We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

New, well-managed luxury property with extremely attentive service. First impressions were wonderful due to speedy valet service and a smooth check-in. Concierge led us to our vista room overlooking Park City while our bags were unpacked for us and bottle service began as we sat on the balcony. There is a new evolution in luxury travel to focus more on services than amenities if you will. Montage has a perfect balance between the two.

Room size is above average, with an expansive entry and bar, walk in closet, midsize balcony and a very large bathroom. Extra touches to note are Control4 integrations into all lighting and sound systems, luxurious fireplaces in every room and radiant-heated marble floors throughout. Rooms were thoroughly sound-proofed and the security of the facilities was extremely high - indoors as well as outdoors facilities.

The onsite gym is fantastic. New equipment, a large selection and a full-time staff to provide training, personal and/or group classes (e.g. yoga, pilates, cycling). Montage also sets itself apart by having a gorgeous indoor mosaic pool and spa as well as a heated outdoor pool and multiple hot tubs open year round. Montage also boasts an onsite bowling alley, pub and rec space, a full-service restaurant, bakery, cafe, shopping boutiques (including a jeweler) and multiple bars. In essence, this property does not require you to leave for anything and if you choose to, they'll provide the complimentary transportation to Main Street, Park City. Can I also say - THANK YOU for not having a resort fee.

Areas for improvement could include:

1. More attentive wait staff in Apex. Ordering breakfast took nearly 20 minutes and over 90 minutes to dine after signing the check.

2. Towels need to be consistently re-stocked on the pool decks. Usually found myself dripping all the way back to the room...

3. Only the residences have kitchen options. For those who wish to stay longer time periods, eating out can become quite obnoxious. Competing properties (e.g. St. Regis and The Waldorf Astoria) have kitchen options in the regular hotel which is a win for the extended traveler - and I may mention, the upgrade is quite affordable.

4. Valet opted to shove my luggage into my back seat vs. my trunk upon checkout and damaged my leather. The valet is not responsible for collision, fire, earthquake, storm, theft, mechanical failure BUT is responsible for inflicted damage. I'll take this up with the hotel directly.

Montage is definitely worth a second visit. Not quite worth the high-season rates but most definitely worth the moderate season pricing.

Room Tip: Pay for a vista room so you're not dealing with facing a retaining wall. This property is set on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    64
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
170
142
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed four nights during the off-season. It wasn't busy, so it was like we had the whole big, beautiful place to ourselves. We wanted to go "all out" so we stayed in a suite. Expensive, but it was spacious, richly-decorated and seemingly spotless. Upon first arrival, I was in awe...of the whole property. It wasn't long, however, before I noticed used coffee grounds all over our room's kitchen counter. It was unfortunate, but I figured it might've blended into the dark granite countertop and been easily overlooked by housekeeping. My spouse left for business and I showered. I wrapped myself in one of the room's luxurious bathrobes. Then, I found an old note in the pocket. Apparently, a used robe from the previous guest was just rehung to pass off as fresh!! Next the shower and sink won't drain. And the new robe I ordered never came.
I mentioned these instances the following day to the front-desk clerks, as I needed to head down to also report the broken in-room dishwasher (that was discovered after I noticed a housekeeping staff "washing" our dishes by wiping them with plain water and a rag). I wanted the desk clerks to be disconcerted; to WANT to my experience to be better. I really wanted them to assure me this was unusual and restore some of my initial excitement about staying at this property, but they barely batted an eyelash.
Since I would rather not be in my room while a strange repairman fixing the dishwasher is present, I went to the pool. I was the only swimmer while numerous landscapers, painters, electricians, etc were working all around the grounds. It was quite uncomfortable to be in a bikini in the middle of what amounted to be a construction zone! One man literally stood still watching me for about 5 minutes. As I walk into the pool a stone tile on the steps collapsed right under my foot. I could've easily gotten my toes stuck in that hole that now led down to the filtering vents underneath. I reported this to a nearby hotel worker who mentioned this "keeps happening." My concern about the tile made it's way to the manager, who did come and speak with me as I lay by the pool. He realized I was having a "rough" stay and offered a free room-service meal. I never took them up on that. Second-rate food brought to my room is not what I was hoping for (by the way, the on-property dining is rather mediocre for a place of such gandeur). I wanted the staff of this potentially grand place to truly give a darn. It's not as if they were distracted with other guests; the place was nearly empty.
No apologies at checkout, no follow-up apology letter. Nothing. Often a better judge of a hotel and it's staff is on how adversity is handled.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Romeotravels,

Greetings from Montage Deer Valley….

