We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice resort spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I just returned from a meeting at the Hyatt Escala Lodge. Several in our group went skiing after the meeting. It is a very nice property, beautiful setting in the Canyons area. I recommend this property. Many in my group loved the ski in ski out feature.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room. I was surprised that it was a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    70
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
112
87
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The resort was beautifully appointed, the location was fabulous and the staff was excellent. My husband and I actually extended our stay there because we were having such a great time. We skied every day and then visited nearby Park City for dinner each evening. I would highly recommend this hotel and entire area to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On its face, the Hyatt Escala Lodge is a very good looking hotel. It looks like every other hotel on any U.S. ski mountain. Upon arrival (at the 4 PM check-in time), our room was not ready. We waited approximately 30 minutes for our room to be ready and were only then notified that we had a room because we approached the desk and asked. The front desk was extremely short-staffed. We were provided with a 25 percent discount at the hotel restaurant for our wait.

The room itself was pretty nice. My husband and I were upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite, which was much more than we needed, and quite a large room. However, the details were not up to par. The pictures on the wall were hanging in every different direction. The bathroom was short towels. The coverlet was not placed correctly on the bed in either bedroom. There were layers of dust on all of the upper light fixtures. This actually goes to the larger problem at the hotel. Housekeeping was below average. We returned from a day of skiing to find the bed had been haphazardly made up. Towels that were left on the floor were removed, but not replaced. The room did not appear to be vacuumed. The garbages were also unlined, so when emptied, they still did not appear clean.

We went to the hot tub once, but many of the jets were not working. There was also no convenient place to hang our robes close by, to minimize the time freezing outside.

The restaurant at the hotel is excellent. It was the best staff we encountered at the hotel. The s'mores dessert was delicious.

As for the ski valet, it is simply a place to store your skis overnight. They do not have the facilities to heat your boots overnight or wax your skis on-site. There is limited seating and not a convenient place to put ski boots on in the "valet" room. You are very much on your own, as you would be if you rented a condo for the week.

Finally, I would consider the ski run from the hotel to the chair lift to be an intermediate slope. This is not for beginners. It was not an easy run to return to the hotel after a day of skiing.

Room Tip: Rooms along the mountain are noisy because of the morning groomers and the bells for the start of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Family and I loved the place . we went skiing every day and end the day at the pool. Room was very clean and the staff was ready to met our needs. The pool great, but odd on the key system , if no towels look in the gym. Food in the in the restaurant is high but quality is good. go to downtown park city for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a Hyatt Platinum member, I have stayed at my share of Hyatt Hotels and this was by far the worst. The hotel was severely understaffed: after being out of the room skiing for 6 hours a day, we routinely returned to a room that was not cleaned. There was not a single day we were able to enjoy a clean shower after a full day of skiing. There were never enough valets- we called for a pick up at the base of the mountain several days, and nobody ever showed up. (Luckily, the Waldorf Hotel was nice enough to drive us back.) And, inevitably, the bell hop or two on-duty were helping with luggage so they could not retrieve our car. The only bright spot was the ski valets, who were helpful-especially Matt Bost. He was on top of things and recommended the best skiing for our family. Unfortunately, the trail back to the hotel was under construction so you could ski out-but not really get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Beyond that, the decor was nothing special and the room was so hot and dry, we were up all night. Would recommend Deer Valley if you are headed to Park City. We were surprisingly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family stayed a week at Escala for mid winter break. There didn't seem to be enough staff (valet, housekeeping, dining room). Room was not ready on arrival. Also had to ask for room to be cleaned each day. No towels at pool, ran out of robes, very few items in the "convenience store". Front desk staff was indifferent. Be prepared to pay Taxi $20 for one way to town (Park City). Shuttle service was not reliable - even with reservations. Accomodations are lovely, ski in/out from hotel is great, food in restaurant good, but overpriced for the lack of service. Canyons is a nice ski resort - but doesn't have much of a "vibe" - overall we were disappointed for how much money we spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a fabulous suite, fireplaces in every room. Cozy and comfortable with Elegant touches. The staff was helpful - especially the front desk and ski valet- put our skis on the snow - service with a smile! I would come back in the summer too- Park City is a great year around destination.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar- stayed there 4 times and have always had a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#9 Business Hotel in Park City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#14 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.