We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Ski Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Ski Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you have school-aged kids who can only travel during peak seasons, you know that skiing is expensive. Not just expensive - ruinously, eye-poppingly, I-could-have-spent-two-weeks-at-the-Four Seasons-for-less expensive. But my husband and I have ski-mad kids, and thus somehow we have managed to drop tens of thousands of dollars on numerous ski resorts in Utah and in northern California in the past five years. This is our first time at Escala and skiing the Canyons - we're still here, but I can already say it's now the top of our list because...

The rooms are new, clean and very nice.
The workers are extremely, and yet somehow also sincerely, helpful and nice (shout out to Desiree at the front desk).
You don't need to drive.
The convenience of ski-in/ski-out + ski valet is HUGE
We are here President's Day week, hotel is 95% occupied, yet it doesn't feel busy, or chaotic, or crowded (A FIRST!)
Did I mention it doesn't feel crowded?

Let's be clear - it isn't super duper, over-the-top fancy. But we didn't pay $1,500 a night either. Of all the ski places we've stayed in peak season -- the $250 a night dumps, the $1,000 a night infuriating ripoffs -- this one has been a great value.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    73
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
116
99
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The 1 bedroom king suite was very spacious with lots of upgrades (Wolf range, Subzero refrigerator, granite countertops, jacuzzi tub), except for the cheap under-counter lighting in the kitchen.

The king suite had one full bathroom and one half-bath. It also had two patios/balconies. One balcony was not to be used in winter time.

Minor snafu when we got there was that there was no soap in either bathroom, but they were promptly delivered after a phone call to front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good Location, that is if you have a car, because you don't have much within walking distance, we booked a 1 bedroom suite, the room was beautiful, huge, kitchen was very nice, we even had a winecooler :), dining room was perfect, but the only thing lacking was a sofa bed, our 2 kids slept in the couches, so that was not good at all, we should have booked the 2 bedroom suite.. Other than that, the hotel is very nice..

Room Tip: no sofa beds in 1 bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

People that have written negative reviews of this place are premadonnas who are way to rich and spoiled to be allowed to write reviews. This place is super nice. Full kitchens with top of the line everything. Beautiful rooms. Great staff. Location is perfect right next to the Sunrise lift so you can walk right out of the hotel and hop right on the slopes. Pool and hot tub area is very nice. Great for a couples getaway.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have to start off by saying we are Hyatt time share owners in Tahoe so I had certain expectations of this place, but unfortunately it fell short. First I want to commend the staff, they are professional and friendly and very helpful. It's the resort itself that is kind of, well, boring. lt is nicely appointed and visually appealing but they have a small nondescript lobby area that isn't the place you'd ever want to hang out (for the non-skiiers), there's no game room, no spa, only one restaurant/bar, no decent provisions (tiny market, not well stocked) but my biggest pet peeve is their transportation service. First, you have to make a reservation to ride the hotel shuttle to downtown park city (a 10 minute drive)!!! This seems ridiculous and it's always booked on the weekends. Second, the shuttle ONLY runs between 4 pm and 10pm so if you want to go into town to shop or go to a spa, you have to call a taxi (15 minute wait +$15 each way). It doesn't make sense to have a car here because there is NO parking available in downtown Park City anyway. They really should run the shuttle service all day and not just once per hour. Just run it all day in a continuous loop and let people hop on and off, not require a reservation. AND they need to have a car service that takes you 1/2 mile down the hill to the Canyons Resort area. Unfortunately, because of this we'll end up staying somewhere else on our next trip out here....and we're Hyatt loyalists.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the penthouse suite here two years ago and came back this year again. Place wasn't as clean. One bathroom the towel bar was sitting on the floor. My husband put it back up. One bar of soap per bathroom (sinks and shower). Cuisinart pan blew a rivet head off while cooking sounded like gunfire. Thank god didn't hit anyone. Someone had bend the pan handle causing them to lift up. Counter tops felt gritty, need to be resealed. One bathroom size basket for kitchen. Way too small for six people. Really loved it here the first time. Needs someone to vacuum under furniture once in awhile. Stacked ballroom chairs on the balcony. For the price should be perfect

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I just spent a week at this resort and had a great time. We were upgraded to a suite that had a full kitchen, nice sized living room with a fireplace, and a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The fitness room had good equipment, a steam room, and a sauna. There was a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi which we used every day after skiing. The location is terrific- ski in/ski out. Park City's buses are free and go everywhere. The staff, including the ski valets, is friendly and helpful. The resort's restaurant is very good, and the takeout menu is, too. We highly recommend this resort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#9 Business Hotel in Park City
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.