We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Not Up to 5-Stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service Not Up to 5-Stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. Booked a Grand Deluxe level room and requested a balcony. Upon check-in were told that all the balcony rooms were taken. We received a room with a juliette balcony. The room was nice, but the view seemed pretty ordinary. It was a 5th floor with a view of the mountain. Not sure it was worth the premium above a standard room.

Overall we had a very nice stay, but it wasn't 5-Star service. What makes a hotel really special is flawless execution. This is where the St. Regis Deer Valley fell short.

No coffee maker in the room. The book of services in the room indicated coffee/tea was available in the lobby until 10:00 every morning. Went down several mornings at 9:30 or 9:45 only to find the coffee/tea gone. Or if not gone, the sterno flame underneath had gone out and the coffee luke warm. One morning all the cups were gone. After the 3rd time called to address our concern. Was told room service would bring tea to our room. One hour later and it never arrived so we left without it.

At check-in we were asked what newspaper we wanted to receive. We requested the WSJ. Every day received a different newspaper and some days didn't receive one. Why bother asking if you can't deliver?

Turn down service at night was spotty. Some nights they assumed one person was in the room and only one side of the bed prepped. Other nights, both sides prepped. I know, these are small things.... but we began to expect mediocre service mid-way through the trip.

Had lunch at J&G one day. Food was ok, but dessert was very good. $75 for lunch for two (no alcohol) seemed a little high, even for a resort.

Overall we had a very nice stay, just some details that need to be worked out. We really appreciated having the car service available to drive us to Main Street. Loved being able to ride the funicular down to the base and take the chair lift mountain biking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear johncidyaz,

Firstly, thank you for commenting on your recent stay at St. Regis Deer Valley. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. However, I am disappointed to hear we fell short, on many accounts, of the bespoke and uncompromising service we have set as a standard for our staff.

Allow me to apologize for the coffee, turn down, room type, newspaper, and any other aspect of the hotel that did not exceed your expectation. Let me simply say that all of us here at St. Regis Deer Valley are able to provide a much better and more bespoke experience for our guests than what you have had the misfortune of experiencing.

Sincerely,
Stan Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    76
    47
    23
    5
See reviews for
163
221
10
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Amazing hotel! Loved everything about it, including the transportation into Park City. Basil vodka lemonades by the pool were awesome as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a hotel designed for skiers so it has some odd deficiencies in the summer months. For example, there is nowhere to have coffee or a snack between about 8.30 in the morning (when they take away the free coffee in reception) and noon when the bar opens. Presumably, in the winter, everyone goes out skiing and doesn't return until late afternoon. Plus there are two entrances, one from the funicular and one from the private road which you only get to travel in a hotel car or when they deliver your hire car to the door. These are actually about 10 miles apart because of being on opposite sides of the mountain! This is not a hotel where I would like to be disabled or just with a twisted ankle - the only way to get between the two sections of the hotel is down to reception and then up again. There are elevators but you need to trek a bit to get to them. Having said that, I agree with the comments about the staff, they are really delightful and don't seem to mind being dressed in the ugliest uniform (both colour and shape) I think I have ever seen. The hotel is really high, about 7,500 feet, so be prepared for breathlessness and, because of the dry air, maybe even nosebleeds. I disagree that every room has a view but where you have a balcony, the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony so that you have a view but they are all nice and the location is fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Ceri W,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on some of the aspects of our hotel. I am delighted to see you found our staff welcoming. It is our goal here at St. Regis Deer Valley to continuously provide bespoke and uncompromising service.

I am sorry to hear the layout of our property and staff uniforms did not meet your expectations. Both aspects of St. Regis Deer Valley are certainly unique!

Please feel free to contact me directly at chelsea.taracks@stregis.com if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,
Chelsea Taracks
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our second trip up to the Regis in Deer Valley. We live in Salt Lake so it's only about a 45minute drive up. We went with friends to hang out, see the Utah Symphony at music festival next door and have a 'resort' experience to relax. We booked the 'Astor' suite which comes with butler service (both outstanding).

We took advantage of the pool area for much of Saturday afternoon. The pool at the Regis is incredible with two hot tubs and a two level heated main pool. You can also get service as we had several drinks brought to us.

The food at the Regis is mostly good although the bars aren't nearly as good as the main restaurant. Also the wine bar closes VERY early which sort of defeats the purpose of a late night wine bar experience. If you are coming back from a night in Park City and looking for a place to hang out and drink into the night, this place isn't it.

Having said all that, the Regis experience is excellent and we felt we got good value for our money. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: try to avoid the lower floors as almost every time I have been there they have had weddings going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Allen A,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I am delighted you were able to have such a wonderful getaway! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed one of our Astor Suites and Butler Services, both very unique attributes to St. Regis.

Allen A, on behalf of everyone here at St. Regis Deer Valley, we thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Stan Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

What a great hotel. More important the staff will do just about anything for you. The management and staff are running at 150%. No kidding. Now, all the rooms are the same, with different views, so don't wast your money on a "grand deluxe" because it is the same as any standard room. Not rally any and views on the property. JG Grill is very good, have the short ribs. Have the house special bloody mary, $18.00 but you have never tasted anything like it. In the summer the rates are great and the service every bit as good. They will drive you to the restaurants around town and pick you up. Go have fun. Great place.

Room Tip: Just ask for a mountain view with a deck. Get the deck if you go in summer. Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 5 nits in the residence in a 3 bedroom with butler service. Service was great. Treated like a VIP. Rooms were spacious with a full kitchen which we used. Great for family. Expensive. Glad the gratuities were in the bill.

Room Tip: Upgraded us from 2 BR to 3 BR during off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was traveling on business and brought my girlfriend thinking that I would give her the ultimate gift but It was not the right timing.... something was just off at your hotel.... The high price which I am accustom paying is fine but something was just missing. The room was fabulous! The view was amazing! The service is still left to be desireable. There is more to customer service with the right staff but this staff is more stuff shirted than I can say!!! I remembering months ago, having an awesome young lady accommodate to my needs.... to come to find out that she has moved on to bigger and better things.... Maybe I should follow her example as well.... I am sorry but the service is left to be overrated!! This will probably be my first and last time at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Michael B,

I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the St. Regis Deer Valley. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your your room and the view, but I am disappointed you experienced areas of shortfall with service.

We strive to provide each guest with a bespoke, memorable experience and the service that you received is not the norm.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss any aspects of your stay further with you and can be contacted at stan.kaminski@stregis.com

Warm Regards,
Stan Kaminski, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#12 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Odigeo, Orbitz, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.