We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Escala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“We loved Escala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked a last minute trip - decision to stay here was based a lot on cashing in some points, ratings and then a reasonable rate for the other nights. We thought about moving after one night to be closer to park city, but the great AAA rate which includes cooked to order breakfast lured us in and will definitely lure us back again. It was our first time to Park City so we took a chance by not being close but we were so glad we stayed at Escala Lodge our entire trip.

The lodge is beautiful. Lighted trees for the holidays inside and out, christmas music in lobby - very nice. The "courtesy" transportation around the resort did the trick for us - yes they charge a resort fee, so we put it to use. We had them book our transporation to/from aiport, used them several times around resort and taking us to the free park city bus. That is definitely a perk, over places we have stayed in CO. We loved not having to drive in snow and unfamiliar territory.

We also used All Seasons Adventures in the lobby concierge for activities - both excursions were fantastic.

We did not ski but enjoyed the gondola ride at Canyons to see the views. Kind of expensive at $15, but a good way to see the area since all lifts you have to ski. We also saw some people zip lining up there - looked cool.

The hotel lobby staff were very pleasant and helpful.

We used the 2 jacuzzi/spas on several occassions and having the heavy robes was perfect. The tub in the room was ideal for winding down as well and I hardly ever take a bath in a hotel.

Granite counters were a nice touch, along with the counter for quiet fridge and coffee. I normally unplug refridgerators in rooms, since they are noisy but this one is top of the line.

Shower had plenty of pressure and was nice and hot pretty quickly, although small it was nice. The bed was really comfortable. Flat wall mounted TV was nice to have but not crisp on channels.

We ate at the market multiple times since that is where we had to get our free breakfast but also ate lunch a couple times in between activities. They offer the best italian coffee - so glad they didn't do the usual. Breakfast was wonderful until the last day at the market. Our food was not as good as the first two. Inconsistent preparation of the exact same meal between two different chefs. They did try to correct our issues which also included issues with the counter staff - charged $5 too much for one meal (computer price was wrong), being charged for coffee twice and then breakfast we had to send back. Obviously an off day. Both lunches were great - trout sandwich (although bread could be thinner) and organic chicken panini.

We did eat at Escala Provisions the last night since it had just opened (seasonal) - we didn't intend to, since we thought we may try another place nearby, but we smelled the wonderful food being served nearby us when we were having some wine and that got us hooked. It was a really good meal - scallops were a palate pleaser.


A few minor notes:

We spent a lot of time in the lobby, both to eat and to wait on transportation - they need more tables in the market (only 2) so had to eat at the couch one day. I can't imagine only having two table in the peak season - we were there when hotel was low on occupancy prior to the holiday so also did not notice any thin walls mentioned in other reviews since we felt very alone.

It is a shame that the couches in the lobby are just for looks. You cannot lean back and relax by the fire, you have to sit up - too wide. Would be great reading, extra eating and waiting area.

Curtains in room are great - very dark and a nice material, but no option for sheer ones behind those to let light in while you change and not have others see you across resort so ended up using more electricity by using every light we could.

Fireplace was a very nice addition but note in king room you cannot see it. Beds are high and it is just in front of the bed. Did help to wam up room and a couple wet clothes when needed quickly.

There is only one chair in room and no luggage racks even though there is room. Bed is too high to put on snow clothes so you have to wait for the other person to use the one small chair to then get boots, socks, etc on.

Again, minor things they can strive to correct if desired, but we would definitely go back. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    71
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
112
89
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited Escala Lodge on a quick weekend trip with my husband. It was our first trip to Park City and everything was perfect. The lodge was beautiful and inviting and the staff was beyond helpful. In particular, Nicole at the front desk and Tyler at the valet service were wonderful. They both went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. We are looking forward to finding time to get back to the lodge ASAP! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful views of the snow-covered valley on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Friendly Staff, Great Location, beautiful Rooms, this hotel is outstanding. I highly suggest anyone going to Park City to stay here. The Staff is very attentive and very friendly. Everything you need is right there, ski rentals, ski in and ski out, a great excursions desk.

