We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High West Distillery & Saloon

High West Distillery & Saloon
703 Park Ave, P.O. Box 1733, Park City, UT 84060
+1 435-649-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 196 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Come visit Utah's first distillery since the 1870's, and the only ski-in gastro-distillery in the world. Located in Old Town Park City, at the bottom of Quit N' Time ski run and next to the Town Lift. High West Distillery and Saloon is an intimate gathering place serving nouveau Western fare, a full selection of fine wine and spirits, and our own small-batch, mountain-crafted, award-winning whiskeys and vodkas.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

What fun. This is how I pictured Park City would be. Great whiskey and food. Many paired together, such as the home made sourdough pretzel with bourbon mustard dipping sauce. Many small plates on the menu. All were wonderful, and locally sourced. The food was so good that I'm considering returning again, and I'll only be here for 3 nights. Don't miss the pulled pork, 3-onion soup with bourbon, or the s'mores with home made marshmallows.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Travler153...

Thank you for making time in your day to post such a positive review on your recent High West experience. We work diligently to pair our whiskey with great food and are glad you found both appealing! Hopefully you returned again during your stay and if so, we'd love to hear about that experience as well.

Thanks again for your review and we're thrilled we were able to live up to your expectations and represent Park City well!

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    208
    68
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Park City Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

One of the best restaurant in Park City. Try the Burger and Arnold palmers! Service is great, more on the relaxed style.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear convert411...

Thank you for your kind and brief review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on your recent visit to High West. The specifics around the burger, lemonade and service will be passed along to the front and back of house staff as we recap our winter and set plans for our summer season. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Park City.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss the coolest bar in Utah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I go to Wasatch brewery up the street for my fave beer (Jalapeño Cream Ale) but this place is so neat that you will want to stay longer than planned. The staff was very helpful and didnt treat you like an idiot or as if you didn't belong there when you wanted help ordering. On the contrary, the staff made great suggestions. Get the whiskey flight to really get a full experience of this place. Well worth the $12-13 to try 4 different kinds and learn something new! We didn't eat here but the food looked and smelled delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear kpcharlier...

Thanks for adding us to your Main Street/Park Avenue itinerary. Wasatch does brew some fantastic beer about 500 feet higher than our whiskey still here at High West and the attention to quality is the key driver in both businesses. We appreciate your kind words around our "place", whiskey, and the unpretentious nature of our staff. On your next visit, be sure to take advantage of our free daily whiskey tours that share the history of the building as well as how we produce our whiskey's from grain to tasting glass. A light snack or entree and a warm Western Welcome will be awaiting also.

Thanks again for your positive review and we look forward to serving you again the next time you're in Park City!

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Too Expensive for a Family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We probably went with the wrong group for this place. We had small children and we are nondrinkers. They gave us a great room. But the food was too "fancy" for simple tastes and too expensive for som of our budgets. My wife and I may try again as a couple. My wife would have liked a better veggie menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Dunn45…

Thank you for sharing your concerns around our food and value here at High West. We've worked hard to create a place and menu that is welcoming for everyone including families and non-drinkers. We are always assessing our food and beverage offerings and their value relative to the marketplace and will add your comments to our discussions as we focus in on our summer menu.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you and your wife will make the journey back up here from Draper for dinner this summer.

Sincerely,

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsZiggy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Personality, taste, and great drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The bar area is in an old victorian type house which gave it charm and warmth. Order what you like, but you can't go wrong with any of their house special drinks! The dead man's boots was the favorite of my group!

The restaurant was rustic and yet modern. Jeans would be fine but you wouldn't stand out if you were dressed up a smidge either. The food was fantastic!!! My favorite might have been the whiskey cheese fondue! NOM! Everything was so good we just ordered lots of smaller plates and a few larger portions and shared amongst the group tapas style so that we could all taste a bunch - I highly recommend it!

I'll be back. I'll take my friends. My family will love it. This place became an instant favorite!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
MrsZiggy...

Thanks for visiting High West and taking time out of your day to share your positive experiences on Trip Advisor. We strive to create a warm ambiance with a bit of rustic sophistication that welcomes jeans and more formal business attire as you reference. We're glad you enjoyed the cocktails (our bartenders take pride in the "craftiness" of our drink recipes) and the whiskey fondue as well. Our Executive Chef found this authentic recipe high in the Alps of Switzerland. (I must admit my social media vocabulary is weak at best so I'll need some help with NOM!).

Again, thanks for your review and sharing your High West experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Park City!

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High West Distillery & Saloon also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to High West Distillery & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High West Distillery & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.