We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Meal and Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J&G Grill

J&G Grill
2300 Deer Valley Drive East, St. Regis Hotel, Park City, UT 84060
435-940-5760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J&G Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 216 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: A comfortable yet elegant hideaway – signature Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten sophistication realized far from home. J&G Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges’ greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality meats and freshest local fish available in the market. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the J&G Grill dining experience at the St. Regis Deer Valley.
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First Class Meal and Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family has enjoyed this wonderful restaurant on five occasions during two trips to Deer Valley, Utah. It's an absolutely beautiful setting and family friendly. There is a children's menu and the portions are perfectly sized for hungry kids after long day of skiing. The main menu has multiple options for meat, fish, poultry, and vegetarian eaters. There is an extensive wine list as well.

The service is impeccable. Our waiter, Keith, was very friendly and patient for our party of 10 including 4 adults and 6 exhausted children. Some of our dishes were not prepared the way we requested and our table received complimentary desserts as an apology... Unnecessary but very much appreciated.

The view is stunning... it's our favorite restaurant in the Park City/Deer Valley area and we will continue to return. We all enjoy the funicular ride from the base to the top of the hotel. The sabering of the champagne at 5:30 is fun in which to partake as well. Prices are not out of this world for dining of this class.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    45
    23
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Sophisticated atmosphere and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

A ride up the funicular to the reataurant is fun and the restaurant itself is minimalist elegance with a pleasant view of the mountain. The menu is fairly limited and is nothing special but the atmosphere makes up for the lacks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine, impeccable service, and showy location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have dined here twice in the past three weeks and have had the same enjoyable experience each time. Although this carries the cache' of a luxurious hotel, dining is remarkably relaxed thanks to attentive and friendly service. Prices are high but not out of line for other top Park City restaurants. Our waiter, Glenn, was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. His recommendations were appropriate for the members of our party (two teens one night) and he was aided by the largest floor staff in PC. The menu is not large but uniformly delicious, well served, and interesting. If you like to read wine lists - this is the palace. Very extensive wine book with some wines as expensive as a small car but many others much more reasonable and we were not "guided" to the more expensive bottles. The setting is lovely and we will return eagerly in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Restaurant and setting hit it out of the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The funicular is a spectacular introduction to the restaurant. We arrived by 5:30pm, sat out on the sunny, warm patio to watch the daily sabering of the champagne bottle. Impressive! They served a bit of the champagne to everyone (had to have been 40 people there!) Our waiter probably made a huge difference to the experience (Kyle). Ask to be seated in his area. He was knowledgeable, upbeat, and congenial.
The food was excellent. I had the sea bass, which was perfectly cooked, flaky, and beautifully seasoned. The caramel ice cream dessert was as good as a previous reviewer suggested. The wine list was crazy expensive, but we found a bottle we could live with, both from a price and quality perspective. I ate far too much.
The funicular comes quickly, the Park City bus does not. But it was fine. We will be back. Value? No. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Yes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delectable Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

J & G Grill is consistently a great place for lunch and dinner. No matter the season - snow or sun- the view at J & G Grill is one of the best in the Valley and the food is also some the best in the valley/Park City. The staff is good but at times a bit overbooked.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&G Grill also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to J&G Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J&G Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.