We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days. From check-in to check-out, everything was executed perfectly. When we approached the reception desk we were greated warmly and given a brief tour of the property. We were then escorted to our room to complete the check-in process. A bottle of champagne and birthday cake were waiting for us. We had a vista view room, it was very large with a nice couch and sitting area in front of the bed, a marble entry area, a large walk-in closed, and a large bathroom with a separate deep soaking tub and heated floor. Overall, very happy with the room. The lobby and common areas are beautiful and very well maintained. The main restaurant Apex was delicious with a nice variety of choices on the menu and very good service. We at there twice for dinner and each morning for breakfast. Dinner was great each night. My wife loved the wild mushroom risotto. The quality of the food at the breakfast buffet was very good also, but choices were somewhat limited and I wish they would have had a few more options (especially after 5 days). The bar at Apex was also very nice. We had a couple drinks there before dinner one night and met the resort's sommelier. I believe her name is Leah. She was filling in for the regular bartender and she was absolutely great, very friendly and knowledgeable. My wife and I really enjoyed visiting with her and talking about different wines, she also recommended a great Oregon pinot noir. She was a great ambassador for the hotel. We also enjoyed Daly's sports bar. We bowled a couple games the first night, and played pool, shuffleboard and darts another night. It's a really nice option to have if you don't want to head into town. I also have to commend the hostess who was working at Daly's on Saturday and Sunday night. She was great. Since we were moving around a lot playing different games we didn't necessarily have a set waiter/waitress, so the hostess would check in on us periodically to see if we needed anything. As an example of just how attentive the service is, on one night we had finished playing pool and saw some dart boards on a wall. We walked over to throw a few darts but when we got there we realized there were two tables set up in front of the dart boards. Before we could even turn around our hostess was there asking if we wanted the tables moved so we could play darts, and in less than a minute the tables were moved. The ski concierge was nice and the equipment we rented was top notch. Your boots are warmed before you arrive and the hot cider when you return is also nice touch. We used the indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center a couple times. Pool and hot tub were very relaxing, we almost fell asleep on the lounges in there. The fitness center equipment is great and there is plenty of it, even some free weights. Transportation into Park City is also excellent. We went into town two nights for dinner. The hotel's courtesy cars (a Mercedes van and a Mercedes SUV) were available immediately each time we left, we never had to wait when leaving the hotel. When we were ready to be picked up we simply called the number the driver gave us and they were there within 10 minutes to bring us back to the resort. On the first trip into town the driver even gave us a brief tour of the main street area to help us decide on a restaurant. This is really one of the few resorts I have visited where I cannot come up with any complaints. It's not cheap but it was worth it. Everything was great and every person we met was excellent at their job. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    49
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
108
8
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've stayed in a few luxury resorts around the world (and a lot of mediocre or worse hotels) and this compares with the best. Very comfortable, excellent service, and beautiful designed and decorated. I went there in January for a meeting and did not enjoy the snow, but I heard from colleagues that the spa is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at the Montage. The first was for a corporate event. This time was for a one night get away for my wife's birthday. Everything about the Montage is first class and perfect. All staff are very attentive and polite. They make you feel welcome from the minute you walk in until you check out. It was so nice to pull in with our ski gear and have it delivered right to the ski shop so we could get ready. The ski valet service was a nice touch. I have never had anyone offer to help me with my boots. We had a short delay while the bell service delivered our ski gear. The ski valet assigned to us kept apologizing. After we were ready, she insisted the manager come to apologize. It was very unnecessary but very indicative of the commitment to service at the Montage. We had checked in early so we could start skiing. We received a call from the front desk while we were skiing. When we finished skiing, we reported to the front desk and were immediately escorted to our room by the front desk attendant. The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The bathrooms are grand. And, the bed was among the most comfortable I have ever slept in. It was also the warmest.

Thank you Montage for a great night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there last year and thought the property was outstanding. When we went over the holidays, the hotel was booked solid and I felt the service suffered some. There were some specific things that were issues that should have been easy to fix but it took a number of phone calls to the front desk and eventually a call to the manager to get things rectified. Once the manager got involved, they did bend over backward to make sure we were happy.

