We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deer valley gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“deer valley gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

An excellent place for ski in ski out accommodation at deer valley. The facilities are second to none across the board. The concierges were attentive and helpful even though it was a busy period. The kids especially enjoyed the pool, daily smokes and hot chocolate (best ever). The champagne sabrage is a terrific way to let day become night. The only negative is that it lacks any village feel which you can get at other resorts, but if you ever wanted to go to park city (which you may not as the resort has everything) it was a short ride in a cab or courtesy car (it just required some pre thought). For it's size it has been able to maintain a level of personal service for which it should be proud.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    77
    47
    23
    5
See reviews for
167
226
11
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day ski vacation at the St. Regis. It is a beautiful property with one of the best customer service experiences we have ever had. From the butler, to the front desk, the valet, the spa, the ski concierge....all were friendly and genuinely interested in our positive experience. The daily hot chocolate, champagne sabering and smores were all nice touches enjoyed by all in our group. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a unique setting. I've never been to a hotel that has its own funicular. The views are amazing and frankly, I can't remember being at a ski-on/ ski-off hotel either. The ancillary services are also unique. A ski shop with incredibly helpful staff is situated right in the hotel. And for such an upmarket place, they don't really mind if you walk across the lobby in your snowy ski boots and gear. Cool. Regular free shuttles keep the out-of-the-way location from being inconvenient. They'll even take your skis over to other Park City mountains (Park City, Canyons) if you want.

Why I don't go 5*s are the following: first, I was there on business, at a conference. I forgot a charger for my iPad. Not only did they not have any chargers, the response was obviously one that had been rehearsed - "we don't have any chargers and you can't use my personal one." This was a huge inconvenience for me as I had to schlep into town to buy one.

Secondly, maybe it's a Euro/ US thing but the whole tipping culture is one I'm just not used to. Yes, you can offer to do something for me (carry my skis, take off my boots (this was a bit weird, I have to admit - almost medieval - people taking off guests' ski boots), carry my single bag up to my room, open the door to my car), but please don't make me feel bad if I want to do it myself and please don't make me feel bad if I forget to tip you for something I didn't know was tippable. Sorry.

Thirdly, I'm sure the indoor spa is lovely. And the outdoor hot tub, even in the winter, is extremely enjoyable. But if I just want a steam or sauna or hot tub inside, I'm meant to pay $50 for a day pass at the spa. Again, for the price of the hotel, you'd think they wouldn't mind giving you a bit of steam and hot water for free.

The last point is not really a negative, more an observation. My shuttle driver, despite numerous attempts to change the subject, just wanted to talk politics. Part of me actually thinks he did not really believe an uprising (in response to recent gun control initiatives) was imminent, that it was entirely possible that this was just an act, that he was just giving myself and the two New Yorkers in the car a true "Utah experience." But I would caution that less sanguine souls than myself might have had issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There should be a difference between 5 stars and 4. This resort should be a solid 4 star hotel. It is the perfect example of rating-inflation accorded to name brands because of their affiliation rather than what they in fact deserve. A five star hotel should be a "Wow" and this hotel is very good but not incredible.

We stayed during Christmas week. A family of 4 of which 3 are avid skiers and 1 is an avid shopper/spa user. Overall location and look and feel is excellent. The only property in North America to have a funicular. The rooms were quite nice and lots of amenities. Gorgeous views of the ski area and slopes through unfortunately incredibly dirty windows. Remarkably sparse furnishings that barely accommodate winter clothing needs; not well thought out in that respect.

Food is average at best and quite expensive for meager servings. Menu offers limited choices so by day 3 one has exhausted the offerings. Lively and interesting bar. Does not compare well with the food choices and quality in downtown Park City or in the Montage Hotel (as a basis of comparison). Library breakfast bar was an interesting experience each morning and provided much fun as to how confused the staff was in terms of offerings, prices, and virtually everything else involved.

Overall hotel staff is quite friendly, BUT remarkably untrained and quite confused as to what they are supposed to do. Anyone who has stayed at another St. Regis property would be quite disappointed with the service here as it is nowhere near the same level. Concierge services are appalling. Basic inquiries were transformed into complicated problems as if an experiment in advanced physics for the staff. For example, I cannot image that no one ever inquired as to what movies were playing nearby, or at what time the stores are open downtown on Saturday. Concierge sent us in the shuttle 1 hour before anything was even open downtown.

Ski concierge was a nice touch and spoils you rotten—but the Montage (in comparison) had twice as many helpers, were local youths, and each knew the mountain well enough to provide excellent guidance on w where to ski. The St. Regis ski valets were non-skiers South Americans who were attempting to do the job as best as they could but clearly were confused because of lack of training.

The health club was excellent. It had a lot of equipment options, and beautiful views of the mountain. It was clean and well cared for. But, no classes were a real miss, particularly on non-skiers or on non-skiing days. The Spa needed more cleaning and amenities needed re-supply. The actual massage and reflexology were excellent.

The pop-up shop was an interesting idea that was a big hit. It represented many different designers.
However, the general store next door was amazingly useless and during our entire stay we never saw anyone actually buy anything. One wonders about how fresh the food being sold there when no one was buying anything.
The on-site ski shop was excellent. The fact that rentals and ski lift tickets were all available on site was truly special and saved a great deal of time. Skiing right out of the hotel was an additional big plus.

The hotel was fully booked and yet offered no entertainment at night of any kind. Perhaps a jazz quartet or piano player (not a piano playing itself), would have added more ambiance and a feeling of luxury. Lacked any holiday spirit as well.

Leave plenty of time to check out, because that is an experience in itself. It would also have been nice if anyone inquired as to whether we enjoyed our stay. We spoke to a Manager on our own, who nodded in apparent understanding as to our comments but took no notes and never followed up.

In sum, this is perfect example of a very good hotel that deserves to be rated 4 star (or 4 diamonds). A perfect example of a good hotel that should be and can be a great hotel—but is not, it’s just nice and it just ok--its not a "wow".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The St. Regis puts you in the lap of luxury. There are friendly people to help one get their ski boots off and on. The property is a ski in-ski out so it is very convenient. Food is outstanding. Hot chocolate in the afternoon or the St. Regis signature Bloody Mary. Both wonderful.
Extraordinary service.
Only suggestion for improvement is to have a dry sauna availble after returning from the hot tub. There may be one in the spa but that is not as welcoming as a free sauna.

Room Tip: Tip is to bring your own sandals to wear to the hot tub. The slippers are too small for big feet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Awesome place. Over the top luxury. Shuttle service into downtown. Staff is great. Very clean. The funicular was really cool for the kids. It was reasonably priced given the luxury but I was on a group deal. Nice pool and some activities for the kids like badminton and ping pong

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a really love stay here. It is beautiful, quiet, and has great views. The restaurant is amazing and the staff is so attentive. Housekeeping was prompt and worked really hard around our daughter's sleep schedule. Had a couple tough room service orders, but we learned to eat at the main restaurant instead. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#3 Spa Hotel in Park City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#12 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Starwood, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.