide (Skyler) explained the machines very thoroughly. We did a two hour tour. In addition to films, skiing, and celebrity parties, it was a highlight of our trip. We got a ride back to town, and discovered that our driver, Ed, is also the owner. Nice guy. I'd recommend this to anyone in the Park City area -- It was a great way to see the mountains, aspen tree forests, etc.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon, tn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Majestic views, friendly and accommodating staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Richard and the guys at R and R Recreation were fun, friendly and informative. We took our nine year old daughter for the two hour snowmobiling ride and lunch at 10,000 feet. We had a great day! Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Rocky Mt High at 9,800 '”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

If you are looking for an alternative to skiing, you might check out a snowmobile excursion. There are many companies to chose from in Park City, we picked this place at random. Good choice, Ed picked us up right on time for lovely 40 minute drive east of Park City to private ranch. Good assortment of helmets, boots and nice lodge to get ready in. Jose gave us a demo on how to drive the snowmobiles and led our party of 3 (each on our own snowmobile) up the mountain. Not a cloud in the sky and fresh snow. A bonus is this company grooms the trails, for a novice that was nice. Half way point of 2 hour trip is an ungroomed snow field where you can drive at your own pace and direction for about 15-20 minutes. This is followed by a rest stop at cabin for hot drinks by a wood fire, deep in the woods of the mountain top. Its a picture post card setting.
We all loved the experience except for a mechanical set back. One of the snowmobiles was having engine problems of some sort. We had to abandon the machine and the driver rode back on Jose's snowmobile. He did offer to ride and let my friend drive him. All in all we thought the scenery and hospitality made this a company worth recommending. If you are lucky, you might get to meet and greet the dog sled dogs when your get back off the mountain. Next time we visit the Stillman ranch we intend to try dog sledding.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Recreation of Utah also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Rocky Mountain Recreation of Utah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Recreation of Utah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.