We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Save Saved
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 59 hotels in Park City
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice Hotel, room was awesome, a lot better than I expected. The hotel is a little bit too big, so service is a little shaky. Love this hotel so far. Big, luxurious, modern living room with a fireplace, clean, modern kitchen and dining area. Washer/Dryer, average bathroom, nice bedroom. There is also a huge, great balcony

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    63
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
58
38
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Utah never disappoints. We arrived December 13th and it began snowing on the 14th. We left the 19th and it was still coming strong. Great accommodations. Ski in/ski out. Nice kitchen. Great linens. Wish the fireplace had been real wood burning instead of gas. The Sundial Lodge is a well planned resort with all the needed convenience.

Room Tip: Early season deals can include lift tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The good: excellent location, nice room, friendly staff. The bad: we never got maid service during our 3 night stay! We kept getting apologies, but never a clean room. Not really acceptable for such a modern hotel. Another irritant was the fact that Free, hi-speed wi-fi promised was non-existant. I was unable to connect for the entire stay!

The biggest problem occured at check out, when they insisted on charging us a premium for "requesting" a room with 2 beds. At time of booking on Expedia, we discovered a mistake with the wording used. We called the hotel and spoke to supervisor named Bradley, who confirmed the Expedia mistake and stated that they would guarantee the room with NO extra charge. Well, at check-out they insisted we had to pay and Bradley even went as far as to suggest we misunderstood.

I took written notes from our conversation, including dates, names, what was promised. I even explained at the time that if a 2-bed room was not available, or if we had to pay extra, we would cancel our RSVP. It's just a shame that, after a mostly agreeable stay, it had to conclude in such an unprofessional manner. Worse, is that they let the young man at the front desk, who was blameless, deliver the bad news to me, as not one of the supervisors/managers he desperately called had the courage to talk to me directly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully located with great views and great facilities. Very clean and the service was friendly and cordial. Great restaurants all around and easy access to beautiful Park City. It also has great pools. The rooms are spacious and well decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love this place. The Sundial Lodge is clean, affordable (when compared to others), close to the slopes and an excellent base for a ski holiday in Park City, UT. I stayed in B206, which is a one-bedroom overlooking the piazza (forum). The unit was equipped with travertine floors, granite counter tops, a full kitchen with garbage disposal and a washer and dryer. The bathroom is clean, with granite counter tops and a jetted tub. The bedroom has a very comfortable king bed and a nice flat screen television. The living room has a 42" flat screen T.V. two newish leather chairs, a sofa bed with a very comfortable queen size mattress. There is a nice dining table with 4 chairs and extra bar stools for extra seating at the granite kitchen island. The owners went out of their way to decorate everything top drawer.
There is a nice community fitness center filled with an elliptical machine, two stationary bikes, two treadmills, a universal gym and free weights. TSkis are safe, and stored in a ski room in the main lobby of the "B" building. THe Sundial has offers free underground parking. It also has a wonderful pool on the ground floor, and hot tubs on the ground floor and on the 3rd floor. All this, and only a few short steps from the gondola. I would highly recommend the Sundial Lodge over the Grand Summit, Westgate and other properties at the Canyons. Simply stated, it is the coziest property that is closest to the gondola. I don't think that every unit is the same, but B206 ROCKS!!!

Room Tip: Make sure that you book thru VRBO, and look at pics. before deciding. Choose a room with granite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just returned from a trip to see our son in Utah. We stayed at the Sundial 5th floor. It was wonderful. 3 bedrooms and baths. Full kitchen, large windows to see the mountain, gondola, fall colors. The front desk staff was informative, happy and answered many questions we had. The canyons is a beautiful area. Great for kids, families, couples. Lots to see and do. The pool and hot tub clean and inviting. THere is also a hot tub on the 3rd floor roof overlooking part of the mountain. Every person you saw greeted you with a smile and comment. I would recommend to anyone. Restaurants to walk to, stores to shop at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a very nice corner room on the top floor (4th), so it had nice high ceilings. Huge bathroom with jetted tub and double shower. Bed was comfortable. Nice sitting area. We used the mini fridge for our drinks. Beautiful mountain view -- could see right up the mountain, and the gondola, bikers, the pool.

Check in was easy. I had made my reservation online and she was expecting us. (allseasonsresortlodging.com) We got a really good price online. Have also used same website for making res at The Lodge at the Mountain Resort, as they manage many different properties. Very friendly at the front desk. Parking garage was nice.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the top floor (4th) corner room with its high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#15 Business Hotel in Park City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundial Lodge is located just steps from Red Pine Gondola and an unparalleled ski experience. Positioned in the heart of Canyons Resort Village, Sundial places a premium on vibrancy. Within easy walking distance to ski school, Ski Beach, Murdock's Cafe, restaurants and fabulous resort shops. Sundial is a 35 mile drive from SLC Airport and 4.2 miles from Park City’s historic main street. It’s where the action is! Sundial invites guests to take advantage of complimentary WIFI, free underground parking, ski storage, fitness room, rooftop hot tub and heated outdoor pool all in a warm and energetic ambiance. As of 12/1/12 the majority of Canyons managed lodging accommodations in, Sundial Lodge, will have been refurbished as part of a $1.5 million renovation plan. Guests will enjoy a brisk walk to the Grand Summit for access to the spa, The FARM restaurant, Red Tail Grill, childcare, horse drawn sleigh rides, outdoor adventures and Canyons famous alpine breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.