We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Convenience and Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Exceptional Convenience and Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend during the busy Christmas to New Year's period and loved it. The service started immediately when our airport shuttle mistakenly dropped us off at the Canyon's Grand Summit instead of the Escala. We called the front desk at 11pm and they sent the private hotel SUV to pick us up within 10 minutes - complimentary.

All the facilities at this hotel are immaculate and very modern. Starting with the fire pits outside the entrance to the modern lobby and bathrooms. Even though we were here during a busy period, the elevators were never crowded and we rarely saw other people in the elevators. Definitely a nice secluded feel with staff always there when you need them.

The ski valet is located on the second floor of the main building and even has a ski rental shop built in. All we had to do was take the elevator down one floor to change into our ski boots and we walked right out to the slopes where our skis were waiting. It's a short ski down a semi-private hill to the Sunrise lift and you're at Canyons! Truly ski-in, ski-out. Lift passes for Canyons could also be purchased right in the lobby.

Throughout our stay the ski valet was on point, bringing skis out to the car on the day we went to Alta. Rooms were very well appointed and spotless. Service was generally excellent all around and the restaurant served great food with excellent service. We had one issue with our food one day and it was very professionally resolved by the waitress -- again, the kind of service we would expect from the Hyatt brand.

This resort is also close to all the bars and restaurants located at the Canyons resort. Just a 5-minute walk across the parking lot. There is also a free shuttle leaving every hour to Main Street for those who want to visit downtown park city.

Overall an excellent and relaxing experience. We're definitely coming back next year.

Room Tip: Privately owned units may be more reasonable than rooms booked through the hotel itself, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    89
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
135
111
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been coming to the Canyons for half a dozen years. Two stays at the Grand Summitt and one at the Sundial, one at the Waldorf (great) and one at they Hyatt Escala plus some condos. The facility is newer and somewhat nicer but the following are a list of things we didn't like:
1. the kitchens in the suite are not stocked well. You get some very basic things like cereal bowls and plates but if you want to actually prepare food there are no mixing bowls ect..so its basically impossible.
2. the maid service didnt come until after 5pm on most days of our stay
3. we called for a replacement humidifier over and over again and it never came despite comments like "it will be right up" or "as soon as people checkout we will have it to your room"..but it never came.
4. if you want a late checkout (just 1 hr more) they will charge you a 1/2 day, even if the hotel has plenty of room (and like I said the maid isnt coming until after 5pm anyway)
5. the room service waiter made a point to tell us the 22% room service charge was not the gratuity and that an extra 20% was customary.

I dont write reviews but this place is just not what the reviews say it is. If you want value stay at the Sundial if you want great service stay at the Waldorf. The Hyatt Escala is poor service at high prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year's. Great overall experience, lovely staff and fresh, clean rooms.

Big props to the on-site ski valet and rental office. They did a great job with the skis and the service was above and beyond -- they help you take off your boots and at the end of the day serve cookies!

The restaurant was pretty good -- had one issue with a meal which they ended up comping so I appreciate the acknowledgement of a less than perfect experience.

Access to the slopes was probably the main selling point, you ski down to a semi-private lift which takes you up to join the trails at the Canyon's Resort. Canyon's is huge and we ended up skiing there for three days without getting bored.

Overall, looking forward to returning to the Escala next year!

Room Tip: Rent a condo within the hotel and get a much better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We try to stay at the finest resorts when we ski. Since the Waldorf had a 7 day minimum we diecided on the Hyatt Escala. The room was amazing. The location was excellent. Trur ski in and ski out to the Sunrise Lift which opens at 8:45. Excellentr and friendly staff and good food service. There is a nice hot tub and pool. It is just missing a full service spa. However, the staff got me an in room massage that was excellent with just 1 hour notice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our room was breathtaking, and the staff were warm, welcoming and at the same time very professional. The Hyatt has managed the perfect combination of luxury and coziness at the Escala . Our stay was incredibly, peaceful and soothing. The perfect place to reunite with my son who just returned from active duty in Afghanistan.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the third floor, equipped with a gourmet kitchen, washer and dryer and two balconies. If the pictures on the web site impress you. You wont be disappointed because the hotel is even better in person. Our views were incredible. We loved sitting in front of the fire place warm and snug watching the snow fall outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I just had our second weekend getaway here which is now an annual thing. The reason why we like it so much is not just because of the beautiful rooms and elgant and warm atmosphere, but also because of the staff. From arrival at the front door to our departure there is always someone greeting us with a smile and asking us if we need something. We even decided we wanted to snow mobile at the last minute and the concierge took care of us right away and we had a wonderful time. The Hyatt Escala is a wonderful place to stay whether just to hide away in your room, spend the day on the slopes or go for an elegant dinner. We highly reccommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed staying there. We are a little on the picky side so I will state the pros and cons of our visit. We arrived there and most of the time we could not check-in until 4 pm, but because we are platinum members we could have had an early check-in by 3. However, because they weren't so busy they allowed us to check in before 1 pm. Much appreciated. They had valet parking that was very helpful in getting our luggage to room and assisting us when we needed it. The staff was were very approachable and accommodating. They answered any questions we had about ski rentals, snow conditions and things to look for around the hotel. We had an extremely pleasant time interacting with them. As for the room it was quaint and cozy, with a fireplace and large king bed. Everything was nice and clean. On the other hand there was no proper sitting area so the only place to sit was on the bed as there only one chair. We also happened to be in the room that was on the other side of the furnace! So all night we heard the furnace cycling. Not so great room. We even had some noisy neighbors would would come back from a night of debauchery and were so loud that we had to call the Front Desk, they handled the matter promptly. All in all we had a great time and we would go back... Just not to the same room. Room 338C... Don't forget.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#10 Business Hotel in Park City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.