We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel with amazing views and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wild Western Wyoming
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel with amazing views and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Starting with the valet at the base of the funicular, the staff was accommodating and friendly. The ride up to the hotel was fun and unique. Once inside the very spacious hotel, the route to the front desk did get a little convoluted and required a trip down a few flights of stairs, but exploring the hotel wasn't too much of a hardship!
The check in was easy (valet had called ahead, evidently!), and the butler was personable and fun. The room was gorgeous (room 101 on the first floor) and well appointed, and the view was of a ski slope, where we watched a herd of deer grazing at sundown. Nice!
The on site bar and restaurant were great, and the spa were all top notch, beautiful and clean.
One thing to consider; this is a pet friendly hotel where pets are welcome in every room. The horribly yappy dog in the room next to ours that barked every time it heard a noise not withstanding. Don't be reticent to complain.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in an area without pets if you aren't traveling with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
DDLee10,

Thank you for your review. It is always such a treat to see the wildlife in our backyard! You are right- we love pets, but please do not hesitate to ask us how we might make you more comfortable in a new room away from noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    80
    52
    23
    5
See reviews for
173
233
11
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently spent a weekend as two couples at the St. Regis for a get-away during low-season. We found that the property has many great features, and a few minor drawbacks. First, we were curious prior to arrival as to how the hotel is accessed via its private train, and whether we would have to schlep our luggage into a funicular. This is a non-issue. Your car is driven up to the hotel while you take the train ride up. The train is just to prevent you from driving your car around in the gated community where the hotel is located. You are allowed to leave the hotel in your car.

When you arrive at the hotel in the tram, you are actually at the back, near the bar and restaurant entrance. You must then wind your way through the hotel and down several floors to reach the lobby. The hotel is laid out in an unusual mutli-floor layout, apparently to be more convenient for skiers. We found ourselves getting lost and turned around even after several days here. While it’s confusing, the public areas are graceful and very attractive. There are multiple outdoor porches with burning fireplaces, and numerous indoor seating areas to relax.

First, the property’s strengths. We loved the restaurant and bar, having several dinners here including a tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cuisine of Chef Baird and wine selection is superb, if pricey. We attended the wine sabering at the bar two nights, and enjoyed the spectacle as well as the good mixed drinks from the attentive bar-tender staff. We also loved the fitness center. It’s the nicest we’ve ever used at a resort, spacious and well-equipped. My wife had a massage in the spa and raved about it, saying it was one of the best treatments she’s ever had. Overall, the staff is attentive and tries hard to please. We received great service at our tasting dinner from the sommelier Johnny.

Now, as to the shortcomings. Even though the hotel was nearly empty and we arrived right at normal check-in time, we were given two rooms on the back of the hotel with a view of the service area and the concrete retaining walls at the back. The hotel is perched high on a promontory and many of the rooms have great views down the valley. Why were we put here? In any case, the rooms themselves were nicely appointed and very comfortable. Our room had a full kitchen and nice seating area with gas fireplace, as well as a fireplace in the bedroom. We especially loved the bathroom mirror that transformed into a flat-screen tv.

A second, larger disappointment stemmed from the hotel’s “butler” service. Frankly, I’m not sure who needs a butler in the 21st century. Nevertheless, my wife and I had reserved a suite for our stay since we wanted to stretch out a bit, and it apparently came with a butler, and free “butler service” coffee in the morning. Our traveling partners had reserved a normal room. Sure enough, when we showed up in the lobby a nattily dressed man with an English accent jumped in the elevator with our group and informed us that he was our butler. His business card stated that he was the head butler for all St Regis hotels in the USA. Stopping on the 5th floor, he waved off our friends and told them their room was “that way.” My wife and I were more than a little embarrassed, especially since our travel companions are far more refined and closer to meriting a butler than we will ever be. He then marched us down to our suite as our friends gave us a quizzical look. Despite his impeccable training, butler-man failed to notice that our suite had no robes (needed to go down to the hot-tubs), that the living room phone was inoperative, or that the water ran brown from the taps for the first few moments (probably because the room had been unoccupied for a long time.) In a somewhat comic manner, he gestured out the windows at the back parking lot and retaining wall and said, “Look, you have a mountain view.” He then disappeared, never to be seen or heard from again.

