We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Deer Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Luxury in Deer Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a large-scale very luxurious resort. The whole mountain theme has been toned down a bit, so that really with the exception of some details (such as the paintings) the resort could be anywhere in the world. The staff are wonderfully courteous, helfpful and knowledgeable - this is the truly outstanding feature of this resort, as well as its spa. The spa is beautiful and enormous with a great selection of treatments, great indoor pool as well. Lots of activities to sign up for, even outside of ski season, I participated in a hike as well as flyfishing, just as an example. People enjoy mountain bike riding and other adventure activities during the summer as well.

The hotel was bigger than I expected it to be and it's only drawback is that it is a little remote (as it relates to Park City), however there is a complementary shuttle anytime you like. Notwithstanding my personal preference for smaller boutique style hotels with lots of character or truly historically grand and significant hotels, I think this hotel would be a great choice for a top-notch ski vacation, even for families. The Montage truly excels in terms of service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    51
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
120
110
8
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the new Montage Hotel in Deer Valley. The Montage being an upscale hotel you expect all the bells & whistles. We'll this hotel does not disappoint, it goes way beyond. The staff is well trained in the art of pleasing. From the moment you arrive till the moment you depart. We were upgraded without having to ask to a large corner suite facing the mountain. There was complimentary wine & cheese waiting for us upon entering. The rooms were spacious and immaculate. This being our first visit to Deer Valley we relied on the expert advise of the concierge Gibbie Whelehan. She was such a source of great knowledge of the area, including must see places, fun activities and excellent places to dine. Gibbie followed up on her recommendations with us to make certain that we were totally satisfied. All this an an excellent reflection on the general manager, who should be commended on his entire staff. Kudos to the Montage for having perfected the art of running a first class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Terrific experience--friendly service and great facilities. Hiking and mountain biking just out the door and lovely venues to sit, talk, read--dolce far niente.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were greeted by the valet who took our bags and then proceeded inside and we were greeted by one of their front desk people and shown to our room, where the rest of the check-in was finished. While walking us to our room, we were told where to find other services in the hotel such as restaurants and the spa. The valet showed up to our room with a bottle of sparkling lemonade and poured us each a glass along with delivering our bags. We found out that we were able to get a shuttle (which turned out to be a Mercedes SUV) to take us to a concert at The Snow Park Amphitheatre and pick us back up. I really wish that I didn't suffer from sometimers and could remember all these peoples names because they really made our stay so wonderful. The hotel has several different places to eat even and including a snack room where they make their own marshmallows. We had a s'mores sundae in the pub and got to have these marshmallows. They were marvelous. The hotel is only about a 5 minute drive to Park City which makes it very convenient to sightsee. The room had a balcony, a bathroom with a double sink, soaking tub and double-headed shower. There is a fireplace and TV with DVD player. There was also turn down service as we discovered when returning from our concert. The one big complaint I have is the $28 overnight valet parking charge that no one informed me of, and seeing as I didn't see any place for self-parking, you basically have no choice but to accept. Other than that, the views are fabulous and the place was easy to find and convenient to all kinds of outdoor activities. Also the beds were majorly comfy, like sleeping on a cloud.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

For my first trip to Park City, Utah, we stayed at the wonderful Montage. It's not located right in town, but a short drive up the hill. We had a suite for 3 nights, with the "Peak" view. The suite was very spacious, with a sofa bed for the kids. The bedroom had one King bed with soft fluffy linens. 2 Balconies, 2 fireplaces, 2 full bathrooms. All gorgeous. The amenities provided in the bath are very high-end luxury. The staff is amazingly polite, informed, helpful. The hotel even provides one of two Mercedes SUVs to borrow if desired. Park City is a wonderful town and the Montage is a great place from which to enjoy all the city has to offer. We hope to be back for ski season!

Room Tip: Ask for Peak view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wow. What an absolutely beautiful hotel. From the grounds (and views!) to the restaurants and the guest rooms...everything is just stunning. Truly feels like a vacation for the spirit to stay here. Since we visited during the summer, we tended to leave the resort and head to Main Street during meal times. But if we were staying here for skiing in the winter, it would be amazing to have such fantastic food and entertainment within the building. (They have a bowling alley/darts/arcade area in their basement pub area; archery, croquet, badminton out by their outdoor pool; and an indoor pool in their spa area...seriously, you never have to leave.) BUT, should you decide to leave, they provide free car shuttle down to Main Street--and back. This hotel has truly thought of everything. It's a true pleasure to stay here. The only bad part was having to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This property is nestled in the mountains just up the hill from the town of Park City (at about 8,200 ft) and offers grand views of the valleys below. The interior seems to be intentionally planned to promote an elegantly quiet experience. The decor is subtle and sophisticated. Standard rooms are larger and more livable than in some other luxury hotels, with fireplaces, walk in closets, and heated marble floor tiling in the bathrooms. Service is outstanding; food special and delicious. Since the hotel is situated at such a high altitude, would recommend acclimating by spending a few days gradually "climbing your way up." Several in our party coming directly from the east coast experienced plenty of high altitude symptoms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#3 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.