We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by some of the negative comments here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Save Saved
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% On Your Stay!
Ranked #23 of 58 hotels in Park City
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprised by some of the negative comments here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. It's not in the same class as St. Regis or the Waldorf-Astoria, so I'm not sure what people are expecting. If you want more, pay for it. Overall, this was a very great place. We had a two-bedroom suite.

Clean rooms, comfortable sleeping conditions, convenient location, attentive staff, underground covered parking, nice kitchen. My only issues with our kitchen were the little storage space for non-perishable groceries (the cupboards were near capacity with pots/pans/kitchen utensils/ etc). The other issue was that more than two people can't be in the kitchen or it gets crowded.

The bedrooms were great, with very comfortable pillows and beds. The couch even folded out for an additional third bed. One bad set up was with the TV, which was recessed into the wall with cupboard doors blocking the side view. You pretty much had to be at the table for a straight on view of the TV screen. The view was blocked if you were on the couch, except for one end. But we weren't there to watch TV, so not a big deal, but might be more of a pain if you were there in the winter with shorter daylight hours and wanted to watch a movie on the couch.

I had a great experience with the overall service and found it to be excellent. No problems at all. Our housekeeping was fantastic. I asked them for two towels and within a couple of minutes there was a knock at the door. Surprised me. Check in and out was easy.

We had a great time taking the gondola up to Red Pine. There were several mountain bikers that were fun to watch. We hiked up to the lake, to take my 4-year-old niece on a paddle boat and were glad we followed the staff's recommendation to bring water.

The view from our room was excellent, especially in the morning with the soft light shining on the mountains above. The location is about four miles or so to Main Street, which is fine. But there are several dining and activity options at The Canyons. I even saw a State Liquor Store not far away. The pool isn't huge and is full of families with kids. If you're single and looking to hook up or find a scene, this didn't look like the place.

Overall great spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We're incredibly happy to hear how wonderful your stay was. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    19
    13
    11
See reviews for
60
43
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Absolutely relaxing!! Rooms are cozy with fireplaces and very accommodating as they have contemporary kitchens with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. There is also a private washer/dryer. Rooms with balconies are awesome and have great views. Excellent Housekeeping staff are friendly and keep everything spotless. The outdoor pool has a hot tub and fire pit. The Front desk staff Kristen (Manager) and Ryan make you feel welcome and comfortable. Free outdoor concerts are an added bonus with great entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were out in a corner room that did not fit the description the reservationist gave us. When I asked the front desk what we could do I was told that I should trust Internet pictures...seriously?! We asked very specific questions of the reservationist and did not rely on the Internet pictures...and there was no resolution...staff took a take it or leave it attitude. The whole situation was so absurd we laughed about it after we left the front desk...we were extremely kind and not confrontational so to be treated like that absolutely blew us away:-(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We're unsatisfied with the level of customer service that was experienced here. We care immensely about our guest's satisfaction and entire vacation experience, and if your condominium isn't an integral part of that equation we want to correct things and ensure it is. We're eager for an opportunity to rectify this experience and encourage you to reach out and contact us so we can do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved our room and the location! That is, once we got in.

We were met with a not so nice front desk agent who was rude and not helpful at all. He was more interested in watching his movie on the couch than assisting us while we were waiting for the maintainance guy to replace our keys. He didn't care that it took us almost an hour to get to our room.

Once we were in, we were happy, but as working in the hospitality industry myself, I was not thrilled with the service we received. When complaining the next morning, we were told that the employee was not connected to the company who handles the reservations and they couldn't really do a lot.

All in all, great room and good experience. If we are ever in Park City again, we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your poor service experience. There are two front desks for the different management companies that operate at Sundial Lodge. I apologize this resulted in confusion and lack of service. We have expanded the hours at our desk so you shouldn't encounter this problem in the future. I am please to hear you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you plan to return. We look forward to seeing you again and we will be working hard to be sure you have a great stay from start to finish.


Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We got an awesome deal here and paid a fraction of what my friends paid at other 5 star hotels nearby. Rooms wetre nice (we got an upgraded one) and although our view was not great the room was just so rustic and cozy. Sparkling clean and so ideally located. Service left room to be desired as we checked in late and had issues getting into the garage. Happy we stayed here.

Room Tip: Get upraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We're ecstatic to hear about your stay! We love our great deals too and can't wait for you to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The camping feel, smells and sounds but down filled comforters and soft beds, smokeless fires and heated swimming!
super value in the off season. not as many activities available, but if you want to get away and enjoy the outdoors you will have the place to yourself. There is an outdoor fire, heated outdoor pool, indoor fireplaces in several places throughout the hotel so you can have one all to yourself. Even the cheapest rooms had their own balconies with views of the mountains or grounds. We also had fridge, microwave, plates cups and utensils for the times you didn't want to go out. The staff was very attentive as there were so few guests

Room Tip: For value, get the one room without the fireplace, and use the public fire pits as you will most lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We love having guests take advantage of Park City and the Sundial during the off season. Great rates, green mountains and a sense of quiet hard to find anywhere else. Glad to see you were immersed, we look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelton, ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I, both in our 20s and experienced travelers booked a stay here after some intensive research. I have to say, I was less than impressed with Sundial at Canyons.

