We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to lifts and bus, Premium rooms are nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver King Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver King Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on your stay!
Ranked #29 of 59 hotels in Park City
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Convenient to lifts and bus, Premium rooms are nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Three in our party stayed at Silver King for spring break March 2114.

Condo: First the lodge is an older style condo (I would guess built in the 70's) with individually owned units so they vary in decorating. Evidently a standard room is dated and premium means remodeled. Our unit was a 1 bedroom (2 bath, kitchen) premium unit which was pretty decent, fairly recently remodeled. Granite counters, newly tiled bath, current furnishings, comfortable king bed and a pull-out. The room had a living room (couch and two chairs, TV) with a kitchen table (seats 6) and was spacious enough to accommodate 5 or 6 but not to sleep. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that we did not try. There is a ski storage area, underground parking and a bus stop across the street. Main Street dining is maybe 2 miles in the car.

Skiing: Our unit backed up to the mountain so we had a view of the resort parking lot and the First Time Lift. It was 1/2 block walk to the lift out the back doors so doable in boots. Pay Day Lift and Legacy Lodge are the base of the mountain and that is about 1 1/2 blocks uphill. It is a good meeting spot with lots of rental, ski shops and several restaurants and a lodge. Small storage is in the basement of the lodge for $6 per 24 hour period and takes credit cards. You can also check your skis at the base but I didn't check that price. We did not go to other resorts this time but Canyons and Deer Valley are easily accessible by shuttle and Alta/ Snowbird are a 45 minute drive. Considering we traveled mid-March spring break the weather was great. 45 degrees with sun (read slush) on 2 days, and white out snow, powder and 20 degrees on 2 other days.

Getting Around: This is not a hotel, there are no restaurants, common areas, etc. We walked to dinner at Legacy Lodge one night and ate at Baja Cantina which was a typical Mexican meal for $50 for 3. We drove to 501 for dinner which was high end burgers and bison, some pasta... pretty decent. We really enjoyed breakfast at the Eating Establishment on Main. Flannery's is typical bar food also on Main and Squatters on 224 about 3 miles was pretty good bar food. Dinner reservations on Main Street during high season are probably a good idea. We tried to hit early dinner and we generally got in without them.

Lift Tkts, Ski Rentals, Concierge: We had a call from Connected Concierge (an off-site concierge service) prior to departure who provided us with discount lift tickets for the trip. The are connected through All Season Resorts who is the booking service/ mgmt for Silver King. They were a decent price (about $22 per person off daily rates) and they delivered them to the condo and we returned what we didn't use and they charged us only for what we used. They also have discounted lessons and equipment. I would recommend their service. Rentals are available everywhere but be sure to get a discount (either coupon available at Info Center, front desk, brochures of about 20% off). We rented upgraded skis for about $20 per day including discount and overnight storage. And the front desk staff is hit and miss, some are terrific while some are not a fountain of info since they didn't know the area well but they all seemed really willing to help. We had some at the front desk really take a lot of time to help. It made a difference having a few minutes of advice every day.

Sadly St Patricks Day is under celebrated in Park City in my opinion. Other than that, love Park City .. just 45 minute drive from the airport, good skiing, snow during spring break, it was great.

Room Tip: Premium rooms mean remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your detailed review , we do appreciate the feed back .You have listed some great tips in our Hotel and in our little Park City , thank you very much. It sounds like you all had a great time and enjoyed the Silver King hotel centralized location and the concierge service that we offer.You also mentioned some points where we need to work on, and this feedback will certainly help us.

Thank you again and We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    52
    27
    19
    9
See reviews for
82
64
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Perfect location for PCMR. It is a bit of a walk to the shopping and dining in Park City, but it is great for getting to PCMR. The public space is a bit dated, but the room was great. I think there is a bit of diversity on what you get from your individual room, but my room was fantastic. There is a shuttle provided if you would like to head to Deer Valley to ski (but not to the Canyons) or to town. All in all, it was a very good experience and I would stay a the Silver King again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your Silver King Hotel Experience . Thank you also for your kind words on the fantastic suite. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel location as well as the Shuttle service.

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Silver King for 4 nights for a ski getaway in March 2014. Great location just at the base of Park City Mountain Resort. Walk across a parking lot and you are at the mountain. Plus a complimentary shuttle and bus service meant I could get to Deer Valley Ski Resort or the restaurants and shops on Main Street in minutes.
Very helpful and friendly staff at the hotel. Lockers for your skis, gym, pool, hot tub. And the condo I stayed in was really nice. Studio, pretty spacious, very clean, cable flat screen tv, kitchen, good size bathroom.
Will absolutely stay here again next trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking precious time off to leave us a review about your Silver King Hotel experience.Thank you also for your kind words on the impeccable rooms and its amenities and bespoke service. We are delighted that you have had a memorable stay and enjoyed the perfect Hotel location.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

First, the location can't be beat if you ski Park City Mountain Resort! There is a back door, accessible from the ski storage room, taking you directly to the main parking lot of the ski area. No problem walking with ski boots on from your room to the lifts or ski rental shops.

We stayed at "premium" grade room 505 on the top floor. The room was very nice size for a family of four, with a separate bedroom and two baths. There is a kitchen but I would not recommend it for serious cooking as the pots and pans and knives leave a lot to be desired and the stove was not great either. The setup was very functional for fixing breakfast though. Our room had a partial skylight which was nice but represented a bit of a problem as it didn't have curtains and lit up the room until quite late at night. The furniture was comfortable except for the beds which caused some back pain for my wife.

The main problems with the hotel are poor maintenance and well-intentioned but somewhat amateurish staff. Everything was a bit run down, to the point that we nearly flooded the room as the bath faucet handle fell off (!) and could not be shut off. We had a couple of similar maintenance issues with the room. The staff tried to help, but often took a long time doing so (probably overburdened by similar issues with other rooms). The room was not too clean and the daily housekeeping run was very superficial. The dishwasher was pretty useless and the glassware had lipstick stains from previous visitors despite a few rounds in the dishwasher.

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub on the third floor - what a nice way to wind down after an intense day of skiing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Silver King Hotel is very good for skiers. We liked having the kitchen and even cooked dinner in one night. Our room looked very similar to the pictures on the website. The bed and furniture were very comfortable. The older "low-flow" toilet was a bit of a challenge. The large shower was great. It was also convenient to have the washer and dryer. It was easy to walk to the lift at Park City. Several of the free bus routes had stops right in front of the hotel, so It was easy to get to Deer Valley and the Canyons for skiing and also to Main Street for shopping and restaurants. We rented a car from Budget, which was right next door, and drove over to Alta/Snowbird to ski for the day. The property is older, but had everything we needed for a week of skiing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a great hotel for skiers! I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Silver King is within walking distance of the Payday Lift at Park City Mountain resort. The city shuttle bus stops are right outside the main entrance. They also have a courtesy van that can take you throughout Park City proper, which is wonderful. I found all of the front desk representatives to be very nice and helpful, as well as the courtesy van driver. The only thing keeping this from a five star rating is that my room seemed a bit worn out - paint peeling in the bathroom, and cabinetry in need of being refinished. The furnishings however seemed new. I'd stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I greatly appreciate it. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and my staff was friendly and helpful. If you want to ensure you get an updated unit book a premium versus a standard unit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our room is a little run down, but the location can't be beat! The shuttle bus stops right outside the door. Clean pool. What else can one ask for!! Super convenient for running back and forth for dropping stuff off. One bedroom suite had two full baths, perfect for a family of five.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us! If you want to ensure you have an updated unit book a premium and not a standard. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas.

Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.