We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We just spent 24 hours at the St. Regis Deer Valley Resort for some R&R after a busy and hectic visit to Salt Lake City. The ski season had ended exactly one week earlier and the resort was practically deserted, which was perfect for us. Even better, the room rate had dropped from over $700 per night to just $179 at the AAA rate!

I've been to some nice resort hotels around the world, but this has just become my new favorite. The architecture takes full advantage of the hotel's idyllic setting (loved the funicular!) and manages to make every part of the hotel feel warm and intimate in spite of its size. We checked out the Waldorf a few miles down the road and it just confirmed that we had made the right choice staying at the St. Regis.

The St. Regis staff was attentive and friendly--but not hovering--and everything about this place was tasteful and high quality without being pretentious. We would have been happy to spend the entire time by the fireplace in our cozy room staring at our amazing view of the snow-covered ski slope, but we just had to check out the ski beach and the outdoor jacuzzi. They were awesome!

I also got an in-room massage, which the hotel arranged since the spa was closed between the end of ski season and Mother's Day. At $120 for 60 minutes (including gratuity), it was actually a great value, and lifting my head at the end of the massage to see snow falling on the mountain was an extra nice touch. ;)

We also had a hard time tearing ourselves away from the breakfast table at J&G Grill, where we sat looking out a big picture window at nothing but snow and evergreens. Oh, the food was wonderful, too! And the service was friendly and very attentive. We had also had the express lunch at the J&G Grill the day before, and were very impressed with the freshness and quality of the food, as well as the service.

The only thing that was less than perfect at this resort was "Sleep Quality", which I rated a 4 instead of a 5 only because the a7,400 ft. elevation made it hard for either of us to fall asleep or stay asleep. The bed itself was wonderful, though, and there's nothing the hotel can do about the elevation, since it's a ski resort. Overall, I rate this place a 6 out of 5.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    61
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
119
201
9
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed at the St. Regis Deer Valley instead of downtown SLC because my meeting downtown wasn't until 11:00 and I'd never been to Park City. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel is right on the ski resort, with it's own ski - out...even though I wasn't there to ski (days past season anyway). The indoor lift to the hotel lobby started the special experience, followed by a courteous and professional staff, highlighted by a first class, young and cool butler named "Thad" who showed me all the pertinent details and ordered up my water and French press coffee for the morning. I got a suite with a view upgrade and wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities. From what I could tell, this should be high on the list for any upscale traveler who wants to ski from the comfort of their ultra-fine lodge. All I have to say is positive, enjoy it if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Get a view of the mountain/ski runs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a great time in all respects. Great rooms, great service, great food and great location. The ski in/out option with the ski valet really makes a ski vacation easy.
This is a first class hotel. Expensive but worth it! When I left my ski boots there on departure one e-mail had them home in just a few days. Excellant service!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I would recommend the St. Regis Deer Valley to anyone staying in the Park City area. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The attention to detail from the slippers and robes to the afternoon hot chocolate made it very special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Fantastic service....Incredible views...J&G grill, delicious food!
Very five star experience...thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The St. Regis is an extraordinary property. The service is fantastic; it is in a perfect location to ski out and ski up to the resort. The staff is very well trained, professional and courteous. The stay is among the best we have ever experienced. We will definitely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Overall, we think this is a great hotel for a ski vacation. Beautiful setting and views and the ski-in/out convenience can't be beat. The ski valet is set up very well and it is very easy to begin and end your day at the hotel. Most of the staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating. You don't get the same sharpness that you may be used to at a hotel of this caliber in a big city setting, but I've found that to be the case at most resort hotels.

We have stayed at a number of really nice hotels at ski locations (i.e. Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch, Four Seasons Whistler, etc.) and would say this was probably the nicest. Rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed. Facilities at the hotel are top notch. The gym, bar, restaurant, outdoor areas, etc. were all beautiful and very comfortable. They seem to anticipate every need.

The couple of issues we had with the place would not prevent us from returning, but might make us rethink timing and length of stay. We were there during a Spring break week and the place was full of families - mostly with young children. Most were well behaved, but there were times when the public areas felt a bit overrun by the youngsters, and unfortunately, some parents would rather enjoy their wine or cocktail of choice rather than remind their children about manners (i.e. cutting in line for hot chocolate, grabbing marshmallows with hands, etc.). This got old after a while.

Also, while we know the hotel would like to maximize their profits, it was tough that they had a very large conference scheduled during part of the Spring break week, and this affected the use and availability of public spaces in the hotel, plus made the place feel too crowded. We also noticed a sharp decline in staff's responsiveness, availability of hotel's car service, etc. when this conference was in full swing - yet we were still paying the same high rate as at the beginning of the week.

Lastly, while we enjoyed both the restaurant and the bar - food was excellent - we missed the fact that the hotel does not have some sort of "quick service" dining/snack option. It would have been nice to have someplace to get a small sandwich or snack.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#3 Spa Hotel in Park City
#5 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.