We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort! Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 1 Night, Get 1 FREE!
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Plano, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice resort! Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location is the key to this lodge in my opinion. Walk out the door about 200 feet and your at the gondola that takes you up on the mountain. The lodge is very nice, well kept, incredibly friendly staff. We arrived a bit early, so our room wasn't ready. No problem, they happily stored our luggage while we grabbed a bite next door a sports bar, Drafts (see my review).

Came back, got the room and checked in. Was traveling with my wife and 23 year old son and had booked a 1 BR. It was nice, full kitchen, stainless appliances and all the necessary kitchen necessities.

We realized that the 1 BR, 1 BA was not going to work, so I went to the front desk to inquire about upgrading to a 2 BR, 2 BA. Ryan at the front desk was extremely accommodating. He said the didn't have anything right away but could move the next day. I went down then, he let me have keys to the two types of 2 BR suites, and we moved. It was much nicer, with 2 private baths, a bigger sitting area and 2 fireplaces with a large balcony overlooking the resort. Quite nice accommodations. This was extraordinary customer service. Thanks, Ryan!

The property was upgraded recently per the front desk and it showed. Very clean, staff all very friendly. Ski rental, small market, several food choices in the resort which was nice. But like all resort food kind of pricey, so best to head towards downtown Park City for a more reasonably meal.

Only small complaint which I have with most hotels: the pillows are too darn soft; both myself and son woke up with cricks in our necks. Might figure out a way to offer firmer pillow options.

Overall, would heartily recommend this property. Oh, and I hear the snow in Utah is pretty good too!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the main plaza ( I think they're the even numbered rooms); otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We heartily concur that the Sundial's location is one of its best features! Glad to see you were able to take advantage of its proximity to the resort and lifts. Great tip about the restaurants down town too, as most are just a free ten minute shuttle ride away. We hope you'll think of us for future skiing (or mountain biking) trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    78
    21
    14
    12
See reviews for
94
60
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice lodge. Not elegant but that's not what we look for in a ski lodge. Nice rooms and very close to the gondola. Located right in the village so ski shops and restaurants are located conveniently at the base of the lodge. Pool and hot tubs on premises (outdoors which we like). We would definitely stay here again if and when we return to the Canyons.

Room Tip: We got our room through VRBO and the price was quite a bit less than through the resort.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. The Sundial HOA works hard to make Sundial Lodge the best in the area. We look forward to seeing you again.

Brian Bell
General Manger
All Season Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Building feels a bit like a dormitory. Rooms/condos are nice and comfortable. Location is great as you are close to the lifts and lots of places to dine. Only concern is the price, seemed pretty high compared to other ski resorts.

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear valued Sundial guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and condition of your room while you were here. Our guests' comfort is of utmost importance to us! Additionally, I see that you were very immpressed with the Farm with which I heartily agree. I am confident that due to your wonderful comments about it more travelers will take the time to stop and enjoy an incredible dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Sundial is definitely beautifully located, right next to the lift and anything else you might need. The rooms are ordinary, amenities basic. My room did not have a robe, which other rooms had, but it did have a fridge, microwave, coffee machine and toaster, which was really handy. The view of the mountain was the best.

Downside is the lack of service. The maids showed up late, if at all. One day I asked to have them skip cleaning and just bring towels. The gal said she would be right back, and that was the end of that. Never got my towels.

The halls are frequently filled with plastic bags full of sheets and towels, which just sit there until morning.

Elevators were the slowest ever. There are only two and the staff has to use them with the big carts, which slows things down even further.

Front desk was adequate. One fellow, whose name I am sorry I did not get, did make it his business to get my bags from storage as the LONE bellman was busy. Otherwise, it was mediocre. I never felt as if I were a valued guest. And, I'm easy.

I rented my ski gear from Aloha, and am always thrilled with their service and attitude.

