We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, but still a bit uneven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City to your Saves list
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Luxurious, but still a bit uneven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Great location at the Canyons. Top notch facility. Great front desk - concierge -really top notch. But room care was spotty. Uneven. Minor aspects only. NO RESTAURANT. This resort area on the mountain feels still in development. Ski out is easy fantastic. Ski in (back) is circuitous and odd. Not a huge fan of the Canyons (groom blue skill level).

Room Tip: Best rate was through Hyatt pre-paid non-cancel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    73
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
116
99
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My wife and I and our two daughters recently spent 8 nights at the Escala Lodge. We were greeted by friendly staff and led to our fantastic room (two fireplaces, great modern kitchen with all amenities, two balconies, two beautiful bathrooms, etc.).

With lift tickets available at the front desk, it was off to the second floor ski valet to put on the skis and head out for day after day of great skiing at the never-ending Canyons. At the end of the day, the outdoor pool and hot tubs awaited.

The only missing link - which I understand is coming soon - is a restaurant on site. With that in place, this place will be unbeatable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The hotel was great. We never had any problems so the stay was very relaxing. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with recommending places to dine in Park City. True ski in/ski out with ski valet right next to the Sunrise lift. Our one bedroom suite was fully furnished with top of the line appliances and it was nice to have a washer/dryer. The only negative thing was the poorly lit bedroom. The hot tubs were great for a soak after a long day of skiing and never crowded.

The town of Park City was great also, just a five minute ride. Many options for food and drinks.

I would definitely stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

How refreshing. A friendly and helpful staff. The smell of fresh cookies when you walk in the front door on a cold day.

We knew that the restaurant was not open yet when we booked our stay. There are several right across the street. There is a cafe inside the hotel with coffee, soft drinks and baked goods.

Park City is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

There were so many things that made our visit a happy memory…the excellent and service oriented staff, convenient ski rental and valet, quality appliances and room décor, 38 person hot tub, and freshly baked cookies…just to name a few. 

We look forward to visiting again soon and will definitely recommend the Escala Lodge to our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is not of Hyatt standard. When we arrived we were shocked to find they had no room service or restaurant. We went for a weekend of rest and relaxation not to cook! The services is very spotty. the night manager is trying his best but they don't answer the phones timely. when you call them for pick up after skiing they don't arrive so the Canyons van has to take you back. The rooms are very nicely decorated but overall we were VERY disappointed and I would NEVER go back. It is totally overpriced for what they offer (or rather what they don't) and I highly recommend booking in to the Waldrof if you want to stay in the Canyons. Same price and far superior service and a fabulous restaurant and spa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattEscalaLodge, General Manager at Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Valued Customer,

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory. Since taking over management of the Escala Lodge in December, we have continued our efforts to make improvements to the hotel and our level of service. Our hope is that every one of our guests leaves having had an exceptional experience.

We apologize if there was some misunderstanding regarding the food and beverage options available at our hotel. We are currently in the process of adding a restaurant and room service this summer, so we have this information noted on our hotel website. Since this was not clearly communicated to you, I assure you we will follow up on this issue.

Hyatt prides itself on delivering exceptional service to every one of our guests, and we appreciate your candid feedback to help us to improve this service. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to show you the true Hyatt experience.

Claudia Wattenberg
General Manager
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Hyatt Escala is a place I would recommend to a couple or family wanting all the comforts of home and more. Our experience was positive from our checkin to our deprature. The hotel staff was accomodating and friendly, the rooms were clean and they spared no expensive on furnishings including high end kitchen appliances in our one bedroom suite, and it was quiet. Boardering the chari lift made it a convenient place to ski in the Canyons. The only poetential drawback is no real food service, but the suites are equipped with great kitchens and you are only a few minutes from Park City where the food is decadent. The hotel also has a shuttle that will take you into town. Consider this property when you make plans to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City

Address: 3551 North Escala Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#9 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Hotel Park City
Hyatt Escala Lodge At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.