We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has all you need, at great price and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Save Saved
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 hotels in Park City
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Has all you need, at great price and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Had to write a review after seeing the negative comments. Just got back from a stay here after taking a ski trip with my husband, two young kids (4 and 6) on a whim. Got a great price for the studio. I was nervous it was going to be small for us...but it really had everything you needed (washer/dryer, full kitchen, eating area). It was great to walk to the slopes next door, or the shops. Kids loved the outdoor heated pool and spa in our building. Cleaning staff was very friendly and nice. We have stayed at many higher-end places...but I would stay here again. I was impressed they utilized the space perfectly. If we went with another family perhaps a bigger unit or townhome may be better...but for a couple or small family the studio unit was great. Oh yeah, Starbucks coffee free each morning in the lobby...so you don't even have to brew some! And free underground parking was nice.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
55
37
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

I keep coming back here due to the great location close to the main gondola, the friendly staff, comfortable accomodation and of course the great snowboarding to be had at the Canyons

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I came her for a professional conference and had stayed at this hotel before. The place has slipped substantially since it opened, on virtually every index. The quality of the service, hotel maintenance, room service, housekeeping - all substandard for the price of the accommodations. They offer internet service in each room, which rarely worked, despite multiple complaints (I'll let IT know, was the common refrain). The only redeeming feature is the location - a quick walk to the Flight of the Canyons puts you on track to some pretty good skiing and snowboarding. But as far as the hotel goes, they have a lot of work to do.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The staff at the Sundial was really nice and accomodating. We had tons of questions and they were eager to help. The room was simple but what we really loved was that there was a refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven and coffee maker in our room. A tiny kitchenette was supplied with forks, knives, spoons, and cups. We took the free shuttle to the local grocery store and saved a lot of money on dining out. The shuttle also took us into town and took us back when we were ready. Also available was a small washing machine and dryer just outside our door which was great! The Sundial even supplied detergent and softener for free! Housekeeping was really on top of their game. Snowboarding and Ski rentals were just outside the door and our room was just a few feet from the gondolas making ski in and ski out super easy. This wasn't a fancy or super elite place to stay but it was very accomodating, nice and clean. I'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I can't imagine who is giving this place a halfway decent review unless they are used to living in filth. We chose to book here and get a "suite" because we were told by the woman on the phone that it was better than a room at the Grand Summit. Big mistake!! There was nothing sweet about it.

I was so disgusted by the bed that I laid towels down on the sofa and slept there. There was a nice dried blood stain on the comforter - are you kidding me? We asked for a humidifier because the rooms were so dry it was stifling - first, they put us on a wait list; second, they never called about it; third, if they did we wouldn't have known because the phones didn't work; fourth, when we inquired again the front desk girl did not know what a humidifier was; fifth, need I go on??? Ok - stains on the floor, housekeeping staff that came into our room even though we had the privacy hanger on the door, refused a late check out even though our flight was cancelled so we had to buy a whole other night (gee, I guess there was room to give us a 4pm checkout!!!) I'm speechless.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

A major disappointment. What a shame the Sundial is everything you'd expect...from a college dorm. The room was a complete pit: long dark hallways, tight spaces, stained carpets, towels befitting a youth hostel. The service was abysmal. Multiple requests to clean the floor were met with broken promises. Small lobby, unfriendly reception desk, the list goes on. On both nights of my stay, drunk couples were stuck in drunken embraces in the hallways. At least that was entertaining. As for location, the Canyons is not a great resort locale but the hotel is perhaps the second closest to the lifts (The Grand is closer). When I return next to Park City, I'll be staying closer to Deer Valley. So should you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Loved the location and if you're here during a Saturday music festival in The Canyons you cannot beat the view. But we were disappointed with the room - we expected a 2 bedroom w/ loft & an sofa bed condo, but it's really 2 adjoining hotel rooms with a kitchen in one. If you leave the door open between the adjoining rooms to maximize the space and to keep an eye on the kids in the other room - you cannot get into the kitchen, and block 2 closets. Very poor room layout. Also, if you sit on the furniture on the balconey - you cannot see the view as you are staring at a large log railing....You have to stand to appreciate the view - how relaxing is that? We were there for 10 days and we learned that there is no cleaning service during your stay (other than trash & towels), you cannot even borrow a vacuum or broom to tidy yourself. Also, there weren't enough chairs by the pool, which while very warm - was situated by a dusty construction parking lot....very much an afterthought. The Westgate across the courtyard has better pool/amenities.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundial Lodge is located just steps from Red Pine Gondola and an unparalleled ski experience. Positioned in the heart of Canyons Resort Village, Sundial places a premium on vibrancy. Within easy walking distance to ski school, Ski Beach, Murdock's Cafe, restaurants and fabulous resort shops. Sundial is a 35 mile drive from SLC Airport and 4.2 miles from Park City’s historic main street. It’s where the action is! Sundial invites guests to take advantage of complimentary WIFI, free underground parking, ski storage, fitness room, rooftop hot tub and heated outdoor pool all in a warm and energetic ambiance. As of 12/1/12 the majority of Canyons managed lodging accommodations in, Sundial Lodge, will have been refurbished as part of a $1.5 million renovation plan. Guests will enjoy a brisk walk to the Grand Summit for access to the spa, The FARM restaurant, Red Tail Grill, childcare, horse drawn sleigh rides, outdoor adventures and Canyons famous alpine breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.