We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid friendly and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Kid friendly and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This review is specific to family vacations. This was our third stay and each time was amazing but we brought our four children for the third visit and were blown away by how kid-friendly the hotel is. It seemed expensive at first, but our kids were treated to a first class experience in the Paintbox...the childcare was great and planned activities, tubing, photos, lunch...the list goes on. I personally think the rest of the staff will jump through hoops to make our stay more comfortable. We stayed in a suite and comfortably fit everyone with a roll-away bed. The hotel has s'mores and hot chocolate (with professional photographer for special memories) every afternoon and the pool area is terrific. Daly's has good food and an arcade, bowling and more...
If you are looking for a first-class ski/spa hotel with excellent child amenities, the Montage is where you should go.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    49
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
108
8
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is truly a remarkable place, probably the nicest hotel I've been in, and surely the best ski vacation ever. The experience starts weeks before your trip, when you are contacted by a concierge who helps you plan your trip, arrange for lessons, and makes sure you have transportation from SLC airport. We were greeted by a driver in a luxury SUV who had us at the Montage in 45 minutes.

When you enter, you'll be impressed by every little detail in the resort. A full service spa with indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, steam rooms and sauna, which you can enjoy for no charge. A beautiful game room and bar, with pool tables and a full size bowling alley, to keep your family occupied when not on the slopes. The ski shop located in the hotel has brand new, spec equipment, and they heat your boots overnight and help you put them on and take them off each day. Being greeted with warm cider and a fresh baked cookie when getting off the slopes is a nice touch.

The rooms themselves are immaculate, with luxury bed linens, beautiful artwork, and every little detail taken care of. During turn-down service we were left small boxes of amazing truffles, a different flavor each day, made by one of the country's most celebrated pastry chefs. Dining in Apex is superb, but if you want to hit Park City's amazing restaurants the Montage staff will happily drive you the 15 minutes to Main Street Park City, and pick you up whenever you call them. Every person we met at the resort was cheerful, helpful, and obviously enjoyed their job. I hated to leave the place, and am going to have a tough time skiing anywhere but Deer Valley from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First class all the way! Great rooms, ski lift tickets and rentals on property....Even a bowling alley in the bar area! Great service, food, scenery, the spa and pool area amazing.
Pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Can't begin to describe the true luxe experience we had! From the staff pouring over you, to the fabulous suites, the linens, the food and amazing fireplaces all over the property...this is a skiers paradise. The ski valet practically puts your boots on for you. Après ski with live music, champagne and hand made s'mores...life doesn't get better than this. Don't miss the spa for a massage or a yoga class. The resort is about 5 mins from downtown Park City and offers complementary shuttle service for guests. Who wants to leave? By the way...totally family friendly with lots of special things for kids..stuffed animals upon arrival and mini robes and slippers!

Room Tip: Stayed in suites on 9 th floor...huge and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a fantastic ski in/ ski out resort! The service was extraordinary as it should be when you are paying $1000 per night (plus/ minus a couple of hundred bucks). Our room was with two queen beds on the 1st floor - you could literally put your skis on and ski out the balcony door (and there is no balcony - just the snow!). But, the valet picks up your skis before hand, keeps them until the morning, and has them ready for you, with warm boots included. Total spoils for someone like me! I love my skiing cheap!
The room is beyond comfortable, especially the fantastic bed linens and the shower - two of the highlights. Of course, every room has a gas fireplace as well. The hotel has turn down service including a mini box of chocolate from their pastry chef, absolutely delicious! Our room included breakfast in the morning, but I am not sure if this is across the board offering.
Overall, I highly recommend the hotel! It is not exactly affordable for the 99% but if you can come up with a reason to indulge yourself, this is one of the more amazing ways!

