We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent service and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #13 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
Cottonwood Heights
2 reviews
“Excelent service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I can't say enough of this Hotel, not to mention the restaurant. The best service ever! Great food I just love the atmosphere.They had a siger that plyed the piano, it made our night even better. You have to try it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    71
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
112
88
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night at the Hyatt and had a great time. The hotel is beautiful on the outside and inside. Spacious room and bathroom, cozy fireplace and a nice pool area. The one downside to the pool was the inability to use the smaller of the two hottubs because of the children jumping from it to the pool and throwing the pool water at their family in the hottub. All the staff we interacted with were friendly, and for the most part, helpful. Had a good, but pricy, breakfast in the resturant.
We walked to the Zip Tour and had an incredible experience. Well worth the $85/each price tag. There was also a Friday night concert and BBQ less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Bottom line
The place suffers the park city and corporate curse. Service is mediocre (they simply don't have a large enough population to get good employees like other resort towns). And the resort fee is not only a low blow, but makes the place feel like it's a corporate hotel looking to nickle and dime you, not a beautiful hotel looking to serve you. Hyatt, raise your prices by $20 and skip the silly resort fee. Time to be classy, not treat folks like the airlines do.

If you're skiing the canyons and want a very pretty hotel, this is the place. But it feels like a kid in a tuxedo. It may be trying to look world class, and the threads may be expensive, but you're not quite there yet.

The good:
The room we stayed in, single King, floor 6 (top) was gorgeous. Vaulted ceiling, giant (non-jetted) tub, separate shower, classy little kitchenette and balcony.
The location is as pretty as can be.
Perfect place to stay if you are skiing the canyons.
Slightly removed from the rest of Park City (good and bad)

The bad:
Valet service is included in the $20 non-optional resort fee (Infuriating. If it's a non-optional fee it should be in the booking price. It's a sneaky way to charge you more on check-in. Doesn't allow you to fairly shop hotel prices). But the valet were distracted and appeared bored. (also, do you tip the valet when they charge a resort fee? I did. But it raises questions, if the hotel charges for service, do we pay again for it?)

Check-in: Had to get my keys twice. They simply didn't work the first time. The first person to check us in was chipper, the person who did our second round of keys was a pill.

Bell-hop: We were offered help with our bags by the front desk, but the bell hop never came, and we checked in and hauled our bags twice.

Despite there being an ice-bucket in the room there's no publicly available ice machines. A nice young man did bring us up a bag.

Video of room: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yG0UyAKfMI0&feature=plcp

Room Tip: As for a room with a view. If you can, get floor 6, they have vaulted ceilings. You can frequently g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hyatt Escala Lodge, and were upgraded to a corner room with a view and a fireplace. With the temperature in the high 90s, we did not need the fireplace, but it added a nice touch to the room. The hotel is beautifully appointed, much in keeping with the style of the area -- sort of Swiss chalet-ey. The elevation at Park City is nearly 7,000 feet, not high enough to give you altitude sickness, but you may experience some difficulty breathing. The best part was breakfast in the hotel restaurant -- EPC (Escala Provisions Company) -- a somewhat clumsy name, but the food is excellent, and the best part was our server, Amy, who was so friendly and helpful, as well as a good server. She told us how to get to the Olympic Village (it's not far) and made us feel so welcome. This is a beautiful, well-maintained, comfortable lodge, and I can't imagine how gorgeous it is in the winter all covered in snow. Go. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Mountain views require an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family decided to take a quick getaway up to Park City this past weekend. We have stayed at a few different hotels over the years and decided to try the Hyatt Escala mostly because we had stayed at another Hyatt in Scottsdale that was incredible so we thought we couldn't go wrong. Let me just say from the moment we pulled up to the front of the Hyatt to the unlocking of the door of our room, my whole family gasped with amazement! It was a beautiful!!! We wanted enough room for the 5 kids that were with us so we decided to get a loft suite on the upper level. This was by far the coolest room that I have ever stayed in!!! We couldn't believe how roomy and how gorgeous everything was. Full kitchen, huge bedroom and enormous master bathroom, 2 private decks and the living room had 2 leather sofa sleepers and the loft had one sofa sleeper so we had room for everyone, and then some! We loved the room so much that we decided to cook most of our meals in the room just so we could spend more time in it! Pools, hot tub, steam room and sauna were awesome! Loved every minute we had there and will come back the first chance we get! Thanks Hyatt!!!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the upper level so you can have a great view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 5 ( I, my wife, and 3 kids ages 10, 8, and 4) spent 6 nights at this property. It was our first time in Park City during summer, and we really enjoyed it. We like active vacations, and there was certainly no shortage of activities between Canyons, Park City, and other close-by areas.

As for the property, we had a one bedroom suite which was a good size. it had a good-size kitchen which helped us cook some dinners and make snacks for the kids. Large size bathroom had a shower and a hot tub. We had some small issues with the room which was attended to immediately by the staff.

The property has a very interesting setup for their restaurant/coffee shop/store which helped us purchase breakfast items, coffee, and snacks and take it back to the room. We ate at the restaurant one night: the food was very good, and the price was ok, but the service - although very friendly - was slow.

The pool/gym areas are really nice and clean. Good size pool and two large hot tubs helped us relax and get the dust off after a day full of activities. I didn't use the steam-room & Sauna - so can't comment.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and provided good recommendations for activities and restaurants.

Hotel's location is walking distance to the village at Canyons (ski-in/out during winter, it seems), and 10-15 mins from main street in Park City.

The best testimonial came from my 4-year old when we got home: 'When can we go back to our hotel in Utah?"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A great August weekend. Wonderful clean room, friendly staff, extremely accommodating. Our suite was huge and beautifully decorated. Early coffee & fresh baked goods in the main lodge. Easy to find and valet parking is included which makes it even easier. Winter is the busy season but summer should not be missed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#11 Business Hotel in Park City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.