First off, our sincere thanks for taking the time to share comments in regard to your stay this past spring and we certainly apologize for the opportunities you experienced.

I would like the chance to speak with you personally so we could review the details and work to ensure you are completely satisfied with the resolution.

If your schedule allows, please contact me at the number below as I look forward to the chance to make this right for both you and your spouse.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
(435) 604-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just spent two nights here in a Residence Suite and all I have to say is that I didn't want to leave. The second the porter opened the door to our 1200 sq foot room, I was at home. Beautifully appointed kitchens with top of the line appliances, heavenly beds that I never wanted to leave, gorgeous views of the mountains, and lovely sitting areas by the fireplace. One of the things I loved was the second we got into the room, our porter called down to the front desk to get a robe for my 11 year old son that fit him perfectly. My son was thrilled by the treatment. We cuddled up in front of the fireplace and watched a great football game while the snow came down. Everything about this place screams luxury with the rich wood floors and heated tile, the bath amenities that make your skin feel like silk. We also did the Art of the Spa and thoroughly enjoyed the whirlpool/steam room/sauna experience. Another benefit? Smores every day at an outdoor fire pit that are gourmet and oh so tasty.

Everything about this place made me feel like a million bucks and I'm not a spendy traveler; I love nice places but enjoy saving a few $$ from time to time. However, after spending two nights here, I would gladly pay more. I'm already looking at my next visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago ,IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

While attending a conference my wife and I stayed at the Montage. The car valet staff was very attentive. The room was finished nicely but unfortunately the was right in the side of a dirt wall ten feet away. Given the price and not overly crowded hotel at the time I would have expected a better view. Dinner for our group was in a very bland looking banquet room with uninspiring food to match. The location is pretty far from town. The elevation is much higher than most other hotels in the area and several people in our group felt Ill effects. Overall I would say it was Ok but not great

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just spent 4 days at the Montage Deer Valley for a business conference, and it was so lovely, it felt like I was there on vacation. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are huge, and the furnishings are top-notch. Loved the large gym, yoga classes, spa, and hiking trails right out the back door.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We are fans of the Laguna and Beverly Hills Montage. Upon receiving an email from Deer Valley Montage advertising their Autumn specials, my husband changed his already booked hotel reservations (for a planned business meeting in SLC) to the Montage Deer Valley. The deal offered was amazing (like.. AMAZING) for such a lovely resort. The room, lobby, common areas, workout facility, spa, etc... are very Montage-esque; class and comfort. Exactly what you would expect from this caliber hotel. However, more important was the warm and welcoming attitude from the staff. With the exception of the front desk receptionist (not unkind, just miscast for her position. I am of the feeling that a resort's "gatekeeper" or front desk/check-in person should be the MOST welcoming of all. Or at least a smile, right? ) every employee we spoke to or came across was overtly friendly and accommodating. The Apex Restaurant & Bar and the Buzz employees were enthusiastic and genuinely happy people. We were greeted with true kindness at the valet stand every time we entered or exited. The concierge was efficient and helpful. Even Monty (the resident "Mascot" dog) greeted us with a wagging tail and glee. The highlight of the mini getaway was the acoustic performer at the Apex bar. This singer played for hours taking request after request. It was as though we had our own private concert. The quality of music/sound was an honest 10+. We actually had dinner reservations at the St. Regis down the hill and had to cancel because we were so content at the bar listening to the music, eating fondue and having a drink prepared by a REALLY nice bartender. Again, the Montage Deer Valley seems to be perfecting the quintessential mountain resort experience in a real genuine way.
Overall, a fantastic experience. We normally visit Deer Valley/Park City in the winter months two or three times for ski trips with the kids. What an unexpected gift to experience Deer Valley in Autumn. The tremendous color of the valley and the quiet, calm of the resort makes for a close competition to the beauty of winter and ski season. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have stayed here twice recently for business trips. The service and staff are first rate, everyone is extremely pleasant and helpful and all requests were met with almost instant responses. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, loved having my morning coffee sitting in front of the fireplace and enjoyed the balcony!!! Large bathroom, wonderful toiletries. Gorgeous views.
The location is a bit remote from Park City but the hotel provides transportation.

Room Tip: Residences are 2-3 bedrooms and have fantastic kitchens, comfortable living/dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Family Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.