We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundial Lodge for Ski Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Save Saved
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 hotels in Park City
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sundial Lodge for Ski Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Sundial Lodge at Canyons. We stayed in a three bedroom on the 4th floor. The condo was well maintained and very comfortable. The pool and hot tubs were fun for post skiing relaxation. There are even gas grills by the pool where you can cook your own food. While there are many positive aspects about the Sundial, the best is its location and convenience for skiing and ski school. You can easily walk out of the Sundial and onto the gondola in 1 minute. When you are done skiing you can check your skis into a room next to the lobby.
In terms of service, the bellman are very helpful. We were there during Sundance, so getting around on the shuttle service was not as easy. They were very helpful in solving that for us.
Other than the pool and hot tub, the Sundial does not have other amenities (game room, indoor pool, etc) like the Westgate, but my kids did not seem to care.
As an FYI, there is a small market next to the Sundial that has all the essentials. It is not too pricey, otherwise you need to go to town, which is a shuttle ride away.
Overall, I would recommend the Sundial for skiing families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. I'm glad to hear we met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again.

Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
55
37
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Did a three day stay with my daughter for some snowboarding at The Canyons. We had a great time, and the Sundial was a big part of that. Roomy parking garage, they store equipment on site, you're 100 yards from the gondola, and there are shops near by for anything you might need for your day on the slopes. Our stay was after the holidays, but before the film festival, so it was very quiet here. They were promoting a ski and stay package with breakfasts, and that was pretty convenient for us. They don't have a restaurant on site, they give you three choices, two at the grand summit next door, and one at the Red Pine Lodge, at the top of the gondola. If you can get your party in gear, I would suggest the Red Pine. All their food is made to order, they have a broad variety, and then you get to sit inside or out and enjoy the view.

We had a studio at the Sundial, and it was plenty roomy, with a kitchen we didn't really use, a fireplace that we did use, and an acceptable sofa bed to go along with the queen. The room was nicely decorated with a western feel in the lighting and the artwork. Elevators were quick, stairs were handy too.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the mountain and gondola. It would be nice to face the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I'm happy to here you enjoyed your stay here at Sundial Lodge. The time after Sundance Film Festival is normally not as busy as the rest of the season. It's a great time to relax and get in some great skiing as well as visit Historic Park City. Thank you for your descriptive review and we look forward to seeing you again.


Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've been going up the Canyons for years now and we have a great trip every time. The staff is accommodating and the resort is in the perfect location. The pool is one of my favorite hotel pools I have ever been to. Last year we wanted ice cream in the middle of the night but nothing was open in the hotel at that hour. However, they offered to drive us down to the 7/11 to get our ice cream, free of charge. I have no complaints and definitely recommend The Canyons for a great place to stay whether you're on a romantic getaway, with your family or with a group a friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I'm glad to hear you continue to return to this wonderful location. Sundial Lodge really can be a home away from home and makes for a great vacation destination. Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to your return!


Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice Hotel, room was awesome, a lot better than I expected. The hotel is a little bit too big, so service is a little shaky. Love this hotel so far. Big, luxurious, modern living room with a fireplace, clean, modern kitchen and dining area. Washer/Dryer, average bathroom, nice bedroom. There is also a huge, great balcony

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Utah never disappoints. We arrived December 13th and it began snowing on the 14th. We left the 19th and it was still coming strong. Great accommodations. Ski in/ski out. Nice kitchen. Great linens. Wish the fireplace had been real wood burning instead of gas. The Sundial Lodge is a well planned resort with all the needed convenience.

Room Tip: Early season deals can include lift tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The good: excellent location, nice room, friendly staff. The bad: we never got maid service during our 3 night stay! We kept getting apologies, but never a clean room. Not really acceptable for such a modern hotel. Another irritant was the fact that Free, hi-speed wi-fi promised was non-existant. I was unable to connect for the entire stay!

The biggest problem occured at check out, when they insisted on charging us a premium for "requesting" a room with 2 beds. At time of booking on Expedia, we discovered a mistake with the wording used. We called the hotel and spoke to supervisor named Bradley, who confirmed the Expedia mistake and stated that they would guarantee the room with NO extra charge. Well, at check-out they insisted we had to pay and Bradley even went as far as to suggest we misunderstood.

I took written notes from our conversation, including dates, names, what was promised. I even explained at the time that if a 2-bed room was not available, or if we had to pay extra, we would cancel our RSVP. It's just a shame that, after a mostly agreeable stay, it had to conclude in such an unprofessional manner. Worse, is that they let the young man at the front desk, who was blameless, deliver the bad news to me, as not one of the supervisors/managers he desperately called had the courage to talk to me directly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully located with great views and great facilities. Very clean and the service was friendly and cordial. Great restaurants all around and easy access to beautiful Park City. It also has great pools. The rooms are spacious and well decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Park City
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundial Lodge is located just steps from Red Pine Gondola and an unparalleled ski experience. Positioned in the heart of Canyons Resort Village, Sundial places a premium on vibrancy. Within easy walking distance to ski school, Ski Beach, Murdock's Cafe, restaurants and fabulous resort shops. Sundial is a 35 mile drive from SLC Airport and 4.2 miles from Park City’s historic main street. It’s where the action is! Sundial invites guests to take advantage of complimentary WIFI, free underground parking, ski storage, fitness room, rooftop hot tub and heated outdoor pool all in a warm and energetic ambiance. As of 12/1/12 the majority of Canyons managed lodging accommodations in, Sundial Lodge, will have been refurbished as part of a $1.5 million renovation plan. Guests will enjoy a brisk walk to the Grand Summit for access to the spa, The FARM restaurant, Red Tail Grill, childcare, horse drawn sleigh rides, outdoor adventures and Canyons famous alpine breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.