Location makes up for all of this, but I do wish training were better for the staff at Sundial and the rest of The Canyons. It would not only be of service to the client, but also to the staff who would only grow if properly trained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We agree our guests deserve the best in customer service and were disappointed to hear about these service issues encountered. We'd love to rectify those issues if this guest contacts us. We do want guests to know we continually retrain our 24-hour staff to ensure we're providing the most reliable customer service in town and are always happy to rectify any issue at all during your stay, service included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here with my family this past weekend and enjoyed the convenience of having everything in one place. You could eat, ski and rent without leaving the resort. The rooms were average but had no complaints on the overall appearance or cleanliness of the hotel. We had our young children with us so we did not ski at the resort. We are from Texas and wanted our children to see and play in the snow. We did take our children to Gorgoza Park and loved the park so much we went two days in a row. I would recommend Sundial Lodge and Gorgoza Park to anyone looking for a great family experience in Utah!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sundial guest,

I am so glad that you discovered all of the fun there was to be had with children at the tubing park just down the road from Canyons Resort! It is always a pleasure to hear a guest comment on the convenience of the hotel's location here at Canyons. Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We look forward to having your family back another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked our stay through Hotels.com. This resort has TWO management companies. One run by Canyons Resorts and the other is All Seasons Resorts. I would highly recommend NOT USING All Seasons Resorts. They handle the condos that were not updated and do not provide amenties that Canyons Resorts offes.Robe for Hot tub (Apres Ski) not provided by All Seasons but Canyons gave to customers. Our room had no dresser to store clothing, we were there for 5 days and had to leave clothes on dining room table. All Seasons front desk was not helpful and provided no assistance to us. We complained to corporate and still have not received a response. Guess it starts at the top...
The resort itself is perfect for ski in and ski out. We were in a great location for the ski village and enjoyed what was there. It is unfortuante that the resort has two management companies and that Canyons runs the "upgraded" condos and All Seasons has the "outdated" rooms.

Room Tip: Do not use All Season resorts to book a room here. Use Canyons directly for better quality stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
All Seasons Resort Lodging is proud to offer both Standard and Premium condominium options to guests based on individual booking preferences and availability. If guests ever run into missing items in a room we are more than happy to seek an immediate replacement that meets their satisfaction, our 24-hour staff in the lobby simple need to be notified. If this guest contacts us about these issues we'd be more than happy to remedy their concerns for a potential future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

First time in Canyons, and first time in Sundial condos. Pretty darn satisfied! We would go back, that is for sure. Most of the rooms in Canyons resort are a short walk to the gondola or bubble lift, however, Sundial is the absolute closest. It is also the closest to the rental shop and lockers, and also to other retail and restaurants. We always stay in hotels or condos which offer ski in and ski out location. For location, this is one of the best we have visited, in Utah and many Colorado resorts. The room was also very nice, very LARGE, clean, modern, and with a great view as well as daily maid service. No complaints about the room or front desk service.
HOWEVER, be WARNED, about the ski rental shop!! If you are renting skis, boots poles, you will be disappointed unless you are a beginner skier, or have feet made of steel! The rental boots are the WORST we have ever used, and we have been renting boots at resorts for ten years. I realize that rentals will never fit or be as comfy as boots you own, however, the boots at Canyons are absolutely TERRIBLE! We paid for the upgraded "high performance" ski package, but the boots are the same as the regular "sport package". The employees in the boot fitting area know this and have no way to make it any better. When we complained of discomfort, their answer was the same to us as it was to others, the boots are "packed" which I take it to mean that all the padding inside the boots is packed down from overuse and/or poor quality, and they can do nothing about it because all their boots are the same. I recommend renting your gear from a ski rental shop in Park City. The Canyons rentals are much more expensive, and the only reason we paid the extra cost was for convenience.

Room Tip: If it's not high season, ask for an upgrade to a larger condo for no charge. We were upgraded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location right next to the slopes! Although ski rentals are privately booked, our front desks are happy to get guests in touch with one of any number of ski rental shops at the base of the resort. If you don't like your current service, let us find a better one for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Family Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#18 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.