We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk like an Egyptian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Egyptian Theatre

The Egyptian Theatre
328 Main St, Park City, UT 84060
(323) 466-3456
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 31 attractions in Park City
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
“Walk like an Egyptian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

One of the best venues I've been to for music, theater, comedy, and just overall entertainment! Its within walking distance of the Torchlight Inn so I recommend it to my guests for a great evening out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Park City, UT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is a gem, not only historically, but in quality programming. The beauty of this theater is that there's not a bad seat in the house. I've been to a lot of theaters all over the world, sometimes seating is questionable. Not here - every seat feels like a center orchestra seat on Broadway and the "rake" is perfect. There are great programs too. Additionally, the pricing for show tickets varies and is really reasonable for everything.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Dancing, but Lack of Good Taste !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

"Thriller", by the Odyssey Dance Theatre was presented. We were prepared for a scary afternoon and the theatre was filled with lots of children. Although the dancers were wonderful, some of the material could not be considered entertainment. One number had a line of dancers, and a masked man with a gun came out on stage and began to shoot them, and continued until they were all "dead". Another number had a girl begin to sing, and again, a masked gunman shot her. It was terrible to witness and terrible to hear some of the audience laugh - although not many. In July 2012, 12 people were shot dead in a theatre in Colorado - for REAL. This can't possible be entertainment. Shame on you Egyptian Theatre. I expected better from you. WARNING: If you attend with children, call ahead to assess appropriate material.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peopleinpc, Public Relations Manager at The Egyptian Theatre, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your heartfelt review of Thriller, by Odyssey Dance Theatre, which was presented at the Egyptian Theatre on its annual tour throughout the state of Utah.

I am sorry you felt the material offensive and not entertaining. Much of what you referred to was meant to spoof classic horror films, adding a silly edge to the original premises with highly-skilled dancing. This is the fourth year Thriller has sold out every evening show at our theatre, and it performs to sold out audiences state-wide.

We strive to provide a variety of entertainment options on our small stage, and host various acts from comedy to concerts, theatre to dance, plus YouTheatre. Hopefully next time you are in town you will find a show more appropriate to your tastes.

I assure you, as the Marketing Director, Thriller was thoroughly advertised with a parental warning that the show "may not be appropriate for children under 7. Please use parental discretion for children under 12". That said, we know the audience is full of children who return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The ET is a very intimate theatre. There is not a bad seat in the house. They bring great shows and it's fun to be so close to the performers. I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice intimate Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a good place to see a show. The Theater is steeped in history as I learned from the Gourmand Tour I took. And the theater is quint and intimate enough to enjoy the show. Not a bad seat in the whole theater.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egyptian Theatre also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Egyptian Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Egyptian Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.