We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day pass is sensual delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harpswell, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spa day pass is sensual delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went to the Montage on a day pass and it was superb. The facility is serene, beautiful and nurturing. LIttle details make the difference - dried fruit to snack on in the lounge, gas lights around the hot tub. prickly pear infused water in lovely cisterns to enjoy, luxurious robes and towels. The staff is friendly and helpful, but not overbearing. There's a nice workout facility and you can take classes from spin to stretch. The showers have wondeful products from herbal shampoo to lavender body lotion. And the steam room followed by cold blast and lounging on a chaise to feel the effects and reconnect to yourself - priceless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    49
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
108
8
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburb
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful...large...well built facility with incredible attention to detail. Ski shop and ski services 2cd to none. I have skied all over North America and stayed at wonderful high end facilities and the Montage has its ski services run tight. The spa area and spa services were top notch as well....enjoyed on several occasions by all of my family. Extravagant tile finishes...an overall grand experience. Rooms were beautiful...kept very clean....room service done nicely. Few negatives...The on site dining provides no "pop". The food is good....but not exceptional....the dining spaces very bland in ambiance. The shuttle system back and forth to Main Street and other place was problematic. Much waiting around to and fro....wasted segments of 20-30 minutes. I ended up using a cabbie on my own dime as my trip progressed as it was reliability and promptness I was seeking. Was surprised to see a hotel of this caliber using duct tape to hold their large hallway runners in place. These carpeted mats were dominate around the main hallways and adjacent to the dinning areas. Just tacky in my opinion to see them taped to the floor. Overall....yes I would return....and I am confident the management of this superb property will take care of these few details.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Gariupamg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay at Montage Deer Valley.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay overall, we are taking your feedback on transportation and the carpet runners into strong consideration as our goal is to provide a seamless experience for all of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and please contact me personally should you wish to discuss your experiences further.

David Mars
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent a week at the Montage with another couple/good friends of ours. Our experience was fabulous! Jessica did a wonderful job of planning our entire week of fun and adventure. Service here is top notch, staff is ample and very willing to help. Any and every request was met with the standard Montage answer: "Absolutely sir".

Ski-in/ski-out is brought to a whole new level with Compass Sports at The Montage. Upon arrival they retrieve your boots which have been on a warmer/dryer over night, assist you with fetching anything put in your locker and help you put your boots on (if you wish). When you walk out to the snow your skis/poles are on the snow, ready for you to travel a mere 50 yds to the Empire Quad. When you return just leave your skis on the snow, leave your boots, grab a hot cookie and a cup of cider and retire for the day. Service is second to none, skiing can't get much easier (this coming from a father of 4 who usually schleps everyones gear too and from).

Park City has so many activities besides skiing. Jessica helped arrange a bunch of off-site activities as well as some "on the mountain" fun. Over our weeks stay we went on a dog sled ride, rode the olympic bobsled (man, wow!!), spent a day skiing with a gold metal olympian, we even got to see him jump at the olympic park. One night we even had the Chef come to our villa and cook us dinner, what a treat! What ever you can think of the Montage can help plan/arrange.

The location of the Montage is perfect, only a few miles from town and positioned on a perfect part of the mountain for easy access to the best slopes at DV. The car service Montage offers ( new Mercedes GL450's) is quick and efficient. We only waited 5-10 min for a brief ride into town. The divers were friendly and helpful.

The spa was excellent. My wife and I had a couples massage - a real treat after days of skiing. The pool, hot tub (in-door and out), gym were all wonderful.

I could continue to describe our week but..... I've been to Park City 7 or 8 times and this was by far my best stay. I look forward to returning with the family. This was a couples trip but this resort is also very family friendly. It's going to be hard to go back to work on Monday :-(

Room Tip: We stayed in a "2BR Montage Residence", the top 3 floors have 2-4 bedroom lux villas. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

They try hard and some things they do are good, for example the shuttle service, although we were there during Sundance and they were only about 60% occupied according to the front desk. If they get full this will become an issue quickly. The food is typical resort food and they do not have a nice restaurant like a Spago. There is one called Apex but is nothing great for what you pay for it. There is not a bar scene to speak of because of the layout of the bar, There is large great room with lots of chairs but no one was taking advantage of them. The ski concierge is great and the location to ski in/out is great too. We needed to leave a day early to avoid a storm and they would not even charge us half rate for that night with greater than 24 hours notice. The excuse by the manager that they were full did not float since his front desk staff had already let me know that they were only 60% full. Overall average and would come back only if the rates were about half what we paid. I'll take the Ritz in Bachelor Gulch any day for about the same money.

Room Tip: They seem to stick everyone on the 7th floor which is actually the second floor. We joked about a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
MKH0826,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments and concerns....

It is positive to hear your accolades of Compass Sports, our transportation services, and our overall location.

We are concerned about your feedback in regards to the early departure request,. Contrary to the information you were given, we were fortunate to be running at capacity over Sundance, but would like to discuss your concerns personally in an effort to find a resolution you are satisfied with.

Please call me at (435) 604-1321 at your convenience.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are looking for a truly luxurious stay in the heart of the best skiing in the country, look no further than this elegant hotel. The customer service was the best I have ever experienced. Whether it was the transportation provided to off-site activities or the ski valet service, the employees here served with pleasure. We were never told "no", something was not possible. Our requests were always met with a smile and an "absolutely."
Let me break some things down:
Location for skiing - None better
Location to Park City - a few minutes down the road provided by the hotel. You do not need to rent a car.
Rooms - true luxury with the most comfortable beds and linens
Turndown service - top notch with HOMEMADE truffles
Spa - expensive but completely worth it. The couples massage room view is work the money itself
Food - world class. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and it was one of the highlights of the stay - everything was house made. DO NOT miss the scones.
Pool and hot tub - very clean, tranquil and just the right temperature to work out those sore muscles after a day of skiing.
4pm Smores and Hot Chocolate - do not miss the opp to chat with other guests and enjoy the decadent treats (marshmallows are homemade).
In location Cole Sports - these professionals and employees make skiing there a breeze. They take your boots off for you and warm them over night. You do not have to carry your skis and boots - a true lazy treat!
Music - the talent booked here was world class. Do not miss having a drink while enjoying the acoustic music in the Vista Lounge

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom residence. Huge and well-appointed. Full kitchen, if you enjoy cooking on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Director of Sales at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
shellyhNC,

Our sincerest thanks for the kind words about Montage Deer Valley....

We are thrilled you enjoyed the resort and please know we have shared your feedback with our associates....

We take great joy in making memories for our guests and thank you for your patronage...

Best Wishes,

Christopher Hamaway
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A group of friends gathered at Montage to catch up and listen to music. We found a great table with a view of the stage. While I wasn't expecting this to be a sushi night, it's apparently a specialty. WOW! Every type we tried was better than the last. Our server suggested a wine pairing which was delicious. Live music wasn't overly loud so we could talk. What fun to see John Popper (Blues Traveler) sitting 10 feet from me. And a fantastic surprise to watch him on stage. All the talent that evening were great. The venue held a couple hundred people; intimate and splendid. Company, wine, sushi, service all A+! Montage has tons of atmosphere, perfect views of the mountains. Swanky but I felt totally comfortable. The outside deck has a beautiful firepit and ample seating to enjoy. Fabulous night!

Room Tip: Didn't stay; rather enjoyed the bar scene and food in the main lobby. Pampered awesomeness x 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the Montage in the summer. Rooms are nice but typical upscale hotel. They are still working out the kinks. Returned for a drink in the winter, the bar was completely overwhelmed. There was nonservice at the tables we had to go up to the bar to get service. If you have young kids in ski school stay at St Regis. You have to take shuttle to the snow park from the Montage for the ski school form the little ones. On the other and Montage has the best kids restaurant with a bowling ally. Expert skiers should stay at the Montage. First tracks at lady Morgan and Empire. You can ski awesome runs while folks are shuttling their kids to snow park. Spas at both are comparable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#3 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.