Outstanding service and Hotel, Well Done! One of the very best Hyatts i have stayed at!!!

Room Tip: Every Room is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First of all, the name of this place is the Hyatt Escala LODGE, not the Hyatt Escala Resort, or the Hyatt Escala Hotel. It's a very nice place, but it's more of a condo timeshare than a full service hotel. So don't expect lots of restaurant choices or room service. Aside from that, it is a very nice property, and located within short driving distance to historic Park City and also to the Redstone shopping area and outlet mall. We had a standard room, which consisted of a king size bed, fireplace, flat screen TV, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker. Nice bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. We did not use the pool or hottub due to drizzly November weather, but I could see myself sitting out there in the wintertime, with the snow slowly drifting downward. Front Desk service was A+--they were super accomodating. We kept our rental car in the enclosed garage, and just had to call the valet to retrieve it for us. Parking was free. NOTE: You may need to call the hotel for exact directions on how to get there--they said most GPS units (our included) did not recognize the address we put in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I understand Hyatt just picked this property up about a year ago, and so I will give them a little slack, but how can there be no room service??? Let me repeat that - there's no room service. To make matters worse, there is only one restaurant unless you walk down the hill to the other lodges. About that walk down the hill... how can there be no sidewalk??? I really didn't enjoy having to dodge cars to get down to the shops and ski area. That's not really safe for adults, much less for my 4 year old who doesn't think to turn around and check every 2 seconds to see if cars are coming.

Now that I got that off my chest, let me say that the room we stayed in was very nice and very reasonably priced. However, the screaming kids at the pool kept us up until well past midnight on the first night. The pool noise wasn't as bad on the other nights but was still a bit of a nuisance at times. The ski-in/ski-out feature was not operating, due to weather, so it wasn't the hotel's fault. But again, that required us to travel back down the hill and through the dodgecar game to get to the lifts that were in operation.

The location sucks in my opinion because you need a car to get to food, shops and anything other than skiing in the Canyons. Going to Park City requires a trip in the house car down to the parking lot of the 7-11 where a city bus eventually picks you up and brings you to town. Then, when you return, you have to call the hotel to come pick you up at the 7-11 again. This is no way to travel. Definitely rent a car if you do stay here so that you can go eat at restaurants when you want without having to wait outside in the freezing cold for a bus.

My overall impression is that this could be a really awesome place but that it just needs a lot of work to get there. Hopefully Hyatt can make some magic happen. But until they do, we'll be staying in Deer Valley. If I did stay at the Canyons again, it would be at the hotel (can't remember the name but I think it was the Sundial Lodge) because it's right next to the ski shops, restaurants, and the gondola.

Room Tip: Choose a suite but make sure it's not near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the end of November. Nothing but good things to say about the property itself. It is a beautiful building in a great location, but the customer service was not up to Hyatt standards. We checked in late afternoon and as soon as we entered the room saw that there was a man standing on a ladder staring in the window at us. He then proceeded to hammer and saw on the roof above our fourth floor room until we called to complain. Next we ordered a crib for our daughter and it took two phone calls and over two hours to deliver to the room. Also for our whole stay there was only one valet working so when you arrived back at the hotel you had to leave your car unattended with the keys in it to go track someone down to park your car. Overall it was not one big thing, but a whole bunch of small nuisances that added up to a mediocre experience. All of the people working there were very friendly and helpful, it was just that they seemed very understaffed. We also stayed at the Waldorf Astoria down the street and had a wonderful experience so I would recommend that as an alternative.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in the 3 bedroom end unit. The huge wrap around deck was pretty amazing. The main lift for the mountain was just below us. It was a beautiful hotel both inside and out. The rooms and kitchens and bathrooms were nice. Probably one of the nicest hotel rooms our family has ever stayed in. My only complaint was that the pool was a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#10 Business Hotel in Park City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.