We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantistic location and amenities, but not a luxury hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver King Hotel to your Saves list
Silver King Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantistic location and amenities, but not a luxury hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Pros
1. Location is great
You are at the base of Park City Resort, just accross the parking lot from the First Time Lift/Three Kings Lift/Eagle Lift

2. Wood burning fire places
These create a very romantic and relaxing atmosphere. The front desk will give you a piece of wood each night to burn.

3. Hot tub and heated part indoor/part outdoor pool
The pool was kept at 90 degrees and the hot tub at 104 degrees. We had a great time in the outdoor part of the pool in the evening and then finished with a trip to the hot tub.

4. Ski locker
You get a locker to keep all your equipment, which then has a door that leads right out to the mountain.

5. Size of the room.
We rented a one bedroom and it was huge. The full kitchen and washer and dryer were a huge plus.

6. Free Parking

Cons
1. The rooms are a bit outdated and vary from room to room. Ours did not look like the photos on the website, but was still fine. (We did not have flat screen tvs and our furniture was not nearly as nice). The washer and dryer look ancient, but seem to work fine.

2. The internet goes in and out.
Not really a big deal if your focus is skiing or riding.

3. The supplies in the kitchen were just so-so. Placemats were very dirty as well as pots and pans. We still made do with what we had.

Overall, we had an amazing trip and would stay here again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    57
    34
    20
    9
See reviews for
85
75
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake CIty
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

I stayed at the Silver King with my wife and two young children. My kids couldn't get enough of the pool, and we liked it too because it was 84 degrees. It felt like a bath tub. There was also a sauna and hot tub. Oh yeah, and there's an outdoor part of the pool, so you can swim while it's snowing!

The staff was very nice and called a few times to see how our stay was going. They have an underground parking garage with private ski lockers. The hotel is right next to the parking lot for Park City Mountain Resort, so it's a short walk to the lift. For what I paid, I should have been a lot further from the mountain. The Silver King can get you lift tickets to all the Park City area mountains so you don't have to wait in line when you get there. They have a shuttle too if you're skiing the other mountains. It's close to the PC mountain base, so there are restaurant within walking distance. It's a short (3 min) drive to main street where all the restaurants and shops are.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We rented one of the condos for a night of fun. It had everything we needed from a nice kitchen to a flat screen tv. The Master bedroom was very nice as well the as the second bedroom. This would be perfect in the winter as you can walk to PC Resort. Great service when we checked in and covered parking so we didn't have to dig out the car in case it snowed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife and I decided to get away to relax for a few days in preparation for the holidays and this was the perfect place to do it. The staff was very friendly upon check in and had many suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Our room was spotless, had two bathrooms, a jetted tub, and a full kitchen. It was right next to the mountain and a 3 minute drive to down town Park City. We had the hot tub all to ourselves, it was very clean and well maintained, and the indoor/outdoor pool was incredibly warm and a lot of fun in the winter time. My wife said the fitness room was just the right size and had everything she wanted too. We could not have been more pleased! I would recommend this place to everyone, and I have.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We had an excellent experience with the Silver King. We planned a weekend getaway and had a great time. The room was very clean. The room was very comfortable. The property overall provided a great locaton for my wife and I to get away. We were very impressed how clean and tidy everything was.

Excellent property

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a weekend getaway. I was a little worried by the reviews and the fact that they are individually owned, but there was nothing to worry about. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly and gave us an excellent room on the top floor. The room was beautiful, updated, and very cozy. The decor was wonderful along with the wood burning stove, sky lights, and jetted tub. The location was perfect. A wonderful weekend all the way around. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Spent the weekend here with my wife. The first room had no cold water. So we could not take a bath or a shower. This was only discovered around 10 pm that night and a call to the front desk said they would call Maintenance the next morning.

The next morning I called down again around 9 and reported the issue again. They were going to send maintenance so my wife and I went to the pool until just after 11. When we got back, the maintenance guy was there and verified no cold water but was calling his boss for ideas. The boss was off that day apparently. He left a bit later to check the boiler.

I called the Front Desk around noon and they reported that they were working on getting us a new room because they could not resolve the issue. Then they called back around 1:30 to let us know they had a room prepared. So we went to the new room with much better decor and had cold water.

We were NOT upgraded in our room. When I checked out the next day we did not receive any discounts. Maybe you have to be an pain to get something which would mean that they only care about customer service if you complain. Which is not customer service but in reality issue resolution.

Be aware that each room is individually owned and decorated and the decor varies. The 2nd room had some nicer items in the room than the original. My wife loved the decor in the 2nd but was not liking the 1st. Me I wanted to use the jetted tub. But could not until my 2nd day there.

So iffy on recommending this place. If there is a problem not sure if they work to resolve or work to shut you up. And if you shut up then they don't care after that. But not 100% sure on that. Just based on my experience. The 2nd day/night was great and have no complaints. Would of rated higher if the 1st room had not been broken and took so long to get it resolved.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas.

Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Odigeo, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.