We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were there the last week of the season for a company meeting and had a very nice experience. The service was great, everyone smiled and said hello and offered service. Food and beverage service for our meeting was great, food seemed to satisfy the entire group. The staff was pretty helpful with meeting requests and helping our group feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    92
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
144
114
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I checked in to this property yesterday. While the facilities are nice, the lack of service and hospitality has been disappointing.

This morning, I stopped by the front desk to ask about suggestions for outdoor activities. The front desk representative then responded, saying there are no outdoor activity options, that they are between winter and summer seasons and everything is closed, that there are no trails for hiking open, and offered no suggestions at all. She also explained that their activity desk is closed for this period, so there isn't a concierge service that provides suggestions. She didn't offer to do any research online or call local activity booking companies. Also, there were no other guests present in the lobby or incoming phone calls, so it appeared that she had plenty of time to offer to look into suggestions.

I then spent ten minutes researching options online. I learned that there are snowshoeing tours available today through All Seasons Adventures company. There is also a nearby Rail Trail that would be good for hiking. She could have suggested other activities, such as perusing the art galleries and shops in downtown Park City, or a guided tour at Utah Olympic Park.

The drip coffee available for purchase in the lobby was very watery. Also, this morning, when I requested over the phone slippers and a sewing kit, I gave them my name and room number. Thirty minutes later, I walked down to the lobby to ask about it. They reviewed the log notes and saw my request, then asked if I was in the room number that had been jotted down, and confirmed that it was the correct room number- no explanation as to why the request wasn't followed up on. At that time, I also spoke with the manager Scott, providing him feedback about my earlier experience this morning asking for outdoor activity suggestions. I also explained I was able to find options (such as the snowshoeing tour) by just taking a little time to do research. He was unapologetic about the lack of help and service. After asking a few times, he agreed to look into options. Later, he called to mention that there is flyfishing available tomorrow morning, no free skating but an evening competitive skating event to spectate, and he recommended the Olympic Park tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were there for the last few days of ski season. So the hotel was quite empty, the restaurant was closed, and the staff was minimal. We ended up in suites that were beautiful.

While it is technically ski in, ski out, you do have to get over to the very end of Canyons to get to the hotel It's not Hyatt's fault... just how Canyons has been developed. Canyons requires a lot of transitioning.

Worked out well for us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here for spring skiing with my girlfriend in early April.

Room was very small and looked at a dirt wall and some chair lifts. It was hardly the nice view we were promised on the 800 reservation line. They upgraded us to a suite which is a time share which was very nice with a Jacuzzi tub...still didn't have much of a view, but the room was fantastic.

The food was pretty bad. Also, the pool is outdoors without a way to access it from the hotel so you freeze your rear off trying to get to it. Overall, this is a great option if you want to be steps from the lifts at Canyons, but the shuttle service provided by the hotel does not take you to any other resort or even to downtown park city. If you want to go downtown, plan on using your car a lot or there is an hourly shuttle service provided by the town.

Overall, this is one part time share and one part hotel. The service is mixed - some people are very nice and others totally disinterested. I think you get more for your money a mile or two down the road at Best Western or by paying a bit extra to be closer to downtown park city.

This is a great place to stay, but it's not a four star property...it's about 3.5 stars. Nicer than a Hampton inn in a good location, but definitely not as nice as a high end Marriott or other Hyatts.

Room Tip: We heard the sixth floor is nicest. If you want a view, avoid the lower floors that look at the cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Been here a few times and its a great place, the units are new and well maintained. The staff are very nice and super helpful. The only thing missing is a full spa but they do have call up services to come to your unit there. Great location and Pool too !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caracas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are used to a Hyatt experience this is definitely not one of them. There are several great things about this hotel that make them great and others incomprehensible for a "Hyatt" hotel.
On the good side the location is perfect absolutely "ski in ski out" with an almost dedicated lift for the hotel guests, rooms are spacious, well cleaned and maintained, but thats about it. The Hotel is short staffed, making the staff irritable and impolite, there is no room service after 10! but wait i called at 8:30 for room service and i was told that because they were short on staff they closed at 8, and when i told them to call the manager i was told the manager would be there next day at 9 am! LOL. The ski lockers and rental falls short on options and sizes. And breakfast has nothing to do with other Hyatt hotels, buffet is veeeeery limited in options nothing to do with a Hyatt experience. So my conclusion is, this hotel is almost as staying in a house by yourself, you shouldn't count on staff or amenities of any kind. Just stay in your spacious room, cook your meals in the room kitchen and go to ski.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from seven nights at the Escala. The hotel was amazing and exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the two bedroom suite which was very luxurious with a well stocked kitchen and very spacious. The service was exceptional throughout our entire stay. The second floor ski rentals shop is literally right on the trail. Having the rentals on-site was very convenient, and the expert staff were very accomodating. For apres-ski, the pool, three whirlpools, spa, sauna, bar, restaurant and fire pit are all right at the hotel and were all five star plus quality. Having seen some of the other accomodations at the Canyons, I believe Escala is by far the best. We are looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.