I tried several times to use butler service by pushing the “butler” button on the phone. In the morning, I called and asked for coffee for our suite. The man on the other end of the line told me that complimentary coffee was served in the lobby, and I should go there. When I asked for it to be delivered, he connected me with room service, who brought it up and charged me for it (the bill was corrected at check-out.) The next day, I rang the butler line at noon and asked for help changing our dinner reservation that evening. I left my cell phone number and was informed that someone would call me back. When I hadn’t heard from anyone by 3 pm, I called the restaurant directly and worked it out. Towards the end of our stay, I realized that the “butler” phone line actually just rang the front desk. All in all, the butler service was more of an annoyance than a convenience. Perhaps it actually serves some function during the busy ski season. For us, it didn’t work.

All things considered, we’d stay at the St. Regis again. We loved the food, amenities and staff. The butler, not so much.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Southernstyle7,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience. We’re happy that you enjoyed the property including the tasting menu at J&G Grill and your hotel suite. I am disappointed to hear about your experiences with Butler Services, as this is not the St. Regis signature service that we expect at our property. I hope that you’ll reach out to me to speak further about your stay with us, in hopes that we can improve for your next visit. I will personally message you with my contact information. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything about the St Regis Deer Valley experience is perfect. From check-in to check-out and beyond my husband and I felt like every need was anticipated and well taken care of. We traveled with our infant son and everyone bent over backwards to make our stay the pleasant trip we were hoping for. Because we didn't want to disturb other guests, we ate dinner in our room and it was incredible - both the food and the service. One of the staff, Robbie, recommended some dishes including the truffle pizza and we were not disappointed. It's been a few months, and I still think about how delicious the food was. I'm anxious for our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Jessie E,
This sounds like a wonderful and relaxing escape. Robbie is has great recommendations and is thrilled that you enjoyed them! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've had apres ski drinks at the St.Regis before, but had never stayed there. I stayed there this past weekend with my sister and we had a fabulous time. The weather was nice enough to enjoy the outdoor heated pool which is a beautiful setting. The champagne sabering in the evening was very special and all the bartenders were knowledgeable of the area and super friendly. Our hotel room (it was a King deluxe) was spacious with a big comfy bed, immaculate bathroom and a great view of the valley. I'd definitely go back here, the service across the board was five stars and during the off-season, you can get great deals on the hotel rooms.
**If you want to eat dinner on Main Street in town, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to take you there and back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
tmorty,
Thank you for writing a second review of your experience with us. We love that you returned to stay for a weekend and had a great time this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful property. Excellent service and very friendly staff. Excellent (but expectedly pricey) food. Room (small suite) was beautiful and spacious with well appointed kitchen. All worth the expense and we would go back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
whynotnow27,

We’re glad you found the service of our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your suite. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great customer service and a beautiful property located on the mountain side in park city! The restaurant has good food and the staff is wonderfully attentive! The spa is wonderful - everyone that went had a fabulous experience! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Teresa S,

Thank you for your great comments about the property and the spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The St. Regis Deer Valley lives up to the St. Regis name and reputation. We stay six days – Great Place for people even if you do not ski.

Not only is the property beautiful, luxurious, and stunning, the service is impeccable. They definitely make an amazing first impression with the entrance - a funicular takes you up to the hotel with break taking views the whole way. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with large comfortable beds with down comforters, a full deep bathtub, a rainstorm shower, and a Juliet balcony. The food is world class and the service is great.

The staff must seem to read your mind and it is amazing how quickly they accommodate any need. The morning coffee and tea @ 5:30 is a big plus to me. The afternoon cocoa and cider bar, the evening champagne toast was a great touch. My wife did the made s’mores outside while it was snowing – she loved it. The St. Regis has an amazing level of service all around.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
edcmoverman,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so excited that you enjoyed your winter visit and hope you’ll be returning this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.4 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 58 in Park City
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.2 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
2.5 mi away
Hotel Park City
Hotel Park City
#4 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
6.6 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#12 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, The St. Regis Deer Valley combines understated elegance with mountain ambiance. As the only resort in North America with a funicular and true slope side ski access, The St. Regis Deer Valley experience is incomparable. With its award-winning Jean-Georges' restaurant J&G Grill, a 14,000 square-foot spa, split-level infinity pool, ski valet service, and year-round family traditions and recreational activities, unique and memorable experiences are waiting at every turn. this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Starwood, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.