After traveling for hours, (we're from the Northeast), we finally arrive, exhausted, at Sundial, with ski bags, boot bags, and two suitcases apiece. The concierge didn't look up from what he was doing at his desk, and said, "What can I help you with?" Surrounded by our luggage we kind of just stared at him, like, "really?" He checked us in in two seconds, not explaining one thing about the property (where to eat, how to take the shuttle downtown, ski valet, where the actual "ski in/ski out" was) Our experience quickly changed when we met Michael, the bellman and seemingly man of all talents, (he grabbed us cabs during our stay, delivered towels at one point, etc). He walked us to our room, chatting comfortably the entire time, came out and stood on our balcony pointing things out and explaining everything to us. He was wonderful.

That night I encountered a catastrophe (not really) when I realized I had forgotten my charger to my digital camera. After calling the front desk and seeing where I could buy a battery, they told me to come down - they have chargers of all shapes and sizes for when people forget theirs. It was fantastic.

This hotel is one hotel of maybe 5 or 6 that are all on the same property, its hotel city and very commercial. You are surrounded by 1000s of people constantly, most of them children ages 2-8. Canyons is very popular for families.

The room. The place is spotless, clean, spacious, with a little kitchenette area and living room. Our room was right next to the hot tub, which is on a heated patio that connects two sides of the building. The hotel is about 7 floors, the "rooftop" hot tub is actually on the 3rd floor. Despite being so close, we were unable to hear anything from outside when the door was closed. The bed was a California King, down blankets and pillows - I have to say the room got very warm, we initially had it at 68, but ended up leaving it at 62 overnight to not overheat. The room was wonderful and comfortable, and right outside there is a washer/dryer for laundry and they supply soap and dryer sheets. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub, and if you call the front desk (which actually rings to a different hotel on the property, and you have to wait to be transferred to your own hotel...) to request robes, they will bring you up white fluffy ones, which were convenient for us to walk out to the hot tub in. WARNING: The floor to the jacuzzi in the room has absolutely NO grip. I slid and fell getting in and out of the shower several times during my stay.

The hot tub. Actually, it wasn't the hot tub, the hot tubs great. The kids. This is NOT a place to go for a romantic ski vacation. We had some notion in our head it was going to be like staying at Vail Cascade, where we had been to previously (a quiet hotel that sat on its own, with two of its own restaurants and a private ski in/ski out lift with a complete ski valet.) This place was like DisneyWorld - mountain version. 1000s of kids, running around, screaming, chicken fights in the hot tubs, crying, (at one point one got a bloody nose in the hot tub, blood everywhere). We figured out a way to get around this by not going in the hot tub between 5p-8p and going downtown for dinner, later on. We'd also go in the hot tub early, before going out skiing, the front desk had no problem with us taking the cover off and firing up the jets before 0800.

Ski In/Ski Out - This is NOT ski in/ski out. The gondola is 200 yards away, NOT 200 feet - you have to walk in your boots and with ski equipment. The valet will only hold your skis, its like a big closet that had ski racks. Pretty much you're constantly lugging your stuff around.

The elevator: The elevator was notoriously slow. Luckily we were on the 3rd floor, so we began just using the stairs. Besides that, there is no service elevator. Of the few times we rode it, we were in the elevator cramped up with an entire dumpster on wheels filled to the brim with garbage. Disgusting.

Downtown: A free shuttle takes people every hour downtown, its a quick 10minute ride.

There is no restaurant in the hotel. You need to venture outside to one of the 6 the neighboring hotels to grab something to eat. I suspect the families that came brought their own food and made breakfast in their rooms utilizing the kitchen area. We normally eat an enormous breakfast, skip lunch on the mountain and then go to dinner. There was no where to get a huge breakfast, unless you went to the buffet in the Grand Summit - which was sub par with not a huge selection. I recommend asking the front desk different places to eat, we ate at Murdock's every day and had a bagel or a parfait in the morning, then ate at one of the places on the mountain. (In 4,000 acres there's maybe 6 places to eat, and only 2 of them are actual lodges to sit and relax at)

Spa: Westgate Spa. Phenomenal. Do go. Ask for Alisa A.

In summary - DO NOT GO HERE FOR A ROMANTIC GETAWAY. Do go here if you have small kids and need rooms that have a kitchen area. For couples, or groups of adults, rent a house, rent a car, and venture to Canyons but explore the nearby areas, Deer Valley, Snowbird, Alta, and Park City Mountain.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and spacious, and having one in a high traffic area, we experienced no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We're equally frustrated at the issues this guest encountered. Although we're happy to see their issues were rectified at the end of their stay, we do want every guest to know our front desk agents receive continual training and that input like these help us hone in our customer service and provide the great customer service experience so many of our guests receive. We encourage this guest to contact us prior to a future stay to see if there is anything we can do to rectify their issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#14 Business Hotel in Park City
#26 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.