We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Theater and Great Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Egyptian Theatre

The Egyptian Theatre
328 Main St, PO Box 3119, Park City, UT 84060
+1 435-649-9371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 74 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live perfomance events including theatre, comedy, concerts, youth theatre, dance, and film. Shows weekly.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theater and Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Our family saw "Fiddler on the Roof" in March and had a great time. What a nice break from our spring break ski trip. The show was sold out, so I was glad I had purchased tickets a couple of weeks before we went. It was a great local production and there is not a bad seat in the house. The theater is really charming. We will go back and see whatever is showing. It's that much fun.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    26
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Great Sundance Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

This is a Sundance-centric review only:

I've been attending the Sundance Film Festival in Park City for the last 12 years and the Egyptian is consistently one of my favorite venues! It just doesn't feel like Sundance until I have a midnight screening here! This is a cool old theater that has that cool old theater "smell," a gorgeous exterior facade, and creaky floorboards that add to the overall ambiance.

The movie screen is a good size for the space, the sound system is just right, and the seats are reasonably comfortable (the armrests are horrible, though). During the festival they sell beer, wine and liquor (!!) along with snacks (super nice after a long day of screenings and attending theaters where you can't take food or drinks inside)! The floor has a steep slant but that doesn't keep people's heads from blocking your view. Try to sit in the front row if you don't want to see heads throughout the movie.

Note that the restrooms are downstairs and require climbing a quite steep flight of stairs. Don't even think about trying to park here during the festival; take the free shuttle bus if possible or be willing to shell out at least $25 to park in the garage across the street.

My #1 most important tip if you are seeing a Sundance screening here is to dress in WARM LAYERS! You are required to line up in the alley at the side of the theater (which sometimes stretches out around the building and out in the elements). As such, this can get VERY COLD, even when it's not snowing. So please, dress appropriately!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old word charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Feels like the 40's with center stage, great sound and big screen. Cozy and comfortable and feels like a real "local" theatre with space for talks with film makers or musicians. Very cool

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Intimate setting and top-notch entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Saw the Subdudes last night, and had to write a review. Probably my 20th event at this venue, and it never disappoints. This cradle of the Sundance Film Festival brings great music, shows, and off-beat acts to Park City in a constant stream throughout the year. Randy Barton runs this place with style, grace and love, and it is very apparent why this town loves this place.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Always great shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Have dinner on Main, see a great show, have a few drinks and safely take the free bus back to your condo or hotel. Not many places like Park City, UT.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egyptian Theatre also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Egyptian Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Egyptian Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.