Room Tip: I would guess that every room in this hotel is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i just completed a 5 day stay at the Montage Deer Valley. I would agree with most of the accolades found in reviews above - the rooms are beautiful, the resort is spectacular in design and location, the bathrooms are spacious, the bed linens were heavenly. The Ski Valet was fantastic - very helpful and just a wonderful feature. In addition to attentive service daily, they succesfully mailed my skis and boots home with ease. The Apre' ski was wonderful, great Smores, and a wonderful Jacuzzi/Spa. So why not 5 stars? I believe part of my problem is partially on me, and partially on American Express Platinum, with whom i booked this trip. However, the resort could have made this a better experience and for that, i do need to bring-up some points of contention. I did not realize that when i selected the lowest grade room with regards to view, for which i paid $1500 per night for a King suite, that my room would have essentially no view... I was on the ground floor slightly below ground level, with a snow bank and a stone wall blocking my view of a service road. I do not believe i have ever spent this much money to have such a poor view. I was also paying almost $1000.00 for my adult daughter's room. So for $2500.00 dollars (before tax and multiple service charges) per night, i had two beautiful bedrooms, two and half baths, with a living room and with no view. When we arrived at the hotel, neither room was available (even though amex platinum offers early check-in "when available") but the front desk bought us snacks and drinks which was really nice. The room booking included "celebrating my wife's 50th birthday" and when i was shown the room, i was very surprised to be on the bottom floor with such a poor view. I asked to move, even asking for a one bedroom king that was not a suite, but i was told that no rooms were available until the next day when they offered to move our clothing for us - this was not acceptable to my wife so we stayed in this room for the five days. I did check on the internet after i was told the hotel was completely booked and i was able to find available rooms with better views. Finally, with regards to the rooms, we met some very nice couples on this trip, many of whom were staying at the Montage for either an Insurance meeting (did you ever wonder where your insurance premiums are going?) or a pharmaceutical meeting. All the couples we met loved the hotel and many conceded that they would never stay at this level of hotel if it weren't being paid for by their business...and none of these couples were staying on the ground floor with us. So, my advice to travelers, if your willing to pay the price to stay at this hotel, then pay the extra money to stay on a higher floor so you can enjoy the beautiful vista. My advice to the hotel, when you have a guest that frequents 5-star resorts, why not put them in a room that will make them want to come back, rather than give that room to business customers who admittedly will not bring their families to the hotel, unless, of course, your hotel is in fact geared more toward business travelers?
There were several other small glitches during our stay but every person we spoke with was very pleasant and eager to assist us including a few unexpected calls from the hotel manager which i very much appreciated. With regards to the breakfast buffet at Apex, it is overpriced and lacks some fine touches that other top resorts offer for buffet breakfast such as smoked salmon with your bagel, english muffins, etc. The internet is free, but high speed is only available with a charge. We recently stayed at Amanyara Turks and Caicos and they offered a free mini-bar and free high-speed internet - when you are paying this much for a room, that should be standard for 5-star resorts. I received a daily NY times, but no sunday paper? is the 6$ too much when i'm paying $2500 for my rooms?
In summary, this is a spectacular hotel and many of the accolades found in these reviews are well deserved. I think we just had a few glitches for which i deserve some of the blame. However, this was not a worry free, glitch free experience, and for that, i put some of the responsibility on the Montage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel really has it all. From the moment you walk in, you are treated with courtesy. No check-in process. They immediately escort you to your room after allowing your children to select a welcome stuffed animal. The rooms are well appointed with control4 system controlling every light including the fireplace from your nightstand. Gourmet chocolates, a different flavor every night. Tubing at the hotel. Pictures for kids with the hotel dogs. S'mores outside every night along with live music by the bar in the upstairs hotel lobby. Beautiful! Bowling alley downstairs with arcade games. Child care. Ski valet puts the boots on your feet for you. When you return your boots are removed for you, dried and all your ski gear is stored in a private locker for you. After that, they offer you hot cider and cookies. All those little details add up. They are 100% about customer satisfaction! I was impressed. My ONLY complaint is that if your child is a beginner and not capable of skiing blues, you either have to drive him to ski school or private lesson. However, the hotel shuttle will happily take you as well. For all other skiers, it is 100% ski in ski out. One of the best hotel experiences I've had, and I am picky. I had dinner at Stein and that was very outdated. St. Regis has good location, but I wasn't as impressed as I was with the Montage.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#3 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.