We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver King Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver King Hotel to your Saves list
Silver King Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $100 Instantly!
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I chose Silver King because it's part of the Allseasons Resort Lodging and a friend of mine had already stayed at different properties of the group in Park City, with good experiences.
I spent 10 days in Park City with my husband and a friend. The hotel has a good location if you're planning to ski only PCMR. If you plan to ski in Deer Valley, Cannyons or Snowbird, you'll need to take the bus or a car anyway. So being that close to PCMR is not that important.
The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious, but that's all. Even though the room was big, the drawers were small to fit skiing outfits and gear.
From day one, a light bulb was burned out and was never replaced.The TVs were not properly working and we had to have them checked twice.
The worst, for me, was the housekeeping service by far. When I layed down on the floor (1st day of my stay), to strech before going to the slopes, I noticed a napkin under the sofa from previous guests. Well, the napkind stayed there until we left 10 days later. Like 2 M&Ms I accidentaly dropped by a chair 3 days before leaving. Since I was already fed up with the service, I didn't pick them up. Neither the housekeeping service did.
I wasn't expecting luxurious accomodations and services, but I was expecting cleaninless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay at the Silver King Hotel.We appreciate your kind comments about the great locations and we are always pleased to see that our staff has extended the warm hand of hospitality during your stay.
On behalf of the Resort, I apologize that we fell short of delivering that level of service that you deserve and expect from us. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have also shared your comments with Housekeeping, Engineering. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that affect your stay and we hope you will change your mind and wish to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    53
    28
    19
    9
See reviews for
83
67
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with 4 buddies. Overall, very happy with the stay:

Positives:
1. Great location - right next to mountain so might not need a car if you're only planning on Park City Mountain
2. In room hot tub - outstanding
3. Rooms have rustic feel to it
4. Fully equipped kitchen, so fun for hosting

Negatives:
1. Had some minor plumbing issues
2. Very annoying - the magnetic strip on the keys lose their validation easily. Had to get a new key every time I wanted to get back into my room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had issues with your keys. We updated the quality of our key cards so this is not an issue anymore. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Silver King is located at the bottom of PCMR with great views of the mountain. A short 10-15 walk will take you to Main street where most restaurants and shopping is located. The hotel really needs some upgrades like new carpeting, new appliances in the rooms, fresh paint etc. The kitchen lacks even the bare minimum of kitchen supplies, so don't plan on making and large meals here. Some more cleaning wouldn't hurt either. One plus is the hot tub and pool from which one can swim from the inside to the outside. Over all I feel like it's a bit overpriced but the great locations is sill a plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your most recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about the great locations and views ,as well as our outdoor/indoor pool.Guest satisfaction is very important to us, and we apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional.Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and we will be sharing your feedback with our Management Team and Housekeeping leaders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santaquin, Utah
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

for the price i paid during peak winter ski season, i felt like i got my moneys worth from the deal website i purchased through. paid 133.00+tax for 1 bed spa room #202. Had full size , newer hot tub in room which was great. Could have used nicer pillows on the bed instead of flat ones. Laid on the sofa bed with the kids and all you could feel was the springs in your back. Fine for kids but couldn't have slept on that bed. Shower in kids bathroom and Jetted tub in master bath. outdated kitchen but nice enough for what we needed. had all the essentials. no flat screens in family room or bedroom. only 1 dvd player in family room but moved it to our bedroom. Had everything we needed and seemed decently clean but is definitely older hotel. Had old stacking washer dryer. nice to have dryer to throw swim suits and towels in. This was considered a "standard" room you can pay extra for "premium" rooms that have the updated kitchens and bathrooms. we stayed in # 202. which was right by the road and front desk. this was noisy with the bus stop out front of your patio door. Overall had what we needed - couldn't expect more for the price during peak season. Would prefer premium room if you were staying for long period of time. also make sure to not count on the couch bed for adults.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a "standard" 1 bed spa unit. No Flat Screens. Outdated kitchen but in good con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiance with Silver King Hotel. I was pleased to see that you were able to enjoy the hot tub in your room and that you got a good value. Each of our units is individually owned and furnished according to the owner's preferences.While our standard rooms meet our minimum standards we do offer a Premium room type which will feature updated kitchens, bathrooms, and other furnishings throughout the unit.
Thank you again for your Feedback as it helps us focus on the areas that need improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Besides the connivence of the location( approx. 50 yards walk from Park City ski resort ) the free bus system is right outside the front door. If that isn't enough there is a hotel free shuttle to anywhere you want in PC. From the room stand point, our room was clean and stocked with the needed items to use the kitchen. Also the front desk personnel were friendly and accommodating.
No complaints!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear what a great experience you had staying with us! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansbury Park, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for over 20 yrs off and on. Some of that time we have resided in Utah and more of that time, we have resided in Seattle area.

We have had celebrated our anniversary, Mother's Day, Bday's and Valentines and attended summer Art Festival's, frequently,staying at this hotel(area) always at SilverKing except for a three day stay one time( at Shadow Ridge a day) as Silver King was booked.

We traveled to Utah and stayed at the Silver King for the Olympics, and two Christmas's since we have lived in Seattle area the past several yrs.

Our favorite thing about the SilverKing is the availability of hot tubs in your own private room, the updated decor and most of all, probably, the indoor/outdoor year round pool and exercise/sauna rooms.

WE also reatly appreciate, this year,(new to us from last yr?) at parking garage level, the vending machines wwhich held products you may need, such as mini sewing kit or aspirin etc.!!
Also greatly appreciate the underground parking.

About all he SilverKIng needs now to be perfect, is a kitchen for room service.
HOWEVER, there are many places that deliver food and many places of great food fare are close at hand!!

Room Tip: Try to speak with actual person at the desk of the hotel, corner suites are busy outside but beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
That is so wonderful you have stayed with us for so many years and continue to do so! That is great to hear. Thank you so much for your review. I greatly appreciate it. Hopefully you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visited Park City for the first time to ski and although Silver King s not a fancy hotel, we had everything we needed. Yes it is a little dated and from what I understand is that the studios or condos are owned by different owners and the hotel just manage the rental so to speak so I guess they can varied quite a lot.....we were advised to book a deluxe so by paying an extra $20-$40 it was worth it from the reviews I've read here.....we stayed in 407.

Location:
- Perfect for skiing at Park City for you just walk across the car park and you're at the slopes!
- Very close to Main Street & Park Ave where most restaurants are, and there're hotel shuttles that can take & bring you back for free (very good service - Bill & Kevin), otherwise public buses are free and runs very frequently

Service:
- We arrived around 3pm and none of the young girls at the front seemed to know what they were doing, really a bit wired....then service changed at night with professional service, so don't know why they have these girls during the day...Jacquelyn is super helpful, caring, and very personable! Also Garry the manager is excellent too! They really looked after us during our stay especially with our late night departure!

Room Tip: 407 was nice & quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! It's greatly appreciated. We hope you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas.

Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.