We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Hotel, Outsanding stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hotel, Outsanding stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with a convenient Deer Valley location. The funicular tram made it easy to go to Deer Valley's Snow Park Lodge, literally steps away from the lower lobby. It also made it easy to get to downtown Park City. The funicuar ride was a cool way to access the Hotel and the attendent told us that it was necessary because the main Hotel is inside a gated community.

Our room was large and well appointed, overlooking the pool area with great views of the ski runs and mountains. Our stay was just a few days so we really didn't get to use the full kitchen but it was very nice (loved the countertop) and will figure into our planning for next time.

Overall, the Hotel's decor was both elegant and comfortable. I was cautious about the layout after reading a few of the other reviews, but after a day to get used to everything, it was actually quite easy to get around. It is no more than a few minutes walk to get anywhere in the Hotel.

One of the highlights of the trip was J&G Grill, the on-site restaurant. Breakfast was excellent and quick each day. Ate one night at the Exhibition Kitchen and one night in the dining room. Food was outstanding each time as was the service. The restaurant has an extensive wine list and wine bar attached which made my husband happy. The pricing is quite reasonable, especially for a Jean Georges restaurant. This is a gorgeous space and by far our new favorite restaurant in Park City.

Based on other reviews, I was prepared to be disappointed with the service aspect of the Hotel. I can honestly say that, based on our stay, either the Hotel staff has improved significantly or some of the prior comments were not typical of the overall service. Clearly, everything was not perfect but I found the staff to be pleasant, eager and accomodating. I was actually surprised at the level of service overall given that the Hotel opened last month.

We had a great stay and will be back this ski season.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    77
    47
    23
    5
See reviews for
166
222
11
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I am not sure where to start. This hotel is just awful and insulting for the price. The service is the worst I have ever experienced at a top end hotel. They are clearly charging $$$$$ like a fine hotel and delivering like a cheap motel. The food is awful, both room service and restaurants. They did not get one room service order correct. The rooms did not get cleaned and the staff is overwhelmed and untrained, and a lot of things are “not working” . I could go on and on with issues… Half the guests seemed ready to leave when I stayed there..

I would not go and stay at this hotel for a few years until they get their act together. Lastly, the layout of the hotel which forces you to take a tram to get out of the hotel is a pain…You have to walk to the other side of the hotel and wait taking 10-15 minutes…This is no fun with ski equipment on…

Give it a miss…They have done themselves a real disservice by insulting people who are paying good money with a D level experience,. You get one shot at a first impression…

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisDeerCrest, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The St. Regis Deer Crest Resort. We are uncompromising in our pursuit to create a flawless experience and I regret to read that yours may not have been. Please know that it was not the norm nor up to the high standards we have set for this resort.

If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, I would welcome the opportunity to personally speak with you. You may contact me at deercrest.customer.service@stregis.com.

Until then, I remain with warm regards, Michael Hatzfeld, General Manager, The St. Regis Deer Crest Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Prepare to be impressed by the hotel, but not yet by the staff. Ski concierge is great and ski in/out for experienced skiers is ideal.
There is only 1 restaurant to dine. So you could face up to a 2 hr wait, if you don't make a reservation (even for lunch!) Plan to eat in town via the hotel's transportation. The concierge staff doesn't seem to know the restaurants that well. So FYI...ask around. Getting your kids to ski school is a bit of a journey but it is never easy anywhere.
While skiing the Empire Canyon Lodge is by far the best spot for lunch.
Also book your own transportation to and from airport. The hotel's recommendation is double the price of booking directly through a local company.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at the St. Regis Deer Crest for 5 days the week after Christmas. The hotel is well equipped with a nice gym, hot tub and spa. The library/fireplace are great areas to have a cup of coffee, tea or hot chocalate and read a book or play games. There are also nice firepits/lounge areas on the terrace of the hotel where you can relax.

The rooms/bathrooms are well appointed. The one we were in had a tv behind the bathroom mirror which was a nice feature.

We aren't big skiers but the ski in and ski out service looked very convenient.

The funicular ride provides a nice view overlooking park city so be sure to take a pic.

As the hotel just opened, there are a lot of logistical issues that they still need to work out. The wait for food at both the restaurant and bar were too long. Also they offer limited transportation via escalades around the park city area but this can be touch and go depending on how many people are looking for rides. If you don't have a car they do have convenient bus service that takes you to main street as well as the surrounding areas.

I would certainly go back as the staff does try and do their best to accommodate you but they definitely have to improve their procedures and processes to ensure the operation runs more smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed just after the hotel opened the weekend before Christmas. It was fabulous! The ski in&out was so convenient - close to Deer Crest lift. (Way better than Park Hyatt Beaver Creek, if you've been there). The ski butlers were there to attend to every need - even though it was brand-new and they were still working out some minor kinks like not having a ski shop yet- even still, getting equipment was easy and the butlers took care of storing all your equipment. Fireplaces and fire pits everywhere. Lots of lounge space both inside lobby with huge fireplace and outdoors around the fire pits. Pool and hot tub are gorgeous. Staff super-friendly and always asking if you need anything. Remede Spa was beautiful and first class - had a wonderful massage. J&G grill very good. Great wine selection, cheese fondue, hot chocolate, etc. We stayed in a deluxe room - 2 queens. Huge bathroom with Remede toiletries. Very comfortable beds with warm down comforters and fireplace with a timer. The accomodations were as nice I have seen. We will definitely go back and stay here again. Vernicular a unique experience to take you from Snow Park/main lift area and parking up to hotel. In Park City - eat at Prime - best steaks, great wine and awesome staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Park City
#3 Business Hotel in Park City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#12 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.