We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manhasset, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Exquisite property with awesome views. Our room was upgraded to a suite which was huge.
It was very well appointed with a luxurious bathroom and fine 1/2 bath. Ascending and descending via the funicular was unique but after a while, especially if you forget something the "thrill was gone" The hotel's configuring takes some getting used to, losing your way is a common complaint. Housekeeping was weak at times especially when the room was never made up on one occasion and we left at 8:30 am and returned at 5pm. Management was apologetic and sent us wine and chocolates. The dining room was lovely and the food very good. The outdoor terrace
is sensational. Overall I would recommend this hotel for it's ambience,for the most part it's service and a most accommodating staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    68
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
127
211
9
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights last September using our free nights earned from a Starwood promotion. It was our dog's birthday so instead of leaving her at home while we went to the St Regis in Kauai, we took her on a road trip from LA to Phoenix to Moab to Deer Valley to Lake Las Vegas and back home.

Along the way we stayed at the Aloft Phoenix which was nice, The Monticello Inn which was very noisy and uncomfortable, The La Quinta Inn in Moab which wasn't too bad, The St Regis Deer Valley, and the Lowes Lake Las Vegas which is now a Westin, a nice resort too.

The strange part of the hotel is the funicular, you have to leave your car downstairs, then take the funicular up to the hotel. But when you get your car to leave, they drive it up to the hotel, not sure why they don't just let you drive up there for check-in. But once we checked in and saw our room, we were happy and enjoyed the mountain views. We even saw deer right outside our windows and some moose about 50 yards away. The moose came up to the edge of the patio but by the time we ran downstairs and outside they were leaving up the mountain.

When we checked in we were asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, so we mentioned it was our dog's birthday. To our surprise, later that day they brought up the biggest doggie birthday cupcake and a nice handwritten birthday card from the staff. Talk about personal service, I've never received anything close to this for my birthday from a hotel.

Since we couldn't really dine in the restaurants with our dog, we ordered delivery a few times which wasn't bad. It was about half the price of room service and there's several restaurants with different types of food available from a delivery service we found online. We drove into town once and walked around, picked up some food and drinks. It's too far to walk, the resort is kind of out of the way except for skiing.

Everything was comfortable and up to the level you would expect from a St Regis. Not a whole lot for our dog to do, but she did enjoy sniffing the wildlife from the comfort and safety of our room. As you can see from the photos, she was in heaven at the St Regis.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisDeerValley, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear ToddsVacations,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your past visit and posting these wonderful photos. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations!

In regards your concern with our arrival process. St. Regis Deer Valley is located in a private gated community with very limited access through the gates. The funicular was put in place to give our guest direct access to the hotel without having to drive up through the gates. It is certainly the most unique aspect of our property!

ToddsVacations, we are thankful you were able to stay with us and hope to see you again soon. It is coming up on September again so make sure to wish Suki a happy birthday from all of us here at St. Regis Deer Valley.

Sincerely,
Stan Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world, and the St. Regis Deer Valley was every bit as good (or better). My wife and I spent one night at the hotel to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we were treated to five-star service. The check-in was seamless; the room was available for early occupancy; and we were upgraded to a suite. The hotel has great access to hiking and biking trails and also has a wonderful fitness facility and pool. The J&G restaurant was terrific, with perfectly prepared meals served outdoors overlooking the resort. We enjoyed personal butler service and were treated to a complimentary selection of local beers upon our arrival.

The room was outstanding as well. We overlooked the driveway, but this view also looks out over the mountains and is quite beautiful. The sitting room had a great balcony; the granite kitchen was fully stocked; and the master bath offered a jet tub as well as a rain shower.

I can imagine that it would be tough to replicate the incredible attention and service that we received if we had visited during the peak ski season, but it is a testament to the staff that they maintained a high level of service during their slow season.

We will definitely return. Our experience was five-star from start to finish!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a terrible check in as gold starwood members . Our room was overlooking the driveway which is not good if you sleep with your window open . All in all I felt like they wanted to get away with putting us in a room that was very average and see if we complained . I felt like they were not there to do the best they could for our family but instead what they could get away with . We also waited for 2hrs to get into our room . Althought the front desk girl said she was sorry no other effort was made . I finally had to speak with the manager to get things back on track . He did end up [putting forth effort to make things right but honestly we would rather have had a good check in then be compensated in any way . Why not do the best you can as if your guests were ones you'd have in your own home ????? All in all it was worked out but not without my being worked up . Everything else was wonderful .....bar , resturant , ski valet , maid service .

Room Tip: not sure if many rooms have a view . You need to see the room in advance. Lots of good storage in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Limo gave us option of funicular or loby, so easy bag drop off by loby. My reservation was lost, so fortunately got a room about an hour later, time to enjoy the saber-champagne opening ceremony.
Room had ok, but not very inspiring view. Bathroom lighting inadequate for apply makeup. Comfortable bed, bathroom accesories nice but not as upscale as the montage products, and room considerably smaller. however, service much quicker than the montage
Meeting av good and nice lunch provided on the terrace.
Arranged meeting rate was good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was here as part of a Ladies Bootcamp and it was amazing! The hotel staff went overboard in every way to make sure our time was more than fabulous. They were attentive but not suffocating. The rooms are beautiful - from one bedrooms to suites. We had scheduled hikes and classes - all taught by experienced and motivating staff. You must try the signature Bloody Mary!
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisDeerValley, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear JackieO,

Thank you for your kind words and being a part of our very first boot camp! We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and were able to indulge in some of our rituals such as the bloody mary.

On behalf of everyone here at Sr. Regis Deer Valley, we thank you for your loyalty and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Stan Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I was here as part of a business meeting which took place mostly on property. While some of the quirks such as personal cars and airport van service can only take you only to the funicular at the bottom of the hill, it actually works very well. Hotel staff get the bags from the drop off to your room very efficiently. Food, service, beverage, breakout snacks were all top notch. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. And while it wasn't cheap, we thought it was a very good value. We will be back.

While it generally executed flawlessly, the there two quirks that I was surprised to see. The in room Internet only seemed to like one device at a time even when I had a code. So connecting the iPad with code i was given when i first logged on the laptop disconnected the laptop. Many hotels tell you that your Internet service covers 3 devices. I also found it disconcerting that while the staff wore uniforms and name tags, the managers did not. Some them were in suits with open collars and no apparent ID. Maybe I'm paranoid in this post-9/11 world we live in, but when the bartenders would step out to fetch something, the presumed managers would go behind the bar and start doing things unseen.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#4 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.