We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skeleton Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Skeleton Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a Hyatt Platinum member, I have stayed at my share of Hyatt Hotels and this was by far the worst. The hotel was severely understaffed: after being out of the room skiing for 6 hours a day, we routinely returned to a room that was not cleaned. There was not a single day we were able to enjoy a clean shower after a full day of skiing. There were never enough valets- we called for a pick up at the base of the mountain several days, and nobody ever showed up. (Luckily, the Waldorf Hotel was nice enough to drive us back.) And, inevitably, the bell hop or two on-duty were helping with luggage so they could not retrieve our car. The only bright spot was the ski valets, who were helpful-especially Matt Bost. He was on top of things and recommended the best skiing for our family. Unfortunately, the trail back to the hotel was under construction so you could ski out-but not really get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Beyond that, the decor was nothing special and the room was so hot and dry, we were up all night. Would recommend Deer Valley if you are headed to Park City. We were surprisingly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    70
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
112
87
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family stayed a week at Escala for mid winter break. There didn't seem to be enough staff (valet, housekeeping, dining room). Room was not ready on arrival. Also had to ask for room to be cleaned each day. No towels at pool, ran out of robes, very few items in the "convenience store". Front desk staff was indifferent. Be prepared to pay Taxi $20 for one way to town (Park City). Shuttle service was not reliable - even with reservations. Accomodations are lovely, ski in/out from hotel is great, food in restaurant good, but overpriced for the lack of service. Canyons is a nice ski resort - but doesn't have much of a "vibe" - overall we were disappointed for how much money we spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a fabulous suite, fireplaces in every room. Cozy and comfortable with Elegant touches. The staff was helpful - especially the front desk and ski valet- put our skis on the snow - service with a smile! I would come back in the summer too- Park City is a great year around destination.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar- stayed there 4 times and have always had a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Last year, I enjoyed this resort with a friend so I decided to book our January family ski trip here. We stayed in a 2 BR unit and the 5 of us loved it. Hyatt provided a rollaway bed for our 3rd child and the unit had 3 full baths. Like many of the reviews indicate, this place is a fantastic place or your Canyons ski vacation. My wife and I have been to about 8 major ski destinations in US and Canada, and we both decided that the Canyons was our favorite. We enjoyed the restaurant as well. It has a great breakfast buffet (and made to order items) and a nice menu and bar area in the evening.
Anyway, needless to say, would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I shopped for months for a place to stay in Park City that was comfortable, upscale, but also affordable. It seemed like Park City had two types of hotels: extremely expensive resorts (700-1000/night) and no-frills hotels (100-300/night). I was hoping for something in the middle - a resort with amenities, but which had a good value for the price. I found this with Hyatt Escala.

We reserved the "Deluxe King" room. The photos on their reservation website leave a lot to be desired - it's very difficult to judge the size/layout of the rooms from these photos - but we took the plunge. The room did not include robes (as it said on the amenities), but it did include a private balcony (which would be an excellent amenity in the warmer months, but we did not use it). Overall, the room was not quite as large as I would have hoped or imagined (based on the photos), but it was sufficient.

The bathroom was very clean and well-appointed. Was very pleased with this. The only thing that could have been improved was (again) photos and more specifics on each room type with whether it was an oversized or jetted tub. Ours ended up being oversized, but not jetted, which was a bit of a disappointment, but not a problem. Just need better communication on this.

The staff was great. The valet welcomed us as we pulled in and informed us that valet was free with our stay. We didn't have cash to tip for the first day, but they didn't seem to mind (we took care of them the second day). They took care of us anyway. The check-in staff and restaurant staff was efficient and friendly. No problems on checkin or checkout. I also appreciated they could email me my receipt - very green!

We did not ski, so we can't comment on those amenities. The hotel was close enough to park city that we could do everything we wanted to via our rental car. It would have been harder had we needed to rely on shuttles or not had a car.

My only complaint was on the room service. We ordered breakfast (part of our room package) and it took 45 minutes and was cold when it got there. The next day we decided to just go down to the restaurant, and it turns out they had everything we ordered in their all-morning breakfast buffet. I don't understand why they couldn't just take it hot off of the buffet and run it directly up to the room.

Room Tip: If you're worried about specific amenities, I'd recommend calling to confirm before reservin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Made a last minute reservation to attend a mid-winter meeting. Heard that the staff may not have been as friendly as could be. What a lie. Everyone from the valets to the management greeted us several times a day, always asking if they could help make our stay more pleasant. Loved the decor of the rooms and the in-room fireplaces. Cozy. Ski out directly from the second level ski valet in the hotel. Easy access.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the slope so if you are a light sleeper... forego the view of the slopes and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Talk about exceeding expectation! Although I had heard several very positive comments from friends, my wife and I were blown away by the beauty, convenience and world-class service of this jewel of a boutique hotel.

We stayed at a 2nd floor suite that had two fire places, big flat screen TVs, a washer/dryer, a dish washer and sub zero refrigerator, all surrounded by elegant Western decor. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath tub and a spacious walk-in marble shower with dual shower heads, sit down ledge and name brand soap, shampoo, etc, etc.

The ski concierge on the second floor provides for the most convenient and luxurious ski-in and ski-out anywhere; the employees wouldn't let you touch anything - they have your equipment ready in the morning, boots warmed up and skis waxed and do everything except lift you up and sit you in the chairlift!

Valet parking, wi-fi, outdoor pool and jucuzzi is all included in a nominal and very reasonable resort fee. You can buy your lift tickets right in the lobby, and transportation to Park City, other resorts in the area, as well as all Canyon hotels and restaurants is free of charge and available until late at night.

Breakfast, besides room service, is available at the EPC, a convenient counter in the main lobby, with fresh and delicious pastries, juices, etc, etc.

And then there is the Restaurant, a breathtaking dining room overlooking the Utah mountains. We had a most memorable dinner there, with food to match any New York City eatery. I highly recommend the three layered trout, a truly unique and beautifully presented dish. The service was impeccable and friendly. Prices are very reasonable.

Having experienced the hotel in winter, we can't wait to return during summer to do some hot air balooning during the Sundance Festival, while watching Hollywood celebrities hanging out at the Hyatt.

We used to stay at the Stein Erickson resort for many years, but we have found our new favorite to be a better value, with its employees more enthusiastic and eager to please.

Bravo Hyatt Escala!

Room Tip: Second floor suite in the Uintas tower provide best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#11 Business Hotel in Park City
#15 Family Hotel in Park City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.