We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski-in-ski-out hotel at the Canyons Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great ski-in-ski-out hotel at the Canyons Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is a condo hotel, so you end up with big nice suites with a nice kitchen, of course if you take a 2-3 bedroom unit. Great friendly staff and great location, right at the chairlift. Nice restaurant and small marketplace shop and cafe for takeaway. Also has ski rental and a nice place to put your ski boots on and chill out, and to top that off, hot chocolate and chocolate chip cookies free after skiing, and yes hot and freshly baked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    73
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
116
99
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our family of four just spent one week here. We stayed in a standard room with two Queen beds on the fifth floor in the main building with a view of the slopes. It is very noisy at night with the snow cat grooming the trail and the constant beeping but we were so happy to see snow for the first time in our lives we didn't even care about the noise. The rooms are clean and neat. We had to constantly ask for an extra towel. They always gave us three instead of four. It was a convenience to find that we had a small fridge and microwave in the room with eating and drinking utensils. There were three hooks on the wall which was not enough to hang all of our coats, ski pants and all of our wet, damp clothes and shoes every day. So we tried using the hotels laundry but they use a third party off the property and we were left waiting for it for 2 days. (We heard some of the other hotels take your clothes to dry for you when you walk in the door). There is a complimentary shuttle around the Canyons resort to all the hotels and the 7-11 at the bottom of the hill. There is also a complimentary shuttle to Main Street every hour on the hour but you must remember to make a reservation if you plan to use it on a Friday or a Saturday night. The staff in the hotel are all friendly and we got the best advice from the concierge/valet boys out front, especially Jesse. (And also send a special thanks to Laura who works the breakfast shift in the dining room). The staff at the Aloha ski rentals were not at all interested in helping us every time we went there. They seem to be too young for this kind of work. Although we did not need to rent a car during our stay we did need a taxi from time to time. Definitely make sure to only use the hotel's recommended transport service Silver Mountain Transportation. We would definitely return to Hyatt Escala Lodge and would probably book a suite instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

They say they have "Ski in/ski out access via Sunrise chairlift (weather permitting) to 4,000 acres of diverse ski terrain within the Canyons Resort" but what they don't say is that the ski valet ski out location starts on a steep hill that requires all skiers to ski down a steep enough and icy hill (think morning conditions) and then take a none too easy bumoy path from the chair to the blue-ish hill that takes you to the gondola.
I am quite surprised the hotel does not mention this detail. There is a shuttle that will take you to the base of the mountain (where you then walk a small distance to the gondola) but that negates the convenience of the ski out feature.

Additionally: The people here are very nice but the hotel is weird. The furnishings remind me of a higher end old age home, the bedding is kind of gross (very decorative and slippery) and the maid service came at 4:30pm right as we came off the mountain. This for the price of a three bedroom suite.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was just at this resort for my annual "Guys Ski Trip" and was blown away by the property. It's only 30 minutes from the airport, an easy drive up and once you get there you don't need a car at all. The resort itself is located on the Canyons Resort which has plenty of shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance. They also offer a free shuttle to downtown Park City which is only 10 minutes away. As for the resort, we rented a 3 bedroom bi-level suite for 8 guys and thought it was the best resort we've stayed at for this type of trip. The rooms are all very large, flat screen tv, fire place, balcony overlooking the mountains. The suite we had offered a huge living room with two pull out leather sofas, dining room table for 8ppl, center island, WOLF range, subozero Frig and full washer and dryer. The bathrooms are great with separate tub and shower and everything was spotless. As for the amenities of the resort. WOW. Great ski in ski out valet service. Two hot tubs, one seats 37 ppl and is great for a good soak after a long day on the mountain. Separate steam and sauna in the locker rooms, great work out facility. The restaurant at the hotel is moderately priced and has great options. There is also an grab and go shop off the front lobby. We loved this resort and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a suite with a full kitchen if you can. Being able to make breakfast and snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Booked a ski trip from Feb 17-25 with my two sons. The property was on the slope and new. On our second night we requested towel robes which according to the hotel literature is available by request for the use of the spa facilities which is located across the courtyard. We were told none are available since the laundry is out of service. The same night we requested a roll away bed which they claimed they don't have, but they offered to set up an inflatable mattress for us. The mattress was never delivered, it was only after a call to the night manager whom by the way had no knowledge of the laundry being out if service, both the bath robes and the inflatable mattress was delivered by 11 PM. The next day room service left no soap, shampoo or towels, which prompted another call to the front desk. During our stay the steam bath in the SPA was broken and despite our repeated requests became operational only on our last night's stay. If you charge $20.00 a day resort fee, shouldn't the resort facilities be functioning properly? On our forth night no towels again, and we were told the same thing, about the laundry being out of service. At checkout when asked about my stay, I relayed my experience, all I was offered was a goat like expression. Nice building, incompetent management.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you have school-aged kids who can only travel during peak seasons, you know that skiing is expensive. Not just expensive - ruinously, eye-poppingly, I-could-have-spent-two-weeks-at-the-Four Seasons-for-less expensive. But my husband and I have ski-mad kids, and thus somehow we have managed to drop tens of thousands of dollars on numerous ski resorts in Utah and in northern California in the past five years. This is our first time at Escala and skiing the Canyons - we're still here, but I can already say it's now the top of our list because...

The rooms are new, clean and very nice.
The workers are extremely, and yet somehow also sincerely, helpful and nice (shout out to Desiree at the front desk).
You don't need to drive.
The convenience of ski-in/ski-out + ski valet is HUGE
We are here President's Day week, hotel is 95% occupied, yet it doesn't feel busy, or chaotic, or crowded (A FIRST!)
Did I mention it doesn't feel crowded?

Let's be clear - it isn't super duper, over-the-top fancy. But we didn't pay $1,500 a night either. Of all the ski places we've stayed in peak season -- the $250 a night dumps, the $1,000 a night infuriating ripoffs -- this one has been a great value.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The 1 bedroom king suite was very spacious with lots of upgrades (Wolf range, Subzero refrigerator, granite countertops, jacuzzi tub), except for the cheap under-counter lighting in the kitchen.

The king suite had one full bathroom and one half-bath. It also had two patios/balconies. One balcony was not to be used in winter time.

Minor snafu when we got there was that there was no soap in either bathroom, but they were promptly delivered after a phone call to front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#9 Business Hotel in Park City
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.