We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver King Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver King Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on your stay!
Ranked #25 of 59 hotels in Park City
Ogden, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as a little mini anniversary gift. The room was nice enough until we discovered some issues. First, the knob that switches the shower to tub was broken so all we could get was the shower. When we tried to pull it up to fill the tub, the water shot straight out of the pull. Second, the flat screen in the master bedroom wouldn't work...at all. It wouldn't even power on. Lastly, we left a candy bar sitting on the kitchen counter and the next morning it had been drug half the length of the counter and had the chocolate nibbled off. This can only be attributed to unwanted furry mouse guests (or rats maybe).

The next morning, we reported these three items to the front desk and they of course apologized. However, that was it. No mention of a discount on our stay or anything. They did tell us we could expect a call from management and to this day we haven't heard a word. It was a nice place to stay but it could definitely use some improving.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm truly sorry to hear about the issues you encountered staying with us. I just recently took on the GM position here at the Silver King. I'm working closely with my team to ensure the issues you experienced do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    53
    27
    19
    7
See reviews for
79
64
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here during Sundance 2012 - the staff were very friendly, always ready to offer advice. The free transport into the city was a lovely bonus. Our room was huge and had everything we needed - it was comfortable and warm, especially with the fire on! We'll certainly be back!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I was visiting Park City and stayed at the Silver King August 2 to 6, 2012. A number of friends and I chose Park City for our annual destination reunion and one of our members coordinated the hotel accommodations. I stayed in Unit 403. While it was mostly clean and spacious, it was lacking a pair of scissors and the carpet could use a good steam cleaning throughout (also a good vacuuming around the nightstands in the bedroom). We chose the Silver King because it was different from the typical hotel and had more of a "resort feel" to it. Anne at the front desk was excellent at check in. Julia at the front desk was able to resolve an issue I had with my gift card at check in. She went beyond the call of duty to ensure I received a card I could use. The bed was very comfy and I slept well. The fully equipped kitchen was excellent as I ate breakfast in most mornings. The location for the hotel is ideal because the bus stop is nearby to get you to many areas, Main Street is within walking distance (if you love to walk) and Park City Mountain Resort is just out the back door and very close by. Should I return to Park City, I would consider the Silver King again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear how well you were taken care of and how much you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a girl's getaway with my sister at the Silver King in July. The suite with the hot tub was okay. No chlorine smell, as noted by other reviewers. Or room was not updated, so it felt a little shabby. The sleeper sofa was a joke...it was unusable because it literally required sleeping on springs covered by a thin cloth. We ended up sharing the other bed, which worked out fine, but thank goodness there were only two of us! The pool facility was nice. I was under the impression it was close to Main Street, but it was a 20+ minute walk. Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. While Main Street is a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel Park City offers a free bus system that picks up across the street from the hotel and can take you to Main Street, the shopping centers in the Kimball Junction area, as well as all three ski resorts.

While our standard rooms meet our minimum standards we do offer a Premium room type which will feature updated kitchens, bathrooms, and other furnishings throughout the unit. These typically are sold 10-20% above our standard room rates. They typically fill very quickly so you'll want to try to reserve them in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, LR, DR, full kitchen, laundry ... this place has it all. Newly renovated( granite counters, new carpet, ) very large unit. Grocery store is across the street as well as a Starbucks. Historic Main Street is very close also. The LR has a hottub ( no oder) and master bath has a jacuzzi tub! There is also a game table in the LR that the kids loved. Julia at the front desk and the general manager (don't recall name) were very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: I don't think I would wany a room right next to the pool( at pool level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! I appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

stayed at Carriage House Condos, but used Silver King as the front desk. Anne was extremely helpful with a restaurant gift card issue. Great service.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I'm happy to hear you were well taken care of! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in the past with friends and enjoyed it, so we decided to take advantage of a deal they were having and go with our 2 young children for memorial day weekend. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Spa Room. The room was pretty nice, but in need of a little updating.

Pros:
-The price- we got a great deal for staying 2 nights
-Size- plenty of space, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen
-Hot tub in the room
-It was pretty quiet during night time hours so we slept well
-Flat panel TV and fireplace in living room
-Box TVs in Master bedroom & second bedroom
-The indoor/outdoor pool was great & it also had a large hot tub. Our kids loved it!
-Very thorough maintenance staff- The hotel had turned off the heat for the year, but it was unseasonably cold while we were their. They brought us some space heaters and gave us some ideas for circulating the air so it would warm up more quickly.

Cons:
-Carpet and Cabinets in need of some updating. The carpet seemed a bit old and dirty, and the cabinets had lots of scratches and could have used a coat of stain.
-The doorknob & blinds in the master bedroom were broken
- The master bathroom had a jetted tub, which I don't like in hotels because they are so hard to keep clean. Our kids take baths so we had to use it anyway.
-the hot tub in our room only had a bubble wrap cover on top of the water, so we were a little worried about our kids trying to climb in when we weren't looking. When we stayed there with friends in the past the hot tub had a hard cover. Maybe it just depends on the room you get? You might want to check on that if you have young children and are staying in a spa room.
- Although the maintenance staff was very quick to come up and help fix problems, I wished they would have fixed those problems before offering the room.

We would probably stay here again, because we need the extra rooms with our children. However, unless we were able to get a great deal on the price again I would probably try to find some other places first.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Seasons Resort Lodging welcomes you to the Silver King Hotel, conveniently located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort. Sophisticated mountain luxury, attention to historic detail, and an unrivaled location- The Silver King Hotel embraces them all. This luxury Park City hotel offers amenities like jetted tubs, wood-burning fireplaces, ski lockers, an indoor/outdoor pool, and concierge services- just to name a few. Historic Main Street, celebrated for its gourmet restaurants and charming art galleries is located less than a mile from this Park City hotel and is quickly accessible with our private, complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.