We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewpoint of a local resident” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Viewpoint of a local resident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Living in Park City and skiing daily at Deer Valley make us appreciate having a quality hotel with consistently good service and excellent facilities at our disposal. I've lived in Europe and stayed at many premier hotels worldwide. We have a lot of family visit both summer and winter and we know the Montage will always provide a pleasant accommodation. Downstairs is a kid friendly atmosphere with bowling alley, open pizza oven, game room, pool tables and dart area. We have birthday parties and get togethers there, family holiday dinners, after ski brunch, ski in/ski out food and drink stops, sushi dinners, cocktail meetings with live music. We've toured the rooms and kitchen and children's daycare area and enjoy the great spa facilities. So interesting that they have their own honey from local beehives and an amazing on site chocolatier. Service is consistently impeccable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    51
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
122
112
8
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holladay, Utah, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have worked in the corporate meetings and incentive trip industry for 12 years and have been exposed to top notch service throughout the country. Time and time again, Montage shines in every possible way. The personal touches they offer for your leisure travel are outstanding. Everyone from the valet to the bell desk knew that we were celebrating our anniversary, and congratulated us. They took the time to learn about us and even gave us stuffed animals for our 3 children at home upon check out - two for our girls and a different one for our son (that's the level of detail Montage goes to). The property itself is impeccable. The architecture is stunning, the setting is idyllic, and every little touch including signage and amenities in each guest room are in keeping with Montage's subtle elegance. There isn't a traveler in the world who wouldn't be impressed by any of the Montage properties throughout the world. Many hotels have luxury linens, fine art and a beautiful view. Montage has that as well, but what identifies the Montage brand is the caliber of the staff. Their genuine warmth, accommodating nature and poise are unparalleled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

unfortunately, we stayed only one night. We were "just passing through" on a cross-country drive. the location on the top of the mountain is spectacular. All kind of services, staring with arrival till departure were superb and very friendly! Room was beautiful with welcoming fruit basket, comforting bedding and many well thought small things: magazines, convenient controls, lighting , bar etc. Restaurant was great, manager was personally attending to guests needs! Spa and pool were great!

Room Tip: views are incredible everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

From driving up the hill all the way till we left the property Montage Deer Valley was the most premier travel experience I have ever had. The service is amazing, the food was incredible, and the feel of the hotel is very relaxing. The mountain side pool was perfect for reading and getting sun. THe bowling down stairs was very unique and a great place to watch sports on Sunday. The sushi was above what I thought and the gift shop had perfect gifts for friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Last week I spent a couple of days at this location. The resort was unbelievable, possibly the nicest I’ve ever stayed and presented at. It’s in a perfect location in the midst of the Wasatch Mountains just above Park City, Utah. The options for comfort and enjoyment are world class. The attention to detail in the hotel and amenities are outstanding.
So what’s lacking?

Consistent, exceptional, customer centric service!

My arrival was wonderful, and then it all crumbled to, “I’m not too sure I’ll recommend this place”.

It was painful to witness and experience the lack of attention to simple customer needs.
I could rant, but I won’t. The lesson is simple. Your business will only have long term success when your customers flip the funnel and use it as a megaphone to tell the world a message of WOW! Not, OH MY?

The property is a WOW……….customer service on the other hand……….OHHHHHHH……….MYYYYYYY!

You may have learned in a marketing or customer service program that 5% of consumers are always willing to pay the highest price (you get what you pay for). 15% always pay the lowest (they will inevitably try and negotiate your fee). The remaining 80% make choices based on value.

I’m in the 80%.

I would believe that the Montage expects to serve the 5%. Possibly, their target clients are accustomed to a snooty staff, and nonchalant attitudes, but I seek and appreciate enthusiastic empathetic customer care.

Creating customer WOW should be a priority no matter who your customers are (that includes your family). This property blew it this time. Maybe it was just a series of bad moments? And there will likely not be a next time!

Room Tip: Be prepared to automatically pay a $10 per day valet fee and a $14 bell service fee. Valet is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Sink-me,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and our apologies that the resort did not meet your expectations.

Please do know that we take great pride in our customer service and we are concerned to hear that we disappointed you.

We are aware that amongst your concerns was the valet fee and bell service fee. In regards to these fees, the group you were travelling with specifically requested and contracted that they be handled in this fashion. It is my understanding that once you made contact with our accounting department, we did in good faith refund you these service charges. Please know that Montage Deer Valley does not charge any mandatory fees unless requested / contracted by a group.

Sink-me, I would like to have the chance to discuss your experience with you directly so please contact me at 435-604-1321 at your convenience and hopefully we can find a solution that shows you our commitment to customer service.

Regards,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Desert, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The "Mother Ship" has arrived and I want to stay aboard!

What a casually elegant and wonderful property. The staff is exceptional. They are extremely helpful and polite. The rooms are beautiful with a push button fireplace and push button DND, and Please Make Up the room . No shabby door hangers here. Room service was delicious, hot, and timely. The nightly S’mores and lunch time guitar music were surprise treats. But oh so special are the 2 canine Ambassadors- big, fluffy and so very huggable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and location. Loved the rooms and th view of mountains. The hotel spared no expense on all the deco and ammenities.

Service in Dallys was ok. Nothing great. Food delicious for dinner. Breakfast was lacking. Only thing I can say about this amazing location.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#3 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.