We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to bringing our daughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Deer Valley to your Saves list
Montage Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Looking forward to bringing our daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the montage for a some quality time together. I had booked the trip and my husband was not happy we were leaving snow in nj to go to more snow. I have to say he can not wait to return.
We stayed in a peak view one bedroom. The view was fabulous. The room was beautiful. The ski in and ski out was better then I ever imagined. We decided to rent our equipment at the hotel and what service. The Man who helped us really new his stuff. When we put on our skis they actually pulled us over to the lift. What service. Deer valley was amazing. No lift lines always someone there to help you.
The concierge service was great always there to help. We went snowmobiling one day and dog sledding another. Snow moiling was ok. We went for the views which were breathtaking. Dog sledding was so much fun. You got to meet the dogs and then go for an hour ride. Beautiful views and the owner the dogs who took you out made you feel like family. We van not wait to bring our daughter
The people that worked at the bee store where top notch. I had wanted to buy honey. You get to sample it. She wrapped it all up for me so I could pack it. She delivered it to my room and left me a personalized note. Things like that make you want to go back.
We also visit the spa. We did the signature treatment. A 3 hour spa. We had arianna and Ashley. They were fabulous. The treatment was amazing. We travel all over the world and visit many spas and this was the best. We will definitely
visit the spa again.
We ate breakfast every morning at apex and dinner once while we were there. We wish we would have eaten there every night. It was the best we had during our stay. We tried zoom and the fireside and there is no comparison.
The only complaint is the girls that work in the gift shop. I felt they thought they were better then us. We had asked them for a Christmas ornament. We like to collect from all our trips and she looked at us like we were crazy and said it's not Christmas. We stay in all 5 star resorts and we can usually get an ornament all times of the year. So would love to see a variety of things to buy at the hotel.
But overall the service and the hotel was exceptional and i highly recommend this hotel to everyone.
We can not wait to go back next march.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    63
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
157
136
12
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

First of all, I'm not a skier. I'm a snowboarder. But, before I left the Montage Deer Valley, I had strapped on a pair of skiis for the first time in 22 years. The all inclusive experience that Montage has created can litterally change a persons life. That's exactly what it did for me. My wife and I never left the property due to the numerous restaurants that are their and the active night life that occurs at a pub located on the bottom level called Daily's. This place had everything a kid (or an adult wanting to be a kid again) could imagine. Pool tables, darts, shuffleboard, vintage video games, Nintendo Wii, foosball and a 2-lane bowling alley. Unbelievable!! The rooms were amazing too. Huge beds, gorgeous bathrooms and his/her walk-in closets. Make sure you check out the smores set up everyday from 4-6 for something extra special. The Montage is an epic place to relax and should be considered a must-go for anyone looking for a great time. It will spoil you rotten.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamaway, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Greetings from Montage Deer Valley....

We wanted to take time to express our sincere appreciation for such kind words. We shared your comments with all of our Associates here at the resort and everyone was thrilled to know you and your wife had such a good time. The comments on Daly's Pub & Rec were particulary impactful as we work daily to make this a truly special location inside the resort. We look forward to hopefully having the chance to welcome you back to Montage Deer Valley in the near future.

Warmest regards,

David Mars - Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladera ranch, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We just returned from a ski trip to Montage Deer Valley. I have stayed at all three properties (Deer Valley, Beverly Hills and Laguna Beach) and this one surely lives up to the Montage name. The rooms, the view.....Everything! Daly’s was amazing..so fun for my child..he loved all the video games. And, skier services couldn’t have been easier. I can't wait to return in the summer to see what they have to offer in the warmer months.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at this new Montage, even though friends who stayed there in December said to wait until next year - - when the inevitable opening snafus would be worked out. We are very glad we did not wait.
The hotel is stunning, as is its setting. Very good ski in/ski out (three lifts at your command) and outstanding finihes and amenities. The staff is youthful but eager to please. OK, maybe everyone is trying just a bit too hard -- they are not yet "comfortable" -- but we will take that instead of arrogant and stuffy any day.
We had one problem with the TV in our sitting room that defied fixing despite three tries. Frustration gave way to even greater comfort when they moved us to a much larger suite as recompense for our troubles.
No doubt the service will get even more finely tuned in the coming months, but we would go back tomorrow if we could.
The food is outstanding as well, with good variety - - high end dining as well as comfort food (pretzels + cheese fondue!) in the bar - - a well appointed wine list that does not inflict "sticker shock" upon opening. Hotel prices, yes -- but no gouging here. We felt it was a real value.
Yes, we did try out the spa, which is suitably spacious and luxurious. Our 90 minute massages were among the best we had at a US resort.
Go and enjoy. We'll be back.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hotel is amazing. The facilities, food, rooms, service and spa were incredible. We ate at all three different locations (Apex, Vista and Daly's) for dinner and we found them all to be quite good. We really enjoyed the skier's lunch buffet (so much variety). This is not your typical resort food. We are foodies and I was pretty much blown away by the quality of the food especially for a resort this size.

Our 3 bedroom residence was HUGE and very nicely appointed. There were only 4 of us but we could have easily fit more.

The basement playroom couldn't be better for families with children. My kids loved the bowling and vintage arcade games. The spa is over-the-top. We went every night to steam and jacuzzi. The massages were excellent as well. We were sorry we couldn't fit in any of the fitness classes. The variety looked impressive.

There were so many nice details at this properties : ski rentals on sight, coffee house with snacks/ homemade ice cream, snow park with sledding and s'mores by the fire pit outside. We will definitely be back for a longer stay and would love to come in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

There is much to say about this resort. I'll start with the positives - the facilities and location are INCREDIBLE, one of the best I have EVER experienced. The views and access to the slopes are like nothing I've experienced. Blows Stein Erikson away in that regard, and that is saying something. The rooms are huge and gorgeous (though beware of what they call a "vista" - in that catagory we were first put in a first floor room where all the windows blocked by 10+ft of snow - not a vista at all, but they graciously upgraded us the next day). The spa is huge and amazing, and the gym has the coolest, newest, most state-of-the-art equipment I have ever seen, plus 4-5 free classes a day ranging from yoga to conditioning.
Bottom line, all the physical aspects of this hotel are luxurious and simply wonderful. Though it is quite large - not for someone looking for a small, charming lodge.
And now for the negatives: the service was at times horrible - there are a lot of kinks that need to be worked out. The good news is that everyone we've encountered was trying their very best to be helpful - so there is no issue whatsoever with attitude - but iabout half the time, they failed miserably. I'm not sure if the systems or setup are to blame, or whether the individuals themselves are incompetitent, but there were many screw-ups in many different areas. From the front desk (the room switch confounded many), the bell desk (our luggage was lost in space for hours), the concierge (took 6 emails to arrange a car from the airport), housekeeping (simple requests ignored multiple times), the valet (the shuttle service to/from PC was frustratingly undependable), to the Apex restaurant (complete and utter chaos at lunch and breakfast), there's a lot of improvement needed in service. Some of the staff are GREAT (we recognized many from Laguna Beach location), so it's certainly not everyone. But this many problems is unacceptable at these prices and for a Montage. Fingers crossed that it's just growing pains - hotel has only been open 2-3mos. I will definitely give it another try because the positives are so special and fabulous, but these folks have some work to do.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

First class service. Enjoy ski in ski out slopes.....boots warmed and waiting.....help before you hit the slopes and when you return. Great restaurants and staff. Not much for children younger than 5......such as ski boots and lessons...... But said they are working on that....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Address: 9100 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#2 Family Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.