We will definitely go back but I do think there are a few things that need to be fixed:
1. S'mores and hot chocolate - they shut it down way to early especially if you have been out skiing all day
2. Tubing - the 1 person working seemed put out to have to bring tubes up to the top of the hill. He eventually disappeared for a while, then when he returned, he shut the tubing down despite a number of families still on the hill.

I don't want to sound too negative as the Montage is really a great property in a great location on the mountain. It's just when you spend as much as you do for a stay there, you want it to be perfect. this time it wasn't but we will return and give it another chance. I recommend a first floor room if kids like to play in the snow.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I loved everything about this place which I give a 5-star rating. It's a luxurious home away from home. Its location, facilities, and staff make it so. The surroundings offer a breathtaking view. The resort is elegant yet comfortable. And the staff -- you can tell they love working there. I could live in my spacious room and lavish bathroom. The best part of my stay was sinking into the soft pillows and my bed at the end of a busy day. Obviously if you go, you'll want to engage in winter sports activities like skiing, snowmobiling, trapshooting, or snowshoeing. Their Compass Sports can help you with all that. But make sure to check out their spa facilities too. For families or groups, try bowling at Daly's Pub, meet the Bernese Mountain Dogs Monty and Jonas, or make s'mores by the fire pit.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and was next to the the doorway leading to the Grand Lawn. I loved i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our second time back to the Montage and just love how they cater to our kids....however they overlooked our reservation was for four...two adults and two kids. So we walked into our room and the poster said ' Welcome (my daughters name) to MDV' Although my two year cannot read....my wife can. They did not welcome my son...which was pointed out by my 8 year old. The room was nice but we could never get it above 68 degrees....burrr. The Apex breakfast had a great waiter who remembered our drinks and preferences every morning....what was downhill was the omelet station...the two chefs did not speak english and it was frustrating to pick ingredients....okay we did finally figure it out that if you say bacon that equals spinach, tomato equals mushrooms. Why would they have these young kids manning the station if they really cant speak english? Last year it was definitely not like that. Compass sports was awesome...Ben looks like he runs the show. Ted the photographer like Ben was awesome and took some memorable moments. The one thing that Montage offers is their powder puff park which has a tube run for kids and adults. The only issue is that you have to carry the tubes yourself up 50 sets of stairs and by the time you get to the top you collapse in the tube. We asked the gentleman at the top to help carry up tubes but his english was broken, so suffice to say my legs are more sore from climbing those stairs then skiing in the deer valley powder. They need to invest in a carpet conveyor......to cart us up along with the tubes.

So overall, enjoyed it again but they need to start watching their hires or at least properly train them. Reading other reviers we are getting more enclined to try the St Regis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just spent Xmas week at Montage. Overall, we had a great time and I would recommend the hotel.
The hotel is very attarctive and feels new, which it is. Rooms are nice and on par with a 5 star property.
The ski services were A+. Good friendly staff, well organized, very little waiting, etc. At the end of the day it's about the skiing for my family and it was as hassle free as one could want.
The service is where the Montage is not quite there yet - for a 5 star resort. Room service was very slow. We only ordered twice - both times for dessert. The first time we cancelled (after nearly an hour) because my kids fell asleep before they delivered. The second time I kept getting a recording that all operators were busy and my call would be answered shortly - something you'd expect from an airline; not when dialing room service in a 5 star hotel. I called the front desk and the guy was very apologetic and personally delivered our order fairly quickly. So ultimately we were happy and appreciated his effort, but it shouldn't be so difficult to order ice cream for your kids.
We also had an issue with our room not being made up one day while we were skiing. Again they were quick to send someone right up to correct, but there were many issues like this over the course of the week that they need to iron out.
While staff in general is good, i had one overarching issue. They are seemingly trained to stop and defer to you when you walk past them. I have no doubt they think this is a show of respect or form of heightened service, but it often has the opposite effect. When I'm walking down a hall and a staff person is walking towards me and then stops 20 feet from me and freezes until I pass him/her, that just feels awkward. This repeatedly occurs throughout the day and i personally didn't like it.
One final note, the resort feels a little isolated. I like ski resorts in or adjacent to small towns or villages. While Park City is only a couple miles away, it's at least a 20 minute wait every time we wanted to take a shuttle to/from Main St.
But all told, we had a great time